We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Carlsberg dont do B&B's but if they did this would be one of theirs. Everything is perfect, immaculate rooms fantastic small touches such as bottles of water in your room and even cotton buds in the batroom. The breakfast is just the best. Steve and Tony such great blokes make you feel so welcome. location fantastic, nothing more to say apart from what a place, will be returning again and again.
Mathew and Lynsey.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5, beautifull room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thanks Mathew and Lynsey for your review of South Lodge and the lovely comments.. It was great to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
135
230
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Many thanks to Steve and Tony for a lovely warm and friendly welcome this weekend. I have never before had my case carried up the stairs and it marked the start of outstanding hospitality. So many good points to mention but they include: very clean and welcoming room, excellent tray of refreshments, the bed..... soooooo comfy! The breakfast..... the best I have ever had in a guest house... you MUST try the fruit salad... it's amazing. Steve and Tony add such a personal and friendly touch, getting to know each of us by name which I really liked. They really made us feel welcome and valued.
The road was very quiet but close enough to all the amenities you would need. Stay here to visit Flamborough and you cannot be disappointed!
We'll definately return.
Thanks very much Tony and Steve!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Theresa, Hannah and Josh, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at South Lodge. It was lovely to meet you all at the weekend. Glad you thought the beds were comfy, the extra padded matress toppers help!. Look forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

it started with a welcome that made us feel special . the rooms were lovely homely and very clean with little touches that stood out. the breakfast was just about the best i can remember. the whole stay was perfect, we even had help with the case ,unheard of any where else. our stop of two nights stay will certainly be remembered and will certainly be repeated . wishing you both all the very best maureen & gary

Room Tip: room 2 was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary4942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Maureen and Gary, thanks for leaving your review of South Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the new chariot is up to scratch!. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the South Lodge Guest House, made extra special by the hosts Steve and Tony. South Lodge is in a peaceful and quiet area of Bridlington but only a short walk to the Spa and town centre. The rooms are decorated to a high standard, spotlessly clean and the beds were the most comfortable we have slept in away from our own! The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice, including fresh fruit salad and bacon chops which were delicious. Apart from all of this, what really makes this B&B special is Tony and Steve. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home from the start without being intrusive and we will definitely be returning. Thank you Tony and Steve for a lovely weekend from Mark, Caron and Betty from Doncaster.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Mark, Caron and Betty, it was lovely to meet you all at the weekend. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at South Lodge and the Spa Theatre provided a great night of entertainment with Country and Western. Hope to see you soon. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the south lodge and we will come back if its possible!!!
The breakfast is exelent, the service really good and helpfull.
All in all good price for some really nice days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Well done, what a fantastic little gem. Clean, Comfortable and Pleasant. The rooms are not to your typical guest house standard they are way better!
The breakfast had me thinking about it all day...there was something for everyone's appetite, ask them about their bacon chops ..sooo much better than rashers, I'll have to find a butcher near home that can cut me bacon chops like these.
Nothing was too much trouble the service was excellent, they clearly know how to deliver and it shows.
Would I make a return visit.... DEFINITELY

Room Tip: Clean, Modern and well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for leaving your review of South Lodge. It was great to see you again last weekend. We are glad that you enjoyed the bacon chops!. Look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

There is only one thing that would tempt me back to Bridlington, which could hardly be described as the jewel in the crown of English seaside resorts. The thing in question is an oasis of civilisation, charm and tranquillity in a landscape seemingly devoid of anything but ‘fish n chip’ shops and is South Lodge.
The area surrounding Bridlington has much to offer, sufficient for me to justify a return visit.
This thoroughly charming establishment is owned and operated by Tony and Steve. They claim to have in excess of fifty years combined experience in the customer service industry, and it shows. The service is outstanding. Professional without being remote. Friendly without being obsequious. Thoughtful and helpful. Delightful touches like a tray of refreshments on arrival, consisting of freshly brewed tea, cafetiere coffee and a plate of biscuits. Very welcome and apparently included in the price.
South Lodge is arguably the cleanest house I have ever set foot in. When I jokingly asked Steve if he cleans the skirting boards daily his response was “Yes, and the tops of the doors”. It came as no surprise.
We were accommodated in Room 5 on the second floor. The en suite was tiny but perfectly formed. The room itself was delightful. The soft furnishings were Laura Ashley, the bed was beautifully comfortable, there was a flat screen tv and wireless internet (no charge). Thoughtful touches like bottles of water on the bedside tables and a well equipped hospitality tray added to the overall experience.
At breakfast, Tony provided a relaxed a professional service - anticipating one’s every need - whilst Steve produced the beautifully cooked meal and a seemingly endless supply of toast.
As for going the extra mile, when Tony discovered that my husband had had an unfortunate encounter with a seagull, he insisted on washing the shirt. When we returned from a day out in Beverley, the shirt was back in our room, beautifully laundered and pressed.
Would I return to Bridlington? I think it’s my favourite destination now. Oh, and I don’t know how they do it for the money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieChurch-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Julie, it was great to meet you both over the weekend. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at South Lodge. The unfortunate event with the seagull didn't phase us with washing machine and iron at the ready!. We look forward to seeing you both soon.
Kindest Regards,
Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 118 in Bridlington
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#49 of 118 in Bridlington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Guest House

Property: South Lodge Guest House
Address: 105 Cardigan Road, Bridlington, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Lodge Guest House is situated on the South Side of Bridlington, East Ridings of Yorkshire. We are a cosy retreat at an affordable price. All of our rooms are en-suite and we offer a range of rooms from twin to family rooms sleeping four. We are only 300 yds away from the stunning South Beach and a short stroll to the Spa Theatre, Harbour and Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your South Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing