We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

The Brunswick Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #108 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2013

booked for 3 nights,tried to pay on card and machine not working had to use cash not a good start,then we went up to room 3 opened the door to find room had not been hovered a mess,then sat on bed and rolled into the middle and had a very uncomfortable 3 nights sleep and not helped by the pesky seagulls of Bridlington,told barman on firstnite and he said he would tell his manager and I am back home and never heard from him,will never go near the place again either to stop or have a drink there.

Room Tip: do not stop hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiona985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick H, Manager at The Brunswick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Firstly I remember very well that you could not remember your PIN number of your card. That's your first lie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked here originally for two nights and paid for two nights, however only stayed the one.

To start with the parking was a nightmare. Very difficult to find a parking space. The one I found was approx 10 minutes away from hotel and having to get up at 8oclock in the morning to put more money in the parking meter isn't exactly my ideal little break holiday on a bank holiday. However, Im aware this isn't the hotel's fault.

On arriving at the hotel, it was full of drunks outside. The manager wasn't accomodating at all, seemed more interested in getting the money off me.

The room was horrid, small. Curtains falling off the rails, bed extremely uncomfortable. Windows were dirty. As we went down to the bar, some women was fighting in the bar.

As stated above, we stayed for one night. Never again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

room was dirty, toilet was filthy, bedding was thread bear, beds were old and uncomfortable, windows were filthy and held up by a teaspoon!!! carpets hadnt been hoovered! bin in bathroom hadnt been emptied!! very noisy, would avoid this hotel like the plague!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oi-sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel likes to present you with riddles. The first occurs as you enter, suitcase in hand, and you are presnted with four unmarked doors. 3 of these are dead ends but the lucky telepathic few will find their way to the bar/reception. The second occurs when you lie down on the bed, and must determine how to get to sleep on pillowcases with the mere suggestion of a pillow within, and a mattress that feels like the weathered harbour walls with only a threadbare sheet between you and it's brown stain mysteries. The third occurs at night, when you begin to consider how you can train as a bird assassin, as the single glazed window offers little auditory comfort when presented with the incessantly aggressive gnashing of beaks.


If you want a decent nights sleep look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iancurtis222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Booked here after a stay in Hull. Room only which was adequate for the length of stay. Owner was pleasant. The disappointment was we had no permit for car parking like most B and Bs in the area. My partner is disabled and even though we were able to park opposite in disabled parking bay during the day, we had to move the care to a longstay car park. This obviously tired him walking back to the hotel and secondly the security of our car was not on hand. We thought as no breakfast we could get up a little later, but we had to get up early to go and either pay for parking or move the car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick H, Manager at The Brunswick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

You could have left your car in the disable bay. Do not understand why you had to move it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I am staying in Bridlington for a few days and have been for a few pints in the brunswick hotel. The bar and lounge are spotlessly clean and really nice.. I love cask ale and the landlord has 5 cask ales on from a local brewery called Wold top brewery which is my favourite beer. Anyway, no time to write anymore, I'm off to the brunswick.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave willy .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

booked two nights with late rooms was very cheap but still not worth it as we went home after one night.we where above the karaoke which was on all day and night, the beds had slats and when you sat up they collapsed,was so tired we gave up and went home would not recomend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#65 of 117 in Bridlington
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#70 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#14 of 117 in Bridlington
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel

Address: 13 Manor Street, Bridlington YO15 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £48 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brunswick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing