We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip advisor”
Review of The Tennyson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tennyson
Ranked #46 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
pleasley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“trip advisor”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed at the Tennyson guest house for a weekend break three times now .good hearty breakfast with plenty of choice and very clean comfortable rooms. Diane and Roy made us very welcome as well as our little dog Roxy. its just a short walk to sea front and town centre.hope to return again.mr mrs hardwick

Room Tip: allways ask when booking for en- suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

First time to Bridlington the location was perfect. The welcome our family got when we first arrived at the Tennyson was very welcoming bye Dianne what a lovely lady u made our stay with u very happy. The room was great nice and clean . The breakfast was very nice. When we come back you will be our first choice with out a doubt thank you again . Kind regards Andy,vicky,Lucy,Beth Anderson

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we stayed at the Tennyson for the first time in June 2013 so when we decided to go to Bridlington again, we knew this was where we wanted to stay. The rooms are really clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, with a choice of yogurts, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, orange juice and fried breakfast. The owners are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Parking wasnt a problem as we were given a parking permit upon arrival for the duration of our stay. There was a flat screen tv in our room, which was ideal as it had built in freeview, so children have something to watch. We would definately recommend the Tennyson to anyone who wants value for money, and we will, no doubt, be staying there again. Thank you Tracey and Jeff xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1968J1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have stayed at The Tennyson so many times before with my partner & our 3 dogs. We have always had a wonderful experience and I therefore knew that my elderly mum would also enjoy a short break here.

Well, she certainly did.... The food is as perfect as ever, as much or as little as you like. The bedrooms are immaculately clean & having a mini fridge in the rooms is a great bonus. We were comfortable & slept like logs.

Diane & Roy are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. This lovely B&B is ideal for everyone & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Ground floor room available & is perfect for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmthomas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked this last minute. The owners were great & emailed me back really quickly about vacancies etc. Stayed in the family room with 2 adults, 1 child & 1 baby. The room was great & it was two rooms in one so the kids could have their own room. The bed was really comfy & the room was clean. We had a mini fridge in room which was a great idea staying with kids. TV had freeview so CBEEBIES was on etc. Shower room was clean & plenty of hot water etc. The whole B&B was clean & welcoming. The owners were really helpful & offered to help with our bags which was nice. Breakfast was really nice, loads of choice & yumny bacon & sausages. The location is excellent & close to everything. Parking is roadside but you get a permit & there was plenty of spaces. We had a lovely stay here & really enjoyed Bridlington. Would definitely recommend staying here. Great for kids too!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B with our two west highlands terriers for three nights. We stayed in the ground floor room which was well decorated with matching furniture. The room was a little on the small side but clean and cosy enough with an ensuite toilet and shower and a fridge which is ideal for anyone who may be insulin dependent. The only window in the room overlooks the owner's back yard, but the owner's dogs were very quiet (unlike the seagulls) and the curtains did enable some privacy as they were lined; and matched the cushions on the bed. Little extras such as cotton buds and cotton wool were available in jars on the dressing table if required. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and milk were replenished daily. The flat screen digital TV was useful; but the digital signal did scramble on occasions.

Guests with pets need to be aware that dogs must not be left in the room unattended and are not allowed in the dining room. As there is no lounge available in the property, guests are instructed to lock their dogs in their car for the duration of breakfast which is served from 8.30 am - 9.30 am. This was not an option for us, as we were fortunate enough to have beautiful weather during the first two days of our stay and the car was too hot for the dogs. We were planning on eating breakfast in shifts, but as a compromise the owners did allow us to eat breakfast outside in the front garden which was very nice. There is a surcharge for dogs which we were not aware of at the time of booking or when we initially paid on arrival. This was only mentioned after breakfast on the first day by the owner, so I would advise guests to keep some cash available so this does not present a problem.

The breakfast itself was lovely with a choice of Full English (sausage, thick bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, black pudding & fried egg) or more healthier options comprising of smocked haddock, scrambled or poached eggs on toast, satsumas and yoghurts. You could help yourself to toast, cereal, fruit juice and yoghurts.The presentation of the breakfast was immaculate with individual pots of tea/coffee and butter dishes.

The parking outside the property is on the road and guests are allowed to park for one hour free anyway which is ideal whilst you check in and parking permits are arranged. Parking is at a premium as myself and other guests were asked by the owners to move our cars close together to enable new guests to park. I would advise you to leave you car in situ once you have checked in and walk everywhere!

The location of the B&B was not as far out of town as I anticipated. It is the perfect location for if you wish to take your dogs on the beach as they are allowed on the beach just a short stroll to the left as you leave the property. There is also a dog friendly pub just to the left as you reach the main road which also serves a lovely chicken, ham and leek pie which I would recommend.

The proprietor's manner was at times rather abrupt and austere which some guests may find incongruent with a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I got the impression from other guests that the rooms on higher floors were perhaps bigger than our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikNak665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, Cleveland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was a bit dissapointed with this B&B. It was really tired and dated and the bedroom decor was just a mish-mash of all sorts - nothing matched at all. When we arrived the door was opened by a lady who didnt actually introduce herself to start with, and the only time we saw a smile was when we left and were asked how our stay had been! As well as the room being a mish-mash, we also had a metal bedstead with a footboard as well as the headboard which was a nighmare. My husband's just over 6' tall (which isnt really tall now-a-days) and couldnt stretch his legs out without getting his feet stuck through the metal work! That said, the place was in a nice enough position and just a couple of mins walk to the sea front. It was only £80 for 4 of us and the cooked breakfast in the morning was really good - a definate 10 out of 10 and the best part of the stay. It seemed to be really clean too, although when we were leaving and my husband checked around - he found a pink baby's dummy under the bed which sort of suggested that it hadnt been cleaned that well after all! yuk. To be fair, I would say if you are looking for somewhere to just sleep and get a good breakfast then this place is as good as any. However, If some work was done on the appearance of the rooms, and the lady who answered the door was more welcoming then it would be a really nice stay. I don't think we'd go back but I think if you're prepared for the tiredness and mish-mash of decor you wont be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#66 of 118 in Bridlington
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aidansdale Hotel
Aidansdale Hotel
#57 of 118 in Bridlington
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windmill Guest House
Windmill Guest House
#39 of 118 in Bridlington
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Burlington Quays
Burlington Quays
#33 of 118 in Bridlington
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Guest House
The Belmont Guest House
#20 of 118 in Bridlington
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#16 of 118 in Bridlington
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennyson

Property: The Tennyson
Address: 19 Tennyson Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennyson 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tennyson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing