We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise ..........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

...... after reading some earlier comments. We were greeted by Carl, the owner, who willingly carried our luggage to our first floor apartment without being asked and we entered into a large airy, well-decorated room with nice sea views. Anyone, looking hard, can make criticisms such ' the bathroom is bijou (to put it mildly), hot water takes a long time to run through, the fireproof door to the bedroom was very heavy to manage, but looking at the price charged this place is excellent value for money. The apartment was spotlessly clean, everything worked and there was a full inventory of equipment from full-size cooker and microwave down to corkscrew !!
WiFi is free and reasonably quick and Carl provided an extra dual plug to avoid having to unplug anything else. Flat screen television has the full range of Freeview programmes, the bed is comfortable (not hard as others have said), there is adequate heating. Parking is easy immediately outside at night although it could get a bit crowded in the day. To sum up we would be very happy to return if staying in Brid in the future.

Room Tip: First and second floor front rooms have good sea views - but could be noisy in high season ?
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy4eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Mowbray Apartments Bridlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here when attending a friends wedding. I liked it a lot. I paid slightly more for a sea view and was glad i did. it was very clean and comfortable and in a great location. the bed was nice and there was a map in the room with several places of interest and useful telephone numbers. The DVD player was an added bonus.

I would recommend it to a friend and could imagine staying longer in the future

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasma147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl c, Owner at Mowbray Apartments Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review hope you had a safe flight home and look forward to providing you with accommodation in the future.
regards c chambers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed at the Mowbray Apartments when we went to see a top band in a top venue. Had a superb night topped off by staying in the Mowbray Apartment which matched the quality of the Band.
The apartments are ideal for an overnight stay at a really good price. They are nicely decorated and furnished with plenty of equipment should you want to cook.
Very clean with plenty of big towels.
Met by the proprietor who was friendly and accommodating.
Parking in Brid is always a problem but this was overcome with the resident permits supplied.
Definitely worth further stays even longer than overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl c, Owner at Mowbray Apartments Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review of Mowbray Apartments. It was great to meet you during your short stay. Kindest Regards, Carl & Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the rear view ground floor apartment on 16th February as we were watching a band at Bridlington Spa and didn't want to drive home. We weren't expecting luxury as it was intended as a cheap bed for the night to get our heads down for the drive home in the morning, however we were very pleasantly surprised by the modern interior, really enjoyed our stay. I have seen previous comments about out dated carpets however I think the rear ground apartment that we had had been recently refurbished with laminate floors which were lovely. The entire apartment was very clean, well furnished and the tv was brilliant - wasn't expecting anything so big or modern. Kitchen extremely well equipped (although we didn't need to use it). Only thing which could possibly be an inconvenience is the shower being in a separate room from the toilet and sink, however perhaps if you have a child (the room could accommodate 2 adults and 1 child) this would be more convenient? Not really a big problem anyway!

Overall very pleased, view wasn't brilliant but can't say it bothered us in the slightest as we didn't go for the seaside, we went for the spa which was conveniently just round the corner. Highly recommended! The owner (assuming it was the owner!) was very polite and friendly when he greeted us and showed us round our apartment. Happy all round.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have the obvious disadvantage of no sea view
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl c, Owner at Mowbray Apartments Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review of Mowbray Apartments. It was great to meet you during your short stay. Kindest Regards, Carl & Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We made a very short notice booking at the Mowbray Apartments and had a very pleasant one night stay there. The apartment had a separate comfy bedroom with lovely sea view. The lounge was cosy with a very well equipped kitchen again with sea view. The great location meant all amenities are a short walk away. I would probably be careful if you don't like noise as can imagine that it would be noisy in summer - but that wouldn't put us off booking again. A few people have mentioned the patterned carpets but they are of obvious good quality - I believe they are to be replaced soon however they are in good condition and not stained. The rest of the decor was also very tasteful and ultra clean. Parking permits are issued by the owners so once you are there you don't really need to drive anywhere. All in all an excellent stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to higher floors and no lift. Ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetAnne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl c, Owner at Mowbray Apartments Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review of Mowbray Apartments. It was great to meet you during your short stay. Kindest Regards, Carl & Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Overall we had a very pleasant stay here. Superb location, just a short walk to the beach, ammusements and pubs/cafes.

We stayed for 7 nights, in a first floor apartment at the back of the building.

The apartment was lovely and clean, lovely decor and very well stocked with everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday. I have read some comments about the dated carpets, but they were clean and in good condition. A patterned carpet surely does not make or break your holiday!

We found the staff very helpful, and we could come and go as we pleased.

The only negative we had was the sofa/sofa bed. It was very low down, and very uncomfortable to sit on and sleep on! Some of the other rooms has the same type of sofabed, but they had armchairs too. Unfortunately we didn't, so we spent most of the time sitting at the dining table. Not very relaxing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl c, Owner at Mowbray Apartments Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thanks very much for your kind review of Mowbray Apartments. It was great to meet you during your short stay the sofa bed in question has been replaced with one more comfortable. Kindest Regards, Carl & Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked the family apartment for one night - we were travelling further north so wanted a stop over. We checked in and were shown to our room which was on the 3rd floor. There isn't a lift so this might not be suitable for the elderly or people with small children. The room was pleasant and had everything needed for a self catering holiday, including full size cooker, (dated and had the controls written on in marker pen) and a full sized fridge. There was also a TV, DVD Player, Hairdryer, iron and ironing board etc. The decor was modern except for the vile highly patterned carpet - this really could do with changing to make the place look less 'tired' The bedroom was decorated to quite a high standard but the bed was rock hard!

We quite liked the area but were not keen on the location of the Apartments. Although we did have a lovely Sea View this was spoilt by the pubs, bars, amusements and fun fair that are virtually on the doorstep. We arrived on a Sunday and despite the rain in the evening there were 2 fights outside one of the Bars and the Amusements stayed open till quite late - there was a very annoying machine that kept repeating the same phrase over and over again - it got to the stage where I wanted to pay the Amusements Manager just to shut the thing up! The walls of the apartments are also very thin and we could here 'everything' going on in the next room!!!

I would stay in Bridlington again but at the other end of the Prom away from the 'fun for teenager' areas.

I felt that the £65.00 we were charged was a tad high for one nights self catering - especially in such a noisy area

Room Tip: Ground floor would be a must for the elderly or those with small children
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl c, Owner at Mowbray Apartments Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we take your points on board we do think you have been rather harsh considering the minor problems with our establishment the cooker is only 2 years old but the decals have worn off it is being replaced in December the beds are all new and have cushion toppers but beds are a personnel taste some like them firm some like them soft but no one else has said the beds are hard difficult to please everyone again the carpet is a hard wearing Wilton carpet they are being changed as an ongoing process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
588 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#70 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Carlton Apartments
The Carlton Apartments
#6 of 29 in Bridlington
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#19 of 117 in Bridlington
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray Apartments Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray Apartments Bridlington

Address: 8 The Crescent, Bridlington YO15 2NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Bridlington
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mowbray Apartments Bridlington 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridlington self catering apartments. Excellent sea views, all en-suite rooms, 7 minute walk to the spa, Theatre Royal Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mowbray Apartments Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing