We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Sewerby Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sewerby Grange
Ranked #106 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the road, Sewerby Grange appeared delightful. We were not disappointed. Crisp, clean rooms afforded a glimpse of the formidable North Sea and an easy walk along the cliffs. Modern and pleasant bathrooms were a bonus, considering the age of the building. Our welcoming hosts, Daren and Amanda, run a well-organised and friendly establishment. Daren, the owner-chef offers a copious menu that includes locally sourced food cooked and served with flair. Puddings were equally appealing and provided a delicious end to a sumptuous meal. Overall, an enjoyable and comfortable sea-side experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our two night stay was long enough, on our arrival we rang the bell for attendence, pleasant young man appeared wearing some very stained track suit bottoms (not how you expect someone to be dressed to welcome you). He took us to our room informing us that the restaurant was closed (we weren't informed about this on booking) but we could get a pizza at the bistro which is in the Hotel grounds. We didn't bother so cannot comment on the the Bistro.

Our room was small but well equiped but oh dear the blue bedding was well used and didn't smell too nice. It had been decorated with beige & brown wallpaper beautiful curtains with cushions to match so why oh why the old blue bedding - white sheets needed! The shower room, very clean also very very small.

Breakfast - no one about to great us when we went in the dinning room so just sat at a table that was laid ready for breakfast, on a little table was a few glasses ( nothing to put in them ) some unmatching bowls small packets of cornflakes, fruit and fibre and weetabix. Eventually someone came to serve us (10 mins later) the full english was very greasy and of poor quality, scrambled egg was tasty but only got a small tablespoon full when the toast eventually arrived it was put on the table uncut in the toast rack - it was a shambles. Its as though its got that " couldn't care less attitude " about it which i find sad as the house and grounds are lovely. It just seems the people who own it are letting it go to rack and ruin. As you go up the drive you are met with broken fences,chairs strewn about, the ashtrays all full which didn't get emptied while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mercedesbenze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The two night mid-winter stay at the Sewerby Grange Hotel was very pleasant. Our room was clean and well organised, the double bed was exceptionally comfortable. The chef did a splendid job and the menu choices were surprisingly varied. Value for money, without hesitation, we would recommend The Sewerby Grange Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Whatever you do don't stay in room 5. It is seriously depressing with rackety furniture, curtains that barely cover the window, carpet in need of replacement, loft access with cover indequately replaced, shower door replaced with a curtain.
Interesting breakfast timing 8.30 to 9.00 only - on a Sunday?
Other rooms are much better - hopefully number 5 will be brought up to the same standard at some time in the future.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We booked this very last minute after missing our flight!

Enjoyable 3 night stay in a quiet location with plenty of on site car parking. The Guest House is also within walking distance to the beach.

Lovely old building with bags of character, set in extensive grounds.

The room was plesant and spacious with a mixture of old and new furnishings, which surprisingly we thought went well together. The room was en-suite and clean throughout.

Tea/Coffee making facilities and TV in room.

Breakfast was substantial and well cooked. Fruit Juice/Yoghurt/Cereal and/or the "The Full English".

We tried "The Bistro" one night which is up in the Marque. The Pizzas were lovely and the caramelised Lemon Tart even lovelier! If you require a meal in the restaurant, you will be required to book a table in advance.

All the rooms appear to be on the 1st floor floor, there is no lift, so you will be required to carry your luggage up the stairs.

Room Tip: We Stayed in Room 2 with the big comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just to comment on our recent stay in this Hotel:
Beautiful room, excellent staff and really good food, the Sea Bass in particular was delicious and supplied locally I believe. One other thing, I know its the last thing a Chef wants to hear but the chips were absolutely wonderfull, I could have eaten a platefull and my wife too !
A lovely place to stay on a short get away from it all break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The website photos made the interior look quite modern and refurbished but this was not the case. The room was antiquated , the bed linen might have been cream but seemed like a dirty white. The bathroom was clean but the shower cubicle had a makeshift curtain as the door had broken. The breakfast was pleasant and well cooked but I felt the hotel was overpriced for the type of room given.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186402Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
615 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Happy Days Guest House
Happy Days Guest House
#48 of 117 in Bridlington
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
440 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Carlton Apartments
The Carlton Apartments
#5 of 31 in Bridlington
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#62 of 117 in Bridlington
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sewerby Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sewerby Grange

Address: 441 Sewerby Road | Sewerby, Bridlington YO15 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £92 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sewerby Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing