We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waiting staff”
Review of Expanse Restaurant

Expanse Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 202 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great waiting staff”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The waiting staff were great, really friendly and the food was simple but enjoyable - prepared with care.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food with a view!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have stayed at the Expanse previously and I must say its the really lovely food and the restaurant service from Chelsea,Steve and the rest of their team that has brought us back! The hotel is in a great spot with sea view tables and good views from most of the other seats as well.
The menu offers excellent choices and the food is served piping hot with silver service.
Everything tastes fresh and good quality and the puddings are fab!!!!
We have had Sunday lunch at the restaurant with our neighbour and it is excellent value for money.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Owner at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - it always nice to know that people have enjoyed the service that they have received from us. I will pass on your comments to the team, and we hope to welcome you back again to the Restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The position of this hotel is excellent, nice and peaceful and just across the road is a lovely beach.
The restaurant does lovely food although a little pricey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Owner at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the Expanse Hotel and its Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to both in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expense Hotel, whoops Expanse Hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We went to the Expanse Hotel for a family members do. The single member of staff assigned to the event was woefully unable to give the service required.

We requested a jug of water be put out due to the heat wave, at first they declined, but after a little pressure a single jug was put out.

The buffet at £10.95 a head was very sparse as the people at the end of the queue barely had anything to eat. The hotels response was that we all ate too much, given that more heads were paid for than actually attended that is really stretching it and quite offensive.

2 Gateaux's were put out, and when they were almost gone a request for a third was made at a cost of £50. Ouch, £50 for a single not very special supermarket quality gateaux.

Overall, not impressed. I personally would avoid this hotel as it has gone down hill since the change in management.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Manager at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
You were aware that you were buying a evening finger buffet, not a meal. Throughout negotiations you tried to keep the cost down. Clearly you did not tell your guests that they were to receive a light buffet only. As you say, many travelled substantial distances for the function, they clearly had not eaten before the evening buffet, hence, for the first time since 1999, the buffet was decimated.
You were warned before the event that we believed that you were under catering, but you knew better.
There has been no change of management, our functions manager was in charge and is perfectly capable of managing a finger buffet. despite your assertions this buffet was replenished as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Always wanted to try expanse as it looks a good hotel in a great spot. Went on a Sunday at 7pm but all we could have to eat was a Sunday lunch or a salad. As neither of us fancied a Sunday lunch at 7pm we both chose a prawn salad. The prawns was probably bought from aldi or netto and half of them was not cleaned properly, and still had the intestine vein left in. The rest of the salad was best described as mediocre.
So basically a mediocre salad with uneatable prawns for £14 each. Never again.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineBar, Manager at Expanse Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Sunday dinner in the hotel restaurant is the same as for any other night. there is a choice of four fresh starters, four fresh mains and numerous puddings on the table d' hote menu, in addition there is an a la carte menu, a lounge menu and a completely different menu in the Marine Bar.
With this choice I am unable to understand your comments.
No products are from supermarkets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Expanse Restaurant also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Expanse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing