We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another memorable stay at Bridlington's best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having just returned from our second visit to South Lodge we find ourselves running out of superlatives to describe this unique guest house. This time we took our 8 year old Grandson with us as we promised we would after last year's visit. The welcome we all received from Steve and Tony made us feel like we were greeting old friends. The family room and en-suite was extremely comfortable, well equipped and very competitively priced.
The attention to detail and sheer hard work Steve and Tony put in make this establishment what it is. The level of service and cleanliness could not be improved, nothing is too much trouble for them and they fully deserve their number one status in Bridlington.
We will certainly be returning next year and would urge any holidaymakers visiting Bridlington in the near future to look no further than South Lodge Guest House

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

It was great to see you both again with the addition of your grandson. So pleased that your family get together went well. Hope to see you after the baby is born. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

All the reviews are 5# for a reason. This place is superb, it's the little touches that really make this place. Chocs on the pillow each night, bottled water. The welcome coffee and homemade biscuits. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was hot,fresh and cooked to perfection. It is also incredibly quiet, it is the first guest house we have stayed in where we haven't been disturbed by other guests through paper thin walls. Bed linen is crisp and fresh and I could praise them forever but instead go and see for yourself. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. (Our journey home was much quicker too.) Thanks again guys you do an amazing job.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 92tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

So pleased that your journey home was quicker!. It was great to meet you both. Hope to see you again. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Second visit to South Lodge Guest House and it will not be the last,stayed for a week this time,
cannot commend Steve and Tony enough for their warm welcome, professional service, excellent breakfast and spotless accommodation. cannot wait to go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We really missed you after you had left!. It just seemed strange you both not being in the Breakfast Room in the morning. Hope to see you both soon. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

stayed for 2 nights in july 2014. booked 2 rooms. Both rooms were very clean, very well maintained, very cosy and comfortable. The owners were extremely friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was exceptional, we were spoiled for choice. would definitly recomend staying there. we will do again. near enough to bridlington centre, nice walk. thank you

Room Tip: both rooms we had were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank yobrien57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. It was lovely to meet you all during your stay in July. Hope to see you again. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fantastic stay at this lovely guest house, stayed in the family room, it was lovely,very clean and extremly comfortable, the owners were very helpful and great hosts, breakfast was gorgeous, and included full english, toast, cereals, yoghurts, and a beautiful fresh fruit salad, everything had been well thought out, and lots of little personal touches added(including a chocolate left on your pillow!) would highly recommend and defiantly stay here if we ever head back to Bridlington.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Km05aaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

It was great to meet you all during your recent stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed your experience. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the best guest house we have stayed in,friendly owners,well designed rooms that are practical and beautifully furnished.lots of little suttle touchs that made for a very pleasant stay.
breakfast was a exellent with efficeint friendly service.
would recomend South Lodge to anyone
well done Steve andTony
the next time we are going to bridlington this is where we shall stay
untill the next time Tony & Margaret

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

It was lovely to meet you both again. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in September. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just spent a night at South Lodge and can't speak too highly of the welcome we received, the standard of the room or the wonderful service. When booking I mentioned that we were attending a lunch time event and we were immediately offered the use of our room from well before the normal check in time - when we arrived a tray of tea and home-made biscuits was offered and brought up to us, just one example of Steve and Tony's outstanding level of service. Our room and ensuite shower room were well equipped and tastefully decorated. Breakfast in the dining room the following morning was first class - a good range of cold food, a choice of cooked dishes and excellent coffee. There can't be many B&Bs that serve breakfast on tables covered by immaculately laundered and starched white linen tablecloths!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLodgeBrid, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks for leaving a review for us.So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and accommodate early arrivals if we are contacted the day before. Hope to see you at your next family gathering. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
603 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 117 in Bridlington
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
437 reviews
1 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 117 in Bridlington
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#21 of 117 in Bridlington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Guest House

Address: 105 Cardigan Road, Bridlington, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £74 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Lodge Guest House is situated on the South Side of Bridlington, East Ridings of Yorkshire. We are a cosy retreat at an affordable price. All of our rooms are en-suite and we offer a range of rooms from twin to family rooms sleeping four. We are only 300 yds away from the stunning South Beach and a short stroll to the Spa Theatre, Harbour and Town Centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing