We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Mon Fort Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mon Fort Hotel
Ranked #86 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We used to come here some years ago when our grandson was younger and he loved it here. My wifes birthday was middle of September and we hadn't been to 'Brid' for a while so we booked a couple of nights midweek. We totally agree with the golfers we were well looked after, clean room and great breakfast and we felt at home. We don't go to pubs very often but we had a good laugh in the Tennyson bar which is part of the hotel, everyone made us feel most welcome and I think pretty soon we shall be bringing our granson again now that he has got older.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Cant believe anyone would pay good money to stay there, everything was dirty, we stayed 2 nights and would never go back. We had tea cups that stuck to the saucers, dirty cutlery at breakfast, dirty plates and there was an unclean smell. Our room was not clean, the seats had bits of fluff and debris, could be seen quite clearly, the skirting boards were covered in grey fluff at the side of the bed cabinets. I woke up with bites, and a spring came through the most uncomfortable mattress l have ever slept on.The stair case balustrade was absolutley filthy. The bar was clean? And the entertainment good. A really good scrub a bit of chat from the hosts, and some decent food and it could be really nice. I will never recomend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Not in that place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chachacha186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monfort1, Owner at Mon Fort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

I must say I find your review incredulous. We are aware we are an old building and do have a winter rota for decoration and have made changes to cleaning staff.
However, in response to your other ridiculous intimations, I can assure you there are no unclean smells or biting buddies in our rooms either before you arrived, or after you left. Your complaint therefore leads me to believe they must have only existed for the 2 nights you were here.

I find it surprising with so many comments, that you did not mention a single thing to us on leaving – I certainly would have if I had so much to complain about. Lastly, seeing as you also prefer to make personal comments, I would suggest that when you overhear your friends saying they wish they hadn’t invited you for the weekend (yes, I overheard it too!), don’t take it out on the hotel. I imagine that has more to do with your bad weekend than us.
Lesley Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

stayed at the Mon Fort for 3 nights whilst working in Bridlington
The hotel is on the old side, but it's clean, very friendly the windows in the bedrooms open and the breakfasts are great.
Good pint of Theakstons next door in the adjoining pub.
They arrange for parking on the street outside which is very uiseful

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

we arrived on thursday afternoon at the Mon Fort and was greeted by the landlady leslie she was very helpful and checked us into our rooms now i agree with others that the rooms are tired and need updating but they were clean and to me thats important.We found the bed to be a little hard and the en suite a bit on the small side.The landlady Leslie was a real nice person i dont know why some people say she is rude i found her to be most helpful and understanding the Tennyson bar is very good for night entertainment one of the best kareoke's i have been too the quiz on thursday was hard though but enjoyable. The breakfast was very good plenty of choice and good quality and Leslie was always asking if we needed anything else all in all a good stay was had by us all thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Mon Fort, group of 22 golfers weekend 22-24 June.
Leslie & Barry great hosts who look after locals & guests with a passion.
Great bar good atmosphere so everyone has a good time.
The breakfast was wonderfull and set you up for the day.
Ideal base for your golf weekend on the east coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 90Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed with a group of golfing friends for 3 nights, and were delighted with the position of the hotel which was just off the sea front and a few minutes walk away from decent bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was large and friendly, the bedrooms were clean but a bit tired, but the breakfast was great and a good start before hitting the golf course. Parking was no problem as there was plenty of room in the roads around the hotel and for the cost of £1 for seven days we thought was a bargain. The bar attached to the hotel had plenty of entertainment, and we enjoyed the hidden talents of our party on the karaoke night!!!! We would have no hesitation in staying here again and found the management friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a bath and a qirky room then choose no 9!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Dont know how this hotel gets the bad reviews I have read. although the bedrooms could do with a bit of updating the room we had was clean and comfortable, with plenty of room, and with a sea view. The breakfast was good, with it being help yourself you could have as much or as little as you needed. endless supply of toast (both white or brown). There was good entertain at night in the bar, and very close to the seafront and the town centre. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank husky_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Days Guest House
Happy Days Guest House
#48 of 117 in Bridlington
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#13 of 117 in Bridlington
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Fort Hotel

Address: 1 Tennyson Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £47 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location, 500 yards from sea front and straight down Promenade to town and all amenities. All rooms fully en-suite. Great bar, warm and friendly atmosphere, variety of excellent entertainment, fully licensed to general public and a really good pint! Great golf deals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mon Fort Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing