We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, lovely people”
Review of The London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The London
Ranked #25 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, lovely people”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we staryed at the London for 3 nights from 27 September, when we arrived Margot greeted us and gave us a parking pass for the duration of our stay
the we were given or room key we were on floor 4 in room 15, the London has a lift, this lift is quite small and a bit scary due to its size but very handy as most hotel your are expected to cart your luggage up flight of stairs, our room was very nice with gorgeous panoramic sea views. the loaction of the hotel is also very good really close to the amusements and some fairground rides.
also close to the the train station for the land train which take you along the seafront
the first morning we go up and ordered the full english breakfast, my only complaint is the bacon was very undercooked. the next day we orderd eggs and beas on toast and its was nice, rachael who was serving was very attentive she couldnt do enough for us
overall a brillaint stay in a lovely hotel with very nice people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shezzalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    29
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
91
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The London hotel/guest house is extremely well situated right on the sea front at Bridlington and is enough distance away from the amusement area on a very pleasant, clean and wide esplanade leading North of the town. Although there is a resident parking area surrounding the hotel, we were provided with a temporary permit and never experienced problems finding a parking space. This may be different in the height of summer. The owners and the staff are wonderful, very friendly and go out of their way to help you. There was a mix of age groups staying at the hotel and everyone seemed very happy and content. The rooms were of a reasonable size, extremely well fitted and decorated and good value for money. We didn't stay full board, however, the breakfast was excellent and other guests loved the evening meals and the roast on Sunday. We will definitely stay there again, as this is an excellent location to explore the excellent coastline going North. If you stay here, definitely visit, Staithes (the North's equivalent to Polperro!) Robin Hoods Bay and Racenscar, or Whitby and Scarborough for traditional fish and chips. The Yorkshire moors are also beautiful and well worth exploring.

Bridlington is a typical old British holiday town, very run down in places, although they are working hard to replace and upgrade many features and buildings.
At the hotel, the lift is very small, taking only two people, however, was never a problem.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view, we had room 16, at the top of the house with a full view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Our room looked out over the sea as all of them do
Comfortable bed, modern bathroom with shower. Slow and small lift but dies the job
excellent general lounge and dining room with great food and great service
I have to thank the owners for posting back to me some value able sporting equipment I left behind
Also the service we received for our evening drinks in the lounge after our walks
Check out the Aussie red

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny15b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times two weeks in summer also a week in September again we could not fault it ,Rachael & Kim as always attentive and friendly helped make our holiday ,not forgetting the help we received from tho owner Alan and son David and especially I want to thank Margot who always goes out of her way to put herself out for anyone her and Alan are a great team Shirley & Cyril Leeds

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillactime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned from our first visit to The London, and it certainly won't be the last.
We were lucky enough to have Room 15, which has double aspect windows. One straight over the sea, and the other toward the harbour. The room was very spacious, with a leather sofa and chair, small table and dining chairs, fitted wardrobe and drawers and an enormous comfortable bed. Bed linen of high quality and everything matching. The room was spotlessly clean.
Massive well fitted bathroom, with lovely bath and seperate shower cubicle
Our room was on the 4th floor, but there is a lift, so no problem if mobility is an issue, although there are about six steps up into the hotel itself
Breakfast was fabulous, with a good choice and everything cooked to perfection. You can tell that they use good quality ingredients
Staff were friendly and just couldn't do enough for you.
Owner extremely nice and took time to chat.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone (infact I already have)

Room Tip: Ask for Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickenMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A fabulous hotel. We can't think of one negative note at all. Hosts friendly and extremely helpful. Staff brilliant they greet you with a smile and cheery hello. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with 2 easy chairs to enjoy the sea view at no extra cost. I'm vegetarian and Margot went out of her way to ensure I had a choice of meals, beautifully home cooked as well as providing a veggie breakfast. Both of us will need more exercise to work off these lovely meals. Truly a lovely hotel and we will be back. Peter and Janet

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We go to the London Hotel every year and have done so for 10 years to visit family living near by. It is ideally situated for the sea views (every room has one) and other amenities. It has modern en- suite facilities with characterful high ceilings and spacious bedrooms. The rooms are spotlessly clean and are constantly updated. There is a lift which helps my husband who is disabled. The breakfast room staff are friendly and efficient , the food arrives promptly and hot and my husband appreciates his full English breakfast. We will be visiting next year!! Thanks for your friendliness and helpfulness. Trev and Ange

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#64 of 118 in Bridlington
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Apartments
The Carlton Apartments
#5 of 28 in Bridlington
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Bridlington
The Royal Bridlington
#59 of 118 in Bridlington
189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London

Property: The London
Address: 1 Royal Crescent, Bridlington YO15 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Hotel is perfectly positioned on the Bridlington seafront, overlooking the North Beach with outstanding views of Bridlington Bay, the Harbour and Flamborough Head. The property's quiet yet central location is ideal for short relaxing strolls to the town centre and promenades, whilst also featuring all of the prerequisites needed for a peaceful, relaxing stay. With a variety of tailored options available, whether golfing, fishing or just relaxing by the beach, you are sure of a warm welcome at this friendly beachfront hotel. Guest bedrooms are available in a variety of configurations, including both Classic and Superior room options, however all rooms benefit from the same striking sea views and comforting range of facilities, with flat screen TV, radio, tea making facilities and elegant furnishings as standard. Elegant decor, well maintained bathrooms and a thoughtful range of sumptuous furnishings combine to create the ideal base for a relaxing seaside break. The dining room is where you will find delicious and traditional home cooked meals, using fresh ingredients that are locally sourced where possible. A concise but varied selection of dishes are available that serve to please all palates, all whilst enjoying the sea views over Bridlington Bay. Evening meals are available between June and September and are served at a set time of 5.00Pm, ensuring guests are free to enjoy the plethora of popular summer shows that take place in Bridlington. Once the shows are over the comfortable and ambient lounge offers the chance to enjoy a drink in the company of friends, old and new alike. Bridlington offers two long beaches - the south beach being sandy and overlooking Bridlington Bay and Flamborough Head, whereas the north beach is comprised of sand and shingle and is surrounded by wide promenades, backed against the breathtaking Flamborough cliffs. In addition to natural beauty, Bridlington plays host to a wide range of entertaining attractions to suite all tastes, including the Royal Hall and Spa Theatre, the popular Harbour or for the more adventurous Leisure World, which boasts a 25 metre swimming pool, a wave pool (complete with tropical rain storms!), Slides and a splash tank. Bridlington's old town, centred around a 17th Century high street, offers historical buildings and winding roads, complete with an array of antique shops, craft shops and charming cafes. Other historical attractions include the Elizabethan Burton Agnes Hall and the ancient Priory Church of St. Mary, almost a thousand years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing