We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expense Hotel, whoops Expanse Hotel”
Review of Expanse Restaurant

Expanse Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 220 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We went to the Expanse Hotel for a family members do. The single member of staff assigned to the event was woefully unable to give the service required.

We requested a jug of water be put out due to the heat wave, at first they declined, but after a little pressure a single jug was put out.

The buffet at £10.95 a head was very sparse as the people at the end of the queue barely had anything to eat. The hotels response was that we all ate too much, given that more heads were paid for than actually attended that is really stretching it and quite offensive.

2 Gateaux's were put out, and when they were almost gone a request for a third was made at a cost of £50. Ouch, £50 for a single not very special supermarket quality gateaux.

Overall, not impressed. I personally would avoid this hotel as it has gone down hill since the change in management.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Manager at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

You were aware that you were buying a evening finger buffet, not a meal. Throughout negotiations you tried to keep the cost down. Clearly you did not tell your guests that they were to receive a light buffet only. As you say, many travelled substantial distances for the function, they clearly had not eaten before the evening buffet, hence, for the first time since 1999, the buffet was decimated.
You were warned before the event that we believed that you were under catering, but you knew better.
There has been no change of management, our functions manager was in charge and is perfectly capable of managing a finger buffet. despite your assertions this buffet was replenished as necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Always wanted to try expanse as it looks a good hotel in a great spot. Went on a Sunday at 7pm but all we could have to eat was a Sunday lunch or a salad. As neither of us fancied a Sunday lunch at 7pm we both chose a prawn salad. The prawns was probably bought from aldi or netto and half of them was not cleaned properly, and still had the intestine vein left in. The rest of the salad was best described as mediocre.
So basically a mediocre salad with uneatable prawns for £14 each. Never again.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Manager at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Sunday dinner in the hotel restaurant is the same as for any other night. there is a choice of four fresh starters, four fresh mains and numerous puddings on the table d' hote menu, in addition there is an a la carte menu, a lounge menu and a completely different menu in the Marine Bar.
With this choice I am unable to understand your comments.
No products are from supermarkets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and had a fantastic stay. We had a 3 course dinner and 2 breakfasts included in our KGB deal. We've stayed on alot of these types of hotel deals and the meals you usually get on them are basic, however at the Expanse no expense was spared. What a delight to have a fillet steak included (for a small surcharge, of course). I had the brie and cranberry starter, my partner had the sausage and mushroom casserole thing. Both were nice. Then i had the lamb main, my partner voting for the fillet. Vegetables and potatoes were served silver service, very nice, and a little overwhelming for a 3 star. The puddings were to die for. Small portions but very rich in flavour. I had the lemon posset, my partner the chocolate mousse. We were also given a window seat looking directly onto the beach and sea. Most romantic. The breakfasts were also of excellent quality, fresh ingredients. the staff were very helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend anyone to dine in your restaurant. My only critisism was the bar prices (hotel bar not Marine Bar) were a little steep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Butlinsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Owner at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your review of the meals that you had during your stay, and we are glad that you enjoyed them. We have kept with Silver Service as part of offering a traditional style to the Restaurant and our window tables are always popular; offering panoramic views across the bay. We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant and Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The food at the Expense is of high quality at a very reasonable price. The staff are friendly and willing to assist where they can!


Keep up the good work guys!

Thank RGC6684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Friendly service, well presented delicious food. Would recommend the Fillet Steak. Good value for money.

Thank melaniewhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Expanse Restaurant also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Expanse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing