We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

On a day trip to Bridlington about 5years ago we came across this hotel and restaurant and just liked the look of the place and its position overlooking the harbour. We said if we were in the area again we would try and stay there. We spent two nights there in the middle of August and we were not disappointed. We found the staff very welcoming and friendly, our room was compact and very clean with all the accessories you would expect to see in a room including sewing and shoeshine kits. The breakfast choice and quantity was excellent, and the restaurant menu was varied and catered for all budgets including specials such as pie night and fish night etc. We noticed that a number of locals were dining there which is also a very good sign. There is limited parking around the hotel although we had no problem and there is plenty of pay and display parking nearby. There was some noise early in the morning as the hotel is situated within a working harbour but this was not a real problem unless you are a very light sleeper. The sound of early morning seagulls only added to the atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rags Hotel and would be happy to recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMCQ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay I am so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of Rags from Breakfast to dinner the room , View and even the seagulls ( which of course we have no control over! ).
Its lovely when customers take the time to mention the little details that enhanced the visit.
thank you for letting us know we are doing things well and also for recommending us to family & friends we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    69
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
116
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This was booked by my friend for us. It was a lovely and well decorated hotel,room and restaurant. Lots of lovely little details in the room. I was able to park outside for 2 days at no charge.
We were able to choose what we wanted for breakfast. Eating it in their upstairs restaurant with a harbour view is definitely an added bonus.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its well decorated and kept to rooms and facilities. The location is also very good too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank claire a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Rags we are so pleased when a customer enjoys all aspects of what we do here and that the little touches we add are appreciated we do hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked in for a one nighter for my husbands birthday our room had been refurbished since last time and my first reaction was "wow" what a great job they have done! Classy is the word I'm looking for .We had a meal at night soup to start with then Dave had sea bass for main and me and mum had seafood gratin all i can say is excellent from start to finish .Thanks to all at rags for once again making our stay a memorable one ,hopefully be back Nov/Dec.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased you made a return visit to us and enjoyed your meals its great that you like to refurbishments of the bedrooms we plan to refurbish another one in September then the others will follow during quitter times.We look forward to seeing you again later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I had a long walk along the sea front from the Sewerby end and stopped at the harbour for a drink. We decided to eat too as the food had been recommended to us by friends. My husband went for the fish and chips while I had a ploughman's sandwich. The fish and chips were excellent - a large fish, lightly battered with the best chunky chips I have tasted, together with the mandatory mushy peas. The sandwich was served with malted bread which had a lovely soft texture and was filled with cheese, prosciutto, pickles, etc. The service was friendly and they checked that everything was to our liking as we ate. Perfect day - we sat outside in the sunshine.
We will obviously eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review I am so glad you enjoyed your food especially as we were recommended and we do hope you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton Manchester England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times and each time we go it gets better, the rooms are comfortable and the view of the harbour is lovely and the views from the front of the hotel gives your a view of the town and the spa, the staff and owners are the most friendliest people I have ever met, the food is 5 * delicious and tasty. They have theme nights which are great. The rooms and the restaurant are extremely clean and the upkeep is excellent. My family would not hesitate to stay here when ever we are in Bridlington. We have also stayed at the family flats which are also decorated to a very high standard, clean and well cared for.

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter but the hotelier's do ask guests to be extremely quiet when leaving due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June1976_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review we are very pleased that the effort the staff make is noticed and we appreciate your lovely comments thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We found this by simply wandering around the town and it had a really good view of the harbour, which was bathed in sunshine whilst we were there. The food is good, a little more pricy than others in town that we had seen, and the staff were attentive and service was good. We didn't have a window table but the view is stunning from all tables. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HUFC5272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review I am pleased you enjoyed your time at Rags and we hopr to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Myself and friends were in Bridlington and wanting different types of food, Rags served all of our requirements, Sunday Lunch, fish and chips, lasagne etc. all our meals were lovely and we had a fantastic sea view. We asked for a window table but told there were non available (as were another party who came in after us) we were seated in the middle of the restaurant as they window tables were apparently reserved but had ordered and eaten our meal and left and no one came in and sat at the tables. One of the waitresses was fine but the other one was slow and not very friendly. Please do not let me comments re the service put you off, the food was fantastic and it is a beautiful reasonably priced restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovemyfoodbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julied930, Owner at Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent visit I am sorry you were not seated at a window table these tables do get reserved for certain times and unfortunately when we get other diners coming in it is difficult to predict how long they might stay and also whether the booking might arrive early
so we cant always offer the reserved table to them just in case they overlap with the reservation.
I am glad this didn't spoil your enjoyment of the meal.
I am sorry you felt one of out staff members wasn't very friendly this is most unusual with our team at Rags.
If you feel you would like to email me with a date and time you visited I can make sure to follow up with that member of staff about your constructive feed back Thank you again and I hope we see you in the future my email ragshotel@tesco.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#47 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swallow Hotel
The Swallow Hotel
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: South Pier, Bridlington YO15 3AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rags Hotel, Bar And Restaurant
Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing