We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt ask for a nicer local”

The Ferns Farm Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ferns Farm Hotel
Ranked #65 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Couldnt ask for a nicer local”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just moved into the village, thought Id venture round to my new local. What a welcoming spot!!! The staff are so friendly, Arthur the dog is always happy to see you, and an ice cold Kronenbourg awaits!! I had the veg curry for tea but as Id just moved that day and was starving I added the cheesy chips.....what a treat, they were sublime!!!!! During the day I had lost my sugar and they provided us with lots of sachets to go in our tea. I can also reccommend just popping in for a coffee, my mother is a conniseur on the stuff and she was thoroughly pleased so much so that she had a second cup. I havent stayed here so cant comment on the rooms, but a function room is also available as is a gym next door which has a super pool. For those of you who like sea food they do fresh caught local crab, well worth a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns F, Manager at The Ferns Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you Laura and welcome to Carnaby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We held our 25th Anniversary party here and Kate, the manager, made our day exceptional. Her calm, relaxed and friendly approach was just what was needed. Her help in preparing for the party was invaluable. The room was lovely and the food excellent, a lot of our guests commented on it. I would definitely recommend The Ferns to anyone looking for a venue for a special occasion or even just for a meal as the food is lovely and the portions out of this world. Thank you so much Kate

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns F, Manager at The Ferns Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for the feedback Sue, it was a lovely day and I'm so pleased you all enjoyed it. Hope to see you all again soon, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were passing one evening and popped in asking if they were serving bar food, a friendly lady confirmed this and gave us a nice table at the window.

We both enjoyed our fish meals (he had fish & chips which he said were very good and I had prawns & haddock in sauce which was also very good).

We just had a drink with these, his lager was well served and my Pinot was beautifully chilled. I'm sure we will call here again.

Sorry to say no Labrador, it would have been nice to meet him.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns F, Manager at The Ferns Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please come back and visit us soon. Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Yorkshire coast is a great place to be and this is a convenient base for a visit as it lies just a few minutes drive from the beach. The rooms are comfortable and there is a swimming pool and gym which is included in the price of your stay. Very good value. The dining area is very pleasant - spacious, light and airy and the food is very good and quite inexpensive.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns F, Manager at The Ferns Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you next time you're in the area. Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We attended a small family wedding reception and it was extremely well done by the staff. The dining room was very nicely laid out and the meal was served in a friendly and professional manner. The food was very nice, home cooked and the portions were very generous. The bar serves Snaith Brewery beer which is quite a nice local pint.

The en-suite bedrooms were well presented and comfortable and were complete with the usual tea and coffee making facilities. We had a very good night’s sleep.

Breakfast was well presented and very nicely cooked by the chef.

The building is slightly rambling but this adds some character to it. There is an attached health club including an indoor swimming pool. There is also adequate on site car parking.

A nice resident is Arthur, the brown Labrador who is extremely well mannered and trained. He knows his place politely moving out of the way for the pool players as they move into position to take their shot. He stays out of the restaurant and is no problem at all, in fact is a nice asset to the place.

Certainly worth the short drive from Bridlington and an excellent place to stay at or just to have a meal. We will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns F, Manager at The Ferns Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My son and daughter in law decided to get married and looked for a venue in a week !! Kate at Ferns Farm Hotel not only gave us the room but she decorated it beautifully for them and made a really nice fuss over them, we booked 6 rooms and stayed over, which was a great decision. Arthur is a friendly welcome tail wag and the food portions are generous to say the least !! Thank you kate and chef for making our special day that little bit more special and at such short notice. I hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellichops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns F, Manager at The Ferns Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. It really was a pleasure to help out and the bride looked absolutely stunning.
Kate xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I stopped overnight whilst attending a birthday bash there. Friendly proprietor and clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. The bar is used as a local pub so has a genuine atmosphere. We did not have time to try out the pool or gym. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
3.1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marston's Inn Lobster Pot
Marston's Inn Lobster Pot
#6 of 29 in Bridlington
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#10 of 117 in Bridlington
246 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#76 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Farm Hotel

Property: The Ferns Farm Hotel
Address: 29 Main Street | Carnaby, Bridlington YO16 4UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing