We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing break”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Expance again for a long weekend. We had the same Sea view Club room as on our last visit.
Although the room is not perfect, and what Hotel is, it ticks all the boxes. A fantastic bathroom, bath and shower a nice change. Nice king size bed and plenty of room to walk around the room.
The Marine Bar has now been re vamped and has a nice feel to it, and has good quality food and drink.
All in all a great visit, and I am sure we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room, and a Club room if you can stretch to it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilkoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your lovely review about your stay in a Sea View Club Room. We feel that the Club Rooms are a good addition to the hotel, with the enhanced features that they offer, including a walk-in shower as well as a bath.
In addition, we are also able to offer high quality apartments offering style, sophistication and stunning views. Each of the apartments @ the Expanse offered something different and takes the best of Hotel style with added space, convenience and all the mod cons of the most luxurious city apartments. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future whether in the hotel or one of the apartments.
The Marine Bar has had a revamp, and is continuing to its selection of Real Ales and freshly home cooked food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Expanse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We decided to stay over in Bridlington at the last minute and got a really good discount with this hotel. From booking on the phone to checking out, the service was friendly, efficient and uniformly excellent.

All the staff were happy, chatty (in the best sort of way) and helpful. All areas of the hotel are a bit dated, it's a classic 30's Art Deco building for goodness sake, but are clean and very attractive. The historical atmosphere is half the fun of staying and the wood panelled lounges are superb. Our room was comfortable and had a beautiful view across the bay. We had dinner in the restaurant (Bridlington is not over-endowed with great places to eat out) and it was OK, if a little over-priced, but then all hotel food is over-priced. Service was excellent.

Breakfast is really good, the black pudding is superb, and is individually cooked and offers a lot more choice than the usual hotel warm buffet nonsense. The bar prices are no dearer than local pubs, which is a hotel first for me.

Overall, a fantastic, warm and friendly place to stay for the price. The view is stunning. Worth visiting Bridlington for on its own. Will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank den1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your lovely review - we are always pleased to welcome positive review.

In addition to the hotel, we are also able to offer high quality apartments offering style, sophistication and stunning views. Each of the apartments @ the Expanse offered something different and takes the best of Hotel style with added space, convenience and all the mod cons of the most luxurious city apartments. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future whether in the hotel or one of the apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Staff very friendly apart from one lady on reception who has forgotten how to smile she wasn't unpleasant - just a bit serious. Our room (26) didn't have a sea view but was comfortable and clean. We didn't pay the rack rate so felt it was good value. Some of the decor and the general atmosphere was a bit old fashioned but comfortable

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolmscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Rear Club Double Rooms (Room 26). We feel that the Club Rooms are a good addition to the hotel, with the enhanced features that they offer, including a walk-in shower as well as a bath. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the Expanse for two nights at the end of December 2011 - attracted by the prominent sea front location. The Club Double at the rear of the hotel was excellent, with decor, furnishings, and lighting akin to a more superior hotel. The Restaurant was excellent too, very good food, happy attentive young staff, wine service totally professional.
Period lounges very pleasant. The hotel was only let down by a tiny lift (mercifully of the non-speaking variety) and tired passages, creaking floorboards above, presumably next for the updating process.
We would certainly stay again. Some other comments about this hotel would suggest either "professional complainers" or they have not stayed.

S & C, Leeds

Room Tip: Go for a Club Room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to receive compliments about our hotel and are pleased that you liked the Club Rear Double Room (Room 17) in which you stayed. As you have highlighted, the lift is small, however, it is a replacement from the original lift and as such, has the relevant restrictions applied to it. The “tired passages” are part of the next part of redecoration, which is currently focused on the First Floor (where I believe you stayed).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Very clean hotel, service and standards excellent will return again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. Sorry that we have taken so long to respond, we seem to have missed it. we hope to welcome you back to the Expanse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were staying here on the 12th November for a 40th bash. The revolving door is wonderful as you walk in, the lady on the desk was very warm and welcoming and offered us all sorts of help. The room was huge with a sea view, a bit dated but what a comfy bed. The bathroom was just as big but sadly very poorly finished off and the water was tepid at best. The evening was splendid in the special function room, very attentive waiters and waitresses. The breakfast was excellent with a large choice and cooked to order. On checkout a different lady presented me with the bill which was wrong, when I challenged this she was adamant that I was wrong, when I asked her to check with somebody else she did so in a huff and came back very sheepishly saying that she was not aware of any discounts, nearly an apology. I would not let this deter me or anybdy else from staying there though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoods035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the bash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Expanse Hotel has clearly suffered a similar demise to the resort of Bridlington. Is geared to the fast dwindling British seaside resort market. That said it is clean with functional and roomy accommodation, a good restaurant, with pleasant staff and has a lively sports bar attached to the hotel. It does everything adequately without being exceptional in anything in particular. If you are looking for a decent place to use as a base for a break then fine. Location is fantastic on the seafront and parking is not a problem. Used for 2 nights for a golf trip was ideal for a golfing group. Would recommend to those who can do without state of the art facilities. The Art Deco facade is a real clue to what you are getting, a little dated but fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2702bobjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We have addressed the points that you raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
233 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 117 in Bridlington
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#70 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 117 in Bridlington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range: £66 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing