We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Winston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winston House
Ranked #95 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The weather forecast was good so I decided to go to Brid for a few days, checked a few websites and decided on the Winston, South street.
The owners were away but still had a friendly welcome,I was shown to my room on the first floor, it was,how can I describe it, bijou, but once I settled in it was quite adequate,everything I needed was there,it was clean,nice cotton bedding, bed and pillows just right.
In the morning a good breakfast was served.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philhopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
18
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at the Winston House with friends for the weekend. Was told by the landlady rooms would be ready for 12midday, we arrived at 12.30 to be told rooms not ready come back at 2.00, so we went for a wonder round for a couple of hours,(no problem). Came back at 2.30, was taken to our rooms and i must say out of the four rooms we booked, our room was the biggest, and could do with some serious updating!!! The bathroom was almost as big as the bed room, and was o.k. The other three rooms were tiny, and also in need of updating. There was a tea tray provided and the cappacinno was two months out of date!!! needless to say we didnt touch that. The breakfast my husband enjoyed, said it was fine, me on the other hand am a vegeterian and no effort was made with me, i got beans, tomatoes and a fried egg, they didnt try and fill it up with mushrooms or hash brown(very poor).. Would we stay here again? NO... There are better B/B in Bridlington for the same amount of money. For location cant fault it, over all experience not the best... As said by all of us.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay.Great location great breakfast. On the downside turning on the TV was a little tricky and the bar was not open. Told to go to the off licence for cheap alcohol. However I would stay therer again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very enjoyable stay, staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very hot and filling. Would stay here again for sure. There were 10 of us who stayed for the weekend and found the staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLeeds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a cheap and cheerful Guest House which is has an excellent location on the south side of Bridlington near the Spa. The rooms are very basic but clean. Dogs are accepted at no extra cost. Breakfast is very well organised, and the food is excellent!!!
10/10 for breakfast and location, but the overall rating is lowered by the need for a bit of an update in the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, but you need to be fit, at the top of the house!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Well I have to say that we have just stayed three nights my son and I and have enjoyed our stay staff and owner very helpfull.and food very good, and would I stay again, to damn right I would and recomend to othersyes certainly.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was a very welcoming and frendly hotel which was very nice place to stay to chill out and relax. Rooms were very clean with tea/coffe,tv and own bath room.
Breakfast was fantastic, Orange juice, Ceral and Vegertarian options catered for instead of the full English which my family had.
Felt that I had been made very welcome and look after, I would consider staying here again.
Thank you for our stay as it made our holiday more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#77 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malvern Guesthouse
Malvern Guesthouse
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#46 of 117 in Bridlington
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#63 of 117 in Bridlington
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston House

Property: Winston House
Address: 5/6 South Street, Bridlington YO15 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing