We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tardis like museum”
Review of Bayle Museum

Bayle Museum
Ranked #19 of 52 things to do in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Monday to Friday 11am to 4pm with last admission at 3:30pm FREE on street parking NO DISABLED ACCESS. Entrance to the museum via 2 staircases. A Monastic Gatehouse housing a museum and collection of local artifacts. Description The word Bayle is derived from the French Baille meaning 'enclosure' or 'ward'. Recent archaeological surveys of the Bayle have concluded that a large proportion of the building dates to the late 12th Century. The initial use is thought to have been a gatehouse to a castle built by William le Gros after he took control of the Bridlington Priory in 1143. In the 14th Century the Bayle was the Gatehouse to the Bridlington Priory, a porter lived inside the Bayle and monitored the comings and goings of the Priory. An Almoner also lived in the Bayle and distributed food and ale to the poor of Bridlington. Since the dissolution of the Bridlington Priory the Bayle has been used for many different purposes including a Prison, Court, School, Garrison, Non-conformist meeting place, Town Hall and meeting room for the Lords Feoffees. Today the Bayle is a Grade I listed Building and scheduled Ancient Monument, which makes it of great interest historically and architecturally.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tardis like museum”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

What can you do on a rainy day in Bridlington. My answer to this is to visit the Bayle museum. It punches well above its weight. What on the face of it seems to be a short visit ended up as a thoroughly enjoyable hour and a half. Extremely well laid out with a great variety of exhibits the entrance fee of a pound is probably the best value I have ever had in a museum. Don't just leave it for a rainy day if you are in the area this is a must see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank xygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    22
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MBR”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A look back into the past of old Bridlington I liked the look into the old jail system the memorabilia and an insite into the lord feofees roles in running old town also is it good value for your enterance fee and I would recomend as amust visit whilst visiting the priory

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a fantastic piece of bridlington history not to be missed”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we visited here for the first time this week and we had a fab time, I came with my husband and our 8 year old son, it was a 1.00 PER ADULT KIDS GO FREE, it was really interesting, we visited first thing when it opened and we had the musuem to ourselves, lots to see and take part with our son loved it, I particularly liked looking at the old photos of brid as I came to brid with my mum and dad as a child im forty now it was interesting to see what it used to look like, we would definatly visit again, there is a lovely pub next door which is child friendly with a lovely beer garden at the rear and they do lovely food too

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamariesch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wort every penny.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a brilliant peace of bridlington history,spent a good hour looking around the bayle.If youre into history then i reccomend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Only £1 and looks small from the outside, so we didn't expect much - but we were there for two hours as there was so much to see! Really varied and interesting exhibits and a most informative explanation of a proud civic community. Multum in parva!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peewit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayle Museum also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Bayle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing