We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At Last Some Where To Eat In Bridlington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront - CLOSED

The Waterfront
Price range: US$7 - US$31
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Waterfront is a relax and comfortable cafe selling Breakfast & Hot meals with great view over looking Bridlington Bay and Flamborough Head.
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“At Last Some Where To Eat In Bridlington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

At last, after visiting Bridlington for over 10 years a place where you can take the family for something other than fish and chips. We had pizzas and pasta all the meals were excellent. This is new venture and deserves to do well

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireFolkAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackBlack1972, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit on Trip adviser...

Ms Camfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food but service hmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We went in because it looked nice. They don't take cards and didn't have any change so not a good beginning. The young waitress then spilt my coffee on the table and just left it for me to mop up and wipe my cup handle clean. The food was really good though so it was salvaged by that. Maybe waitress service to take orders would be nice instead of the customer walking to the bar to walk back empty handed followed by a waitress spilling your drinks when they carry it to the table

Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackBlack1972, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
We went in because it looked nice. They don't take cards and didn't have any change so not a good beginning. The young waitress then spilt my coffee on the table and just left it for me to mop up and wipe my cup handle clean. The food was really good though so it was salvaged by that. Maybe waitress service to take orders would be nice instead of the customer walking to the bar to walk back empty handed followed by a waitress spilling your drinks when they carry it to the table

Thank for posting comment about your visit, first im sorry the waitress spilt your drink, b ut you did enjoy your food. We now accept card payments as from May 25th 2012 just after your visit.

Ms Camfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sea front eating experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Been a few times now and cannot fault the food or the staff, ok a slight wait for food but if this means it's fresh local sourced produce and freshly cooked to order, then I can live with that.As for drinks if wanted immediately ordered at bar and brought straight to table.
Mum's comment was "best ciabatta I've had in years and the cooking was just right" ex cook many years ago so she's quite the critic . I'm working my way down the hot sandwiches and ciabatta menu and haven't had a dud yet delish.As mum said the ciabatta was cooked just perfectly crisp and seared on the outside but soft inside with generous amounts of filling.
Just to mention the coffee served there , "Illys " is brilliant tasting and you don't have to send a search party through the froth on the cappucino's to find the actual coffee as in some establishments.The owner is also going to great lengths to put together an eclectic menu trying to cater for all the family without unecessary clutter on the menu.
Prices and value for money great...next plan to try evening meal......can't recommend enough.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackBlack1972, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit on Trip adviser...

Ms Camfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, staff & ambience..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Been many times now, I suppose I am a regular! Great atmosphere and lovely staff. Owners always on the premises making sure everything is running smoothly. Food great - experienced chef. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XXSTARBURSTXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackBlack1972, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit on Trip adviser...

Ms Camfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food but slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Being local and having seen press ads for the Waterfront, my husband and I decided to give it a try for lunch. On entering we picked a welcoming comfy settee in the window and my husband went to order a pizza and a sandwich, with 2 hot drinks. Almost 15 minutes later the drinks were brought with an apology for the wait. Then after another 5 minutes the food was brought. My sandwich was excellent, well presented with salad and crisps, and excellent value for money. My husband, who had been looking at his watch every 30 seconds while we waited, actually said the pizza was probably the best pizza he had ever had. I can only suggest that a mature supervisor is employed to keep an eye on the very young staff. Even if food is freshly prepared and has to be waited for, there can surely be no excuse for not serving drinks almost immediately.

Helpful?
Thank sueskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackBlack1972, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Hi,
Thank you for visiting us and also posting a review, I agree your coffees did take a little longer than normal. Team members working when you visited are of a age between 20/24 and also one junior to clear and take orders to tables. Myself was working but dealing with a faulty ice cream machine next door. Our food is freshly prepared to order and waiting time can vary from 15 to 40 minutes depending how many order are in the kitchen at any one time, we also serve food out side to the patio area which is made up of 48 covers. I hope my response is helpful and we look forward to seeing you again.

The Waterfront Team Tel:01262 677099
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bempton, Bridlington
Flamborough, Bridlington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing