We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay - 5* recommended, fantastic host!”
Review of Aussie Beach Shack

Aussie Beach Shack
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aussie Beach Shack
Ranked #91 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stay here - Wayne is welcoming, friendly and a great cook! The theme of the place is great fun and refreshing from a standard B & B style therefore great value for money on accounts. We could not have asked for more during our overnight stay - short and sweet but perfectly formed.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NicPic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I've left this a good while after our visit to reflect and not leave a knee jerk review. The reason for that is the weather on our visit was truly appalling and it's easy to let your overall feeling about a holiday cloud your judgement on things like accommodation.

That said, I think this B&B is in need of some renovation work or at the very least a deep clean of the family room in which we stayed.

The bathroom especially needs some basic maintenance and a thorough scrub. The shower has seen better days and the fixtures and fittings are dirty and some just loose on the wall. The small size of the bathroom means that job is neither expensive or time consuming, but it looks like it has been some time since it was done properly. Small things make a big difference.

The rest of the room is not a great deal better. The TV did not receive any channels and the entrance door catches on the light fitting.

On the positive side our welcome was warm and genuine. This is clearly a family run B&B and the atmosphere is very friendly. Just our sort of place normally.

Unfortunately the breakfast let the side down. The cheap white toast was cold and clearly not freshly done. The sausages were very cheap and pale white inside. Eggs were nicer on the second day to be fair but overall I'd rather have had cereal and fresh toast.

We wouldn't return I'm afraid. Only because we don't go away often and wouldn't want to take the risk that things hadn't improved.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manoman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived at 11:30 on Saturday morning not expecting to be able to check in till later in the day, how wrong were. We were given a warm welcome by Wayne who showed us straight to our room, explained about the door keys and gave us a parking permit for the street outside.

Our room , The Wombat Room was a small twin room on the top floor. It was clean and tidy with very comfortable beds and tea & coffee making facilities. A short five minute stroll took you to the promenade with a further five minutes stroll into town.

Breakfast, cooked by Wayne was excellent and very well presented. We enjoyed our stay here and would certainly stay again if we are visiting Bridlington.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WakefieldWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a pleasure to stay at the Aussie beach shack the family room was excellent food was excellent and such a warm welcome from the landlord Wayne who we shall stay with again soon thank you for looking after us you made us feel part of your home and family cheers Wayne

Room Tip: The family room is excellent and we peeped into another room which was also excellent and a very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely place to stay , so close to beach & harbour
Breakfast was lovely
Room was brilliant & spotless
Family room ideal for 3 friends sharing I stayed there with my granddaughter & friend
My friend had the single bed which was situated as soon as you walked in the room . You walked through to were the double bed & shower was this was great has it gave my friend the privacy she needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went last year and retuned again this year. The Aussie shack is the ideal place to stay, if coming by train a 10 minute walk, 5 minutes to the beach and 10 minutes away from the harbour. The Aussie shack is clean and there is plenty of food for breakfast if you wish, my daughter is not a big breakfast eater so we told Wayne she only wanted cereal and toast which he said was fine. Wayne is very warm and friendly and has a dog called Jade who is the softest dog in the world. Would highly recommend and are going back next year. made a mistake at the bottom of the page - there is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent location close to beach.
Comfy rooms , awesome breakfast , big thankyou Wayne from the family who felt so at home at your B & B for the weekend .
Your hospitality shines Wayne.
Great place to stay to feel " chillaxed" ..... Once again Thankyou from all of us .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186356Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#75 of 117 in Bridlington
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#14 of 117 in Bridlington
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#72 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Beach Shack

Address: 31 Tennyson Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £25 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing