We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Hotel”

The South Cliffe Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The South Cliffe Hotel
Ranked #113 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Turned up without booking as we had been let down by our original choice. We were really pleased with the room and the food. Breakast was included in the reasonable price and we ate there every night. Extremely good value for properly cooked food. The staff were all friendly but there obviously weren't enough of them. Everywhere upstairs looked like it needed a good hoover! It wasn't filth and grime just looked like they weren't expecting visitors. The hotel is in a good location just opposite The Spa and minutes away from the beach. If money was spent on it and more staff were employed to bring it up to higher standards it could command much higher rates... but I don't think we'd want that as we wouldn't be able to afford it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    8
    5
    23
See reviews for
12
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Turned up on spec - hadn't booked, chose hotel at random - they had a vacancies sign on display. Very friendly member of staff showed us the available room, which was beautiful, amazingly large, well-equipped and extremely clean, we couldn't believe the price for the pair of us - we would have expected to pay that each, and breakfast was included! We had a drink at the bar, in very pleasant and friendly surroundings, and enjoyed delicious home-cooked evening meals, in a lovely dining room, and at a price so reasonable that made us doubt the potential quality - until it arrived - it was superb. Yes, you can smell cooking - that's good - it means they actually cook the food, as opposed to microwaving pre-prepared rubbish! This is the real thing, and was much appreciated. We slept very well, it was extremely comfortable, and the large, full English breakfast was as good as the evening meal. We stayed an extra night because we were having such a good time, and have nothing but praise for the hotel, the service, the food and the staff. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights , excellent friendly staff, rooms very clean and comfortable, food was beautiful and breakfast was included in the price. Just across from the spa theatre, amazing sea views, we could see for miles across the bay. Would defiantly recommend anyone to stay and give it a try
Will defiantly be returning next year

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vja1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Fantastic for the price. Had a double room, ensuite for about £45 for one night. Colleagues stayed in single rooms for £21 each, with shared bathroom. Excellent breakfast, (I like the smelll of food) served with a smile, was included in the price.

Efficient, friendly service, tidy room, comfy bed with TV and a free breakfast at a cost of next to nothing. What more could you ask for?


If you want the Ritz, you have to pay for the Ritz.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

booked for 3 nights, checked out after 1st night, total nightmare. unfriendly greeting from elderly lady manager, who could do with some lessons on customer service. smell of stale urine as soon as we opened our bedroom door. batroom carpet sodden and stank of urine. no mirror in bathroom, had to climb over double bed to get to wardrobe. had to take large mirror off wall to put near plugs to get ready. when getting dressed in morning woman walked straight into our bedroom without knocking, looking for maid. then 10 seconds later plumber walked straight in without knocking and caught us half undressed. awfull smell of chip fat everywhere, even on toilet roll.it was like something from a comedy sketch. expected basil faulty and manuelle to walk in. manageress very rude to young female staff in front of customers which was totaly unacceptable poor girl was getting blame for something that she was told to do by manager. girl was nearly in tears. shower was spinning round on wall and wasnt fixed right. the list goes on. we got our money back for the other two nights and checked out. only good thing was it was close to spar, food not bad. the only reason why we stayed there was because we had a family funeral wake there. avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank annieg381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridlington hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked hotel for two nights as it was close too spa (which it is) good point! Had breakfast for the two days also tea (good point).
Now lets start with the real issues we walked into the reception area too be greAted with chip fat smell strong too. Then some young lady came along too take details. We filled in the forms then a old woman appeared I can only think this must be the manager??? We were told the price we had too pay which was more than we had been told when booking and paying deposits I refused too pay the extra so the older woman told us she would move us out of that room and into another that's fine we said then she shouted do not use the towels or u will be chargered £10 per towel??? Fine! We went into the room what I can only explain as a death trap waiting too happen one with items from the hotel left on two sets of stairs then the room was shocking. Fire alarms hanging off wall, sash windows that are hanging on for dear life it feels like u are stood outside with no windows. No heating in the room, very large cracks in ceiling,walls showers stepping into shower alone is like something out of am a celebrity get me out of here. Carpets not even fitted and bath next too my bed and a sink. Myself and daughter slept in full track suits socks hats and gloves too keep warm it was likea camping trip. Then we needed a shower the next day freezing cold water also my daughter had too witness me and all of me while I got a shower as no shower curtain for privacy awkward! Also during night we needed toilet no light working in toilet unsafe. We had too witness a young girl on crutches trying too get up the stairs as she had been put on top floor when asked too be on ground floor. Whilst leaving on our last day we were walking down the stairs and the older woman shouted very aggressively too us do not bang on the bxxxxxd stairs!!! I would never recommend anyone too stay here for a night of horror beware u need too do major work too building and customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The good: Friendly staff and manageress.Cheap prices. Location next to spa and beach and amenities. Full English breakfast, cereal and hot drinks included in B&B prices.

The average : No open reception which means you have to go down a passage into the kitchen area to gain attention or ring a bell. The lower floors are enveloped in cooking smells so if you can, book a room as far up the hotel as possible, which means you have some stairs to climb but no smell. The bar is open to residents and the public so it can be quite noisy until the early hours with karaoke .
Our room was not attended by a maid after the first night and this was resolved once brought to the staffs attention. The room was average in size and the furniture was dated but clean and tidy. The bed itself was comfortable. We had no toilet in the room so we had to use the one on the floor, which was a communal one. Some toilets did smell.The hotel does need to be modernised and brought up to standard. The front hotel steps have duck tape on them to cover broken tiles and the paint is flaking off on the outside windowsills. The hotel is advertising for staff and this shows in the levels of service. A few residents did talk about cold breakfasts and non working locks on the toilet doors, and one group talked about Fawlty Towers, and expecting Basil and Manuel appearing from the kitchen !
You are obliged to pay a £5 deposit for your room key which is refundable when you produce your key on checking out.

Would we return ? No . I would invest a little more money for an alternative hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room as far up into the hotel as possible to alleviate cooking smells and noise from the open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chunky2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#48 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel
The Brunswick Hotel
#108 of 118 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Bridlington
The Royal Bridlington
#67 of 118 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South Cliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South Cliffe Hotel

Property: The South Cliffe Hotel
Address: 6-10 South Marine Drive | Torrs Park, Bridlington YO15 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing