We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”
Review of Oakwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakwell Hotel
Ranked #112 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good points
- breakfast was plentiful and well cooked
- bedding was clean and family room had more space than the double/twin rooms which were cramped
Bad points
- lots of rubbish in public areas
- dirty handrails on stairs
- bin in room not cleaned between guests
- dirty socks from previous guest left under bed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjsg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    6
    6
    23
See reviews for
21
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for several years and will continue to do so. Always been welcomed and never had a problem with any of the rooms ive stayed in. Very clean and tidy and always sleep very well. The breakfast here makes it for me, there is a great choice of cereals and the cooked brecky is to die for! The price is incredibly cheap and kids stay at half price! I cannot believe some of these bad reviews, end a the day if you want the Ritz then go elsewhere and pay through the nose because for the price here it cannot be beat!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Always welcoming and looks after us old soulies, attend this hotel every year and always get first class service and a warm welcome, rebook as soon as we leave for following year, close to the spar for us which helps us old people

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

On arrival we were greated by a friendy lady, who made us feel very welcome.
The room and bathroom were clean and warm.
Good selection of cereals to choose from prior to a lovely full english.

We will definitely use again.

Thanks for a great stay
Also nice to meet you Molly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Cant beat this hotel, Friendly staff, good brekfast! well stocked bar and a welcoming atmosphere, and the best thing is owners go out of their way to help you!
Spa is 2 minutes walk away, beach is 2 minutes walk away, town centre is 8-10 minutes walk away!! free street parking, safe area! and a very nice place to spend the night.

GO GO GO!! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When I went to check in full room of people stared as though as I'd asked for something quite unusual in a hotel. Dog laid across dining chairs (where people eat) my baby, I put on floor while I was speaking to the lady he crawled about and when picked him the toes of his white trainers were literally black. Didn't like letting him down after that, old lady nice enough but very doddery had to ask twice for the cot in our room and the bill etc, her son on the other hand was plain rude! Looked unwashed and when another member of our party asked could she have bar meal (her son was ill and the leaflet in the room says they do them on request) she was rudely told 'I haven't been shopping' when she pointed out that they had offered this service he simply repeated himself at her with a moronic stare. We had the breakfast two days, (the maid who took orders was lovely and polite) breakfast was ok after I went into the kitchen to use the microwave one the third day to sterilise my babies bottles though none of us touched it again, disgusting is an understatment. We are letting environmental health know. Overall, good location but smells of animals, needs a massive deep clean and upkeep operation. (the handles of drawers in our room were constantly dropping off leaving exposed screws)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bri-bri86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridlington hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here 3 nights didnt sleep at all room was filthy bedside lamps didnt work was given a twin room when we were told we could have a double awful smell coming from the sink in the bathroom shower door fell off towels left all over the stairs etc etc will definately not be going back !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadunwell1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#16 of 118 in Bridlington
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#64 of 118 in Bridlington
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aidansdale Hotel
Aidansdale Hotel
#57 of 118 in Bridlington
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malvern Guesthouse
Malvern Guesthouse
#24 of 118 in Bridlington
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#62 of 118 in Bridlington
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Hotel

Property: Oakwell Hotel
Address: 31-33 Horsforth Avenue, Bridlington YO15 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing