We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penthouse Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carlton Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Penthouse Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed in the penthouse after finishing cycling the Way of The Roses. It was a treat for finishing and a 40th Birthday. It felt like complete luxury, with champagne, chocolates, strawberries and a roll top bath in the bedroom. The suite was spacious and came with a continental breakfast with plenty of food, which actually fed us and our two friends who were staying in a one-bedroom apartment.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa & Chumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
63
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for one night with my husband and two friends at the end of cycling the Way of the Roses route. The apartment was very nice, and it made a nice change to have a lounge and kitchen area rather than just the room you get in a B&B. Everything was clean and tidy. The bedroom was a little chilly to begin with so I turned up the radiator which, unsurprisingly, did the trick. We were in apartment 2, so took the stairs as often as the lift. If I was being picky, I'd say the stairs could do with either a coat of paint or a strip of carpet. We had a good welcome from the owners, and plenty of recommendations as to places to eat and drink. I don't know if this is a purely fire regulation issue, but as the internal doors are all fire doors they are quite heavy and self-closing. It would be nice to have door wedges to use when you're pottering round the apartment. In all honesty, we're unlikely to visit Bridlington again, unless we do another coast-to-coast, but if we did, we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facethestrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Carlton Apartments. Andy and Cindy made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Apartment 4. Everywhere was spotless and the apartment was warm and cosy and tastefully decorated. Kingsize Bed really comfy and nice touch of bottled water and chocolate mint plus rose petals on the bed. Nice to have some fresh milk in the fridge. Really couldn't fault anything - apart from the noisy seagulls at 5am both mornings but it is the seaside !!! The owners have worked hard to make the Apartments into something a bit more special. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: These apartments are centrally situated - and close to local attractions - could be noisy in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAnne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We just had a week at the Carlton Penthouse. Although it is a nice looking flat with little extra touches like candies strewn about, croissants, etc... there were some major things that need tending to, such as the plumbing. There were times when we had no hot water at all, then at other times in the kitchen, we had hot water coming out of the cold side. In the shower, we had a rather cold blast of water during showers, so it is very temperamental and should be looked at by an expert to see what the problem is. As for the heat in the flat at this time of year (we were there for a week starting Feb 15th), it was none existent! If they can't provide adequate heat in winter, they shouldn't be renting it! We actually had to wear hats in bed!! And while watching tv in the lounge, there is a terrible cold draft coming in through the windows even though the heater had some warmth. We had to cover up to watch tv. I ended up catching a cold while there, unfortunately. And we are people who do NOT like a place to be too warm...that is why we go to the seaside in winter....but this place was really COLD, I'm afraid. The channels on the tv were not tuned in correctly. My husband had to dilly dally with that situation so we could watch something. The furniture in the lounge, namely the two white colored separate chairs...need to be washed as they are filthy and in need of a good stuffing to prevent you from sliding down onto the floor! They are all slouchy. What the place needs is a nice loveseat so a couple can sit TOGETHER. The blinds on the windows were very dirty, as well. There is quite a bit of noise coming from all the pubs across the street...and this goes on at all hours, even at 3,4, 5 in the morning. So, if you are looking for peacefulness by the sea, I'd suggest you try elsewhere a little further from the town, because many of the places that are down further along the sea are really not that far to walk to get to the town center. We saw a lovely one for much cheaper and the view was spectacular! The views from the Penthouse are not right over the sea, they are at a slant in every window.... Also, there's a fellow on a loudspeaker calling horse racing at one of the carnival type places around the corner, and he IS LOUD!!... The lift is very very small, and if you are someone who does not like being closed in, this would be a nightmare for you. The stairway is four flights up a winding staircase. This is something that should be told to people up front before they take the place. What if you were not able to climb stairs? And what if you can't stand to be closed in a tiny space within an elevator? You'd be up a creek. For the money that we paid, we don't feel we got what we paid for. We could have done much better at just a short walk away. It's not a place we would go to again. We are not being overly fussy, either. We're just being very straight forward and honest here. From all the great reviews on here, we just expected more. And when we complained to the manager about being cold, we were told that it was an excuse to cuddle and nothing was done about it. Believe me, we both have a great sense of humor, and can laugh off many things, but somehow it didn't strike us as funny when we were freezing. I'd catalog this place as average at best.

Room Tip: Go Further up the sea front and find some much better places to stay for cheaper. It is not that far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishUkrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

...Bridlington! It would be kinder to give it a lethal injection than let it suffer this pitifil death. How the Brid authorities get away with foisting such squalor and neglect on local tax payers is beyond me; the hardworking owners of this particular establishment deserve a far brighter seaside location for their efforts

We stayed in the Penthouse and were overwhelmed by complimentary touches...huge strawberries, bottle of bubbly, fresh flowers, chocs, bottled water, free continental breakfast with fresh milk etc. The expense the hosts go to is clear but there were, sadly, one or two fundamentals we felt needed some attention:

The kitchen/lounge has two faux leather armchairs cheap and tired and out of tune with the intimacy of a penthouse. These could be repaced with an inexpensive sofa, good for canoodling couples

The shower was tempermental running hot n cold at a steady drizzle, drawing the inevitable frustrated curses

The Lift to the Penthouse 4th floor was out of order til 7pm which meant several arduous ascents / decents. The Lift cupboard is located of all places inside the Penthouse itself, between the bedroom and bathroom; a romantic evening for two was gatecrashed for an hour by a dude with a toolbox in greasy overalls. But true to our Yorkshire DNA we saw the funny side and the owners could not have been more apologetic (not their fault)

Considering a visit to Bridlington? Don't. Nip up to Filey instead. But if you're one of those people who just can't resist slowing down to gawp at a fatal car crash don't hesitate booking this place .. great rooms offered by incredibly generous hosts smack bang in the middle of the most god awful holiday resort crying out for civic leadership and a full makeover

Room Tip: Penthouse - if the Lift's working
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

It was my first time in Bridlington and I don't think it could have gone any better!!
We stayed in the penthouse apartment which was absolutely amazing really modern, comfortable and very clean. there was plenty of little touches that made it perfect, Bottle of champagne on arrival with fresh grapes and chocolate, mint chocolate and bottled water on bedside table, breakfast basket in the kitchen ...
These apartments are in perfect location, 1 min away from sea, cafes, restaurants, shops, bars, clubs and arcades plus the sea view is Stunning!!!!!!!
I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice romantic gate away

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettylolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The best place we have ever stayed ! This was truly the most pampering and luxurious stay we have ever experienced and I am surprised how much we got for the price we paid. As a treat, we opted for the Penthouse. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed before being shown to the room. The service was excellent but the penthouse was even better. They had thought of every single thing you could imagine from fresh roses to bath robes. The room was in imacculate condition and had a very modern layout. A lot of thought and effort has obviously been put into the apartment. The view was breathtaking every room had a sea view. I would recommend anyone to pay a little extra for the penthouse suite. It was perfection!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.7 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
#10 of 27 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#50 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#58 of 118 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Apartments

Property: The Carlton Apartments
Address: 6 The Crescent, Bridlington YO15 2NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 star apartments in the centre of Bridlington. Studios, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and Penthouse. Lift. Sea views. All apartments have king-size beds and full kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing