We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous day out :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sewerby Hall and Gardens

Sewerby Hall and Gardens
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having spent most of our day at Sewerby Hall, it was a great experience. Friendly staff in the cafe and the souvenir shop, and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely little zoo, beautiful gardens and so well maintained. There was so much to do and although we didn't have children with us, the children were very well catered for. How wonderful to see so many benches for people to sit down on all over the grounds of Sewerby Hall. We took the little land train into Bridlington where we spent about an hour and then returned to Sewerby Hall. We bought our train tickets from the little kiosk of Sowerby Hall and it was only £2 return each!!! Well worth the money, great value!!! At the moment there is restoration work going on within the hall, however, it is to be opened again in August this year. We will definitely be going back on another visit. We would like to say thank you to the East Riding Of Yorkshire Council for our fabulous day out, and we would recommend anyone to go and have a wonderful experience as we have had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    306
    85
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ushaw Moor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SEWERBY HALL AND GARDENS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We holiday at Bridlington and a visit to Sewerby hall is well worth a visit, a road train from the prom takes you right out side the hall, it is a lovely ride taking you along the clifff top, not near the edge, when you get inside their is the hall, it is a must to look around inside, then for the younger ones their is a small zoo which they will realy enjoy. it has the clock tower cafe with realy lovely food, it is well worth a visit,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank colinmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Hall was not open but the grounds are lovely and the walk all the cliff tops is beautiful on a sunny day, even in cold weather.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank swampduck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely gardens and grounds but unfortunately the hall had not reopened when we visited. Dogs are allowed on leads which was good for us although it did mean we couldn't visit the little zoo. For a small extra charge you can play putting or pitch & putt. The clock tower cafe has just reopened after a major refurbishment and is a very good establishment with a good variety of food and drink. You can get to Sewerby Hall by the land train from Bridlington.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited beginning of June and found so much to do and see zoo ,gardens, woodland walks and even a 9 hole pitch 'n' put.. The house is being refurbished and will open again later in the summer for its 300th year anniversary. You can leave the grounds and walk along the cliffs or take the land train into Bridlington just hold onto your ticket and you can re enter the ground any time on the same day. The scent from the rose gardens was lovely but the one disappointment was that the other parts of the main garden areas were void of flowers as they were changing from winter plants to summer plants. One tip pick up a leaflet from tourist information where you get a voucher buy 1 adult entry ticket and get another 1 free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Airth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sewerby Hall and Gardens also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Flamborough, Bridlington
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sewerby Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing