We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Family holiday”
Review of The Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marina
Ranked #6 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We returned from Bridlington yesterday and we were genuinely sad to leave. I would like to say a big thank you to Teresa and Martin for a wonderful stay at your hotel. You were really wecoming at the Marina and truely fantastic hosts. Very hospitable and looked after the whole family like royalty.
Delicious Breakfasts, very accomodating to dietry needs, all you have to do is ask. As my boyfriend's grandad has celiac and can't eat gluten products we find it difficult to go anywhere for meals as a family so the evening meal option is fantastic and really yummy too : )
I loved all the little touched around the hotel, it is clean and comfortable. We stayed in the romance room with a 4 poster bed : D So lovely! The rooms have all the things you need, television, freeview, wifi, showergel, shampoo sachets, showercap, cottonwool buds. I really like these things when staying away from home.
The atmosphere was wonderful, the "regulars" who we met rebook a few times a year. Really cute and quaint and a small bar to unwind in on an evening with great variety of drinks and a few snacks too this hotel really does have everything!
Aswell as all this accepts small dogs too so made having a family holiday possible for my mother in law.
A 1 minute walk to the south shore it is a fantastic location for dog owners and 5 minute walk to town it is perfect for everything. We will deffinately be returning asap, I can't wait! : )

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embie_pembie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meldrewbridlington, Owner at The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

So glad you all had a great time, hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We booked two double rooms at the end of June. We were going on a course and needed somewhere close, but also needed a base for my Parents, who were not attending the course, but simply grabbing a few days away. Normally we wopuld have gone for a more impersonal hotel, but as my parents had no access to a car, we needed somewhere they could walk to the beach and seafront easily.

Location wise, this hotel is perfect, it states on their website that is is 2 mins walk to the beach, usually this means 10, but it was actually probably less than 2 mins away. The Spa theatre is only another couple of mins from that, and beside that is the land train station where you can travel to various touristy spots along the coastline.

So, we got there on Friday night, we were going to be late in, around midnight, due to not being able to set off until after work, and it being a 4 hour drive from our home, I phoned to let them know and to be honest I did feel it was a bit of an issue. As we usually stay in impersonal places such as Premier Inns, this is not usually an problem, and I guess I didn't appreciate that it might be., the Marina tends to lock up around 10pm. So rather than risk upsetting anyone and having to drag people out of bed late at night, we somehow managed to finish work early and get there at a more decent time.

The proprietors met us and were very friendly and decent people. We were shown to our rooms, my parents was on the first floor, ours on the second.

The place was spotlessly clean, but a little dated, a bit like visiting an old aunts house. And there were LOADS and LOADS of nick-nacks everywhere. Goodness knows how they manage to keep on top of the cleaning with all the clutter everywhere - all sea/boat themed as you might expect.

The rooms were serviced when we were there, when I say serviced, the cups were washed and the toilet roll was folded into a point, but strangely the beds were not made. Odd.

Breakfast was ordered the night before and you couldn't fault it at all. Perfectly cooked, nicely presented with good quality products. The only gripe would be the thin white toast, a choice of brown would have been nice... I guess if we had asked we could have had it though. A really decent nice strong cup of tea too.

Would definitely recommend this B&B for location, friendliness and the lovely breakfast. It is your quintessential seaside B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soozintheshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thankyou for your lengthy review, to assure all future guests, we do not lock up at 10.00pm, all guests have keys to allow entry at any hour. We close the bar at 10pm if unoccupied.
If given prior notice we can arrange to be up at midnight for arrivals although we usually have a limit of 10.00pm so other guests who retire early are not disturbed.
Small guest houses do not have staff 24/7 as some major hotels.
Most guests enjoy the "clutter" of seaside items but all tastes are different, the nautical theme is our trademark. Pictures of the inside of the house are available to see online before anyone books at www.themarina-bridlington.com
Wholemeal toast is available on request as are other breakfast items that are listed in your room folder, we do not serve it as the main toast as white is still prefered by the majority.
Overall if you were happy with your stay that is the main thing and we thank you for your good comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from weekend stay. The owners are to be congratulated on the fastidious way they maintain and present the establishment. Lovely quiet location yet a short level easy walk to town centre and Bridlingtons attractions. Sea front about 50 yards away. Book it you will be assured of a warm welcome by the friendly and attentive hosts. A relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor one twin. First floor 2 to 4 only a short and straight flight. No 4 is single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jims64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Many thanks glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just got back from 3 nights at The Marina in Bridlington with my daughter and her grandparents. This is a really well run little hotel. The welcome is warm and the rooms are clean with lots of nice little touches. Every room has a Freeview TV and video recorder and there is a nice selection of videos and books on the landing. The entire hotel is themed around ships and the sea (as you would expect with a name like the Marina!). Breakfast is very good, with orange juice, a selection of cereals, tea/coffee, cooked breakfast and toast. The owners are very friendly but efficient, making sure all their guests are given the best stay possible.

The hotel is in a good location, very close to the sea, and near the Spa complex. The town centre and harbour are a short walk away.

We would certainly visit again next time we stay in Brid, and I would thoroughly recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meldrewbridlington, Owner at The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thankyou for your glowing review, we do appriciate it when guests leave reviews.
We would gladly welcome you all back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

we have spent a lovely weekend at the marina the owners were friendly and very helpful ,the food was excellent and homemade infact we could not fault anything here i would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning soon

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meldrewbridlington, Owner at The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thankyou for your review, You were a pleasure to have as guests. Hope to see you both very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

A lovely comfortable clean hotel with good facilities allround.
Only had a short stay but would certainly go again.
Friendly and helpful staff who catered for all our needs.
The piano is a lovely addition and my request was played beautifully.
Will plan to go again as have read somw good reviews for the wildlife along the cliffs.

Room Tip: room number 3 is lovely. room,y spacious at the frontof hotel with on suite and setee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meldrewbridlington, Owner at The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thankyou for your kind review, sorry to say the piano has gone due to techincal problems, however music will return soon. Welcome back anytime, a pleasure to have you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Recently had to have some works done at my home so needed to stay here for a couple of nights. It came highly recommended by a friend and she was right, you couldn't fault the place or the owners who are very friendly. My room was very comfortable, clean and bright (Room 1) with a good size bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and even though there was only a half hour window for it to be served there was no indication that once I had finished I had to leave the dining room. One of the things I noticed whilst at the Marina is that if you were just visiting Bridlington for the day and didn't want to go home, this place would be perfect as everything you need is in the room - Towels, shampoo, soap, shower gel, tea & coffee facilities - so dont worry if you haven't brought an overnight bag!

I am very pleased to hear that they have amended the age of acceptable children as even tho I'm not that old (and consider myself 'child friendly'), there was a young child running around during breakfast, touching this and that, who's parents didn't seem to care. Very tempted to interfere, I held back. It makes you wonder how many other people felt the same way?

A very pleasant and enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 1 - An excellent choice if you enjoy your baths as not many Guest Houses have them now, they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingmyholiday... x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meldrewbridlington, Owner at The Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Many thanks for your review and for your comments. We have raised the minimum age to 7 years, to hopefully ensure a more peaceful relaxing time for all guests, As we all know, its impossible to suit all of the people all of the time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#22 of 117 in Bridlington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#17 of 117 in Bridlington
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#75 of 117 in Bridlington
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerfield Guest House
Summerfield Guest House
#13 of 117 in Bridlington
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina

Address: 8 Summerfield Road, Bridlington YO15 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £33 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina is a traditional seaside guest house only 100m from the sea front with 6 ensuite rooms including a ground floor twin for the less mobile. Very near to the Spa and an easy stroll to the town. 4 Star rated and 5 star food hygiene rating.Free on street safe parking on the more select south side of town. Dining room with small cosy bar. A relaxing place for a stay in Bridlington whether here for business or pleasure. Room only, Bed and breakfast.All room swith TvDvd, Fridge,Fan,safebox,Hospitality tray,Towels,soaps and more........ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing