We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“funny farm” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The South Cliffe Hotel

The South Cliffe Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The South Cliffe Hotel
Ranked #116 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Cleckheaton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“funny farm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

stopped here for 2 nights, room was basic but comfortable and had on suite facilities unlike our freinds who stayed in a room that had a bath next to the bed in the same room but had to use the shared toilet facilities, I am still laughing now.
I think its down to pot luck (or if they like you or not) as to wether you get on suite or not.
breakfasts are very good and good value for money if you get one!!, my freind sat with 6 of us watching us eat but didnt manage to get his and was then told it was his fault! they are not always very warm either and waiting over half an hour seems to be the norm.
a lot of hotels leave small information booklets in the room meal times etc this would be a starting point.
my biggest concern was evacuation in the event of a fire as we could smell cigarette smoke on our landing. This place was a maze and took some time to navigate around and the fire exit signs were confusing. there was a fire escape outside our room window but this didnt seem to be used?, is there only one escape route for 50 plus rooms? surely not.

the problem with the southcliffe is that the management of this hotel either dont care or are just basically incompetent because realistically the hotel has a lot of potential to be good, the lively bar being one of them if you like that sort of thing.

when someone says what do you expect for £22.50 per night each i would say the grand hotel in scarbourough as this was offering stays at this price at the time also.

Room Tip: if you like a good laugh then stay here as this is place like being in an episode of Faulty towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ginja-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    8
    5
    23
See reviews for
12
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there one night as we were let down by the royal bridlington, but already had tickets for evening showing at the spa. We found this hotel right infront of the spa for great value for money and amazing location! Our room wasn't amazing and was slightly slanted due to the age of the builiding. However overall it was very nice, lovely staff who are very friendly and helpful! I also would love to recommend the food which was cheap and of good quality, especially the breakfast!!

Room Tip: Our room was a double with a balcony which would probably be lovely in the summer and is worth the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acekydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here last weekend when attending the Musicport festival at the Spa. The location could not have been more convenient - right next to the Spa and almost on the sea front. We did not book in advance but just turned up on the Friday night. We paid £45 per night for a double room for 2 people, and for our money we got: a clean and spacious room, a very comfy bed with lovely crisp clean bedding, a sea view with a balcony, and a full English breakfast that would be difficult to beat (including optional black pudding!). We were more than satisfied with what we got for our money! The downside is that the place looks a little shabby and could benefit from some updating, and the greasy cooking smell that other people have mentioned, (but the reason for this is that all of the food is proper home cooking). There was also an issue with the keys, but the staff sorted it out quickly.

We ate in the hotel one evening and for an amazing £5.95 for two people we got two excellent home cooked meals. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for good value and a sea front central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank veronicaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Due to an incident happening with the B&B we had booked with, we were booked into the Southcliffe as an alternative. From walking in the door, there was a dreadful, overpowering smell of grease, old and unchanged. I was suffering from a heavy cold that left me unable to smell anything but the stench was so bad even I could smell it.
The room was ok, the bedding clean and fresh but it's hard to find anything else postitive to say about our stay
The young girl 'serving' breakfast may have been charming once you got to know her but for me and mu husband she was just rude and lazy
Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridlington hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The only real good thing i could say is that most of the staff where polite and helpful. If you have habits similar to that of a vampire and require no sleep then this is the hotel for you. Terrible karaoke going on until the early hours is clear to hear in the bedrooms. If you also like features such as holes in walls, peeling wallpaper, none working appliances and furniture that wouldn't be out of place in a squat then get booking now. Cleanliness is clearly low so for this reason I chose not to sample the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonsta06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The staff were rude, obnoxious and did not make us feel unwelcome at all times - especially the owner. Told we has an on suite room, however, the room my friend was in was just like a cell with a bed in it!
After making a complaint about this we were then treated as if it was our fault and that we shouldn't be there. Made our stay extremely uncomfortable and ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, Bridlington is full of lovely hotels with lots of vacancies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greensman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G2456
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

On arrival members of staff were rude to us and we had to wait ages to be acknowledged. As below we also smelt the strong smell of cooking. The hotel looks nothing like the website photographs.

I was not informed that the rooms were not on suite. Instead there was a shared toilet with the whole floor.

We decided to go to another hotel and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#49 of 121 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel
The Brunswick Hotel
#111 of 121 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
#9 of 26 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South Cliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South Cliffe Hotel

Property: The South Cliffe Hotel
Address: 6-10 South Marine Drive | Torrs Park, Bridlington YO15 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing