We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
hucknall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

the room was very comfortable and very clean,the staff were very friendly and helpfull, the food was excellent!!! the marine bar has recently been refurbished and is now very modern and has a good food menu also a good variety of hand pulled beers, the timothy taylor landlord is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrahucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your positive review about the hotel and the Marine Bar, Please let us know when you return so that we can ensure that there is a steady flow of Timothy Taylors waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    196
    72
    31
    12
See reviews for
118
253
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

although we live in Bridlington, my good friend got married here and booked rooms for everyone so we felt he had to stay :)
the wedding was wonderful, lovely settings, lovely food and a superb wedding venue (might have to drop hints to my husband about renewing our vows!!) anyway back to the hotel...... the room was a lovely double room, we didnt hear any noise from the party still ongoing downstairs, the veiw of the sea was incredible, when you live by the sea you take it for granted, so it opened our eyes to what we were missing!
the breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superstarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your positive review - it is always nice to hear from local residents who have either used our facilities, or have stayed with us. We hope that we will be able to accomodate your renewal of vows, when required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great Hotel, location on the North side of Bridlington sat bang on the sea front. Service was friendly food was good, deco clean and tidy one fault the Bar area has a coffee machine could do with its own menu. Pub downstairs serves real ales and food, recommend the Wold Top bitter. Could do with some work done outside in the beer garden to make it more inviting but otherwise good spot. My room was clean a modern and the sleep was just tranquil until the Sea Resure Helicoter went by "what a picture" I will certainly recommend this hotel to friends not many of these hotels left there all chains.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your positive review - and returning to write another on your return. We hope that we can keep doing what we think we do best and see you again in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Expance again for a long weekend. We had the same Sea view Club room as on our last visit.
Although the room is not perfect, and what Hotel is, it ticks all the boxes. A fantastic bathroom, bath and shower a nice change. Nice king size bed and plenty of room to walk around the room.
The Marine Bar has now been re vamped and has a nice feel to it, and has good quality food and drink.
All in all a great visit, and I am sure we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room, and a Club room if you can stretch to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilkoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely review about your stay in a Sea View Club Room. We feel that the Club Rooms are a good addition to the hotel, with the enhanced features that they offer, including a walk-in shower as well as a bath.
In addition, we are also able to offer high quality apartments offering style, sophistication and stunning views. Each of the apartments @ the Expanse offered something different and takes the best of Hotel style with added space, convenience and all the mod cons of the most luxurious city apartments. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future whether in the hotel or one of the apartments.
The Marine Bar has had a revamp, and is continuing to its selection of Real Ales and freshly home cooked food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We decided to stay over in Bridlington at the last minute and got a really good discount with this hotel. From booking on the phone to checking out, the service was friendly, efficient and uniformly excellent.

All the staff were happy, chatty (in the best sort of way) and helpful. All areas of the hotel are a bit dated, it's a classic 30's Art Deco building for goodness sake, but are clean and very attractive. The historical atmosphere is half the fun of staying and the wood panelled lounges are superb. Our room was comfortable and had a beautiful view across the bay. We had dinner in the restaurant (Bridlington is not over-endowed with great places to eat out) and it was OK, if a little over-priced, but then all hotel food is over-priced. Service was excellent.

Breakfast is really good, the black pudding is superb, and is individually cooked and offers a lot more choice than the usual hotel warm buffet nonsense. The bar prices are no dearer than local pubs, which is a hotel first for me.

Overall, a fantastic, warm and friendly place to stay for the price. The view is stunning. Worth visiting Bridlington for on its own. Will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank den1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - we are always pleased to welcome positive review.

In addition to the hotel, we are also able to offer high quality apartments offering style, sophistication and stunning views. Each of the apartments @ the Expanse offered something different and takes the best of Hotel style with added space, convenience and all the mod cons of the most luxurious city apartments. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future whether in the hotel or one of the apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Staff very friendly apart from one lady on reception who has forgotten how to smile she wasn't unpleasant - just a bit serious. Our room (26) didn't have a sea view but was comfortable and clean. We didn't pay the rack rate so felt it was good value. Some of the decor and the general atmosphere was a bit old fashioned but comfortable

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolmscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Rear Club Double Rooms (Room 26). We feel that the Club Rooms are a good addition to the hotel, with the enhanced features that they offer, including a walk-in shower as well as a bath. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the Expanse for two nights at the end of December 2011 - attracted by the prominent sea front location. The Club Double at the rear of the hotel was excellent, with decor, furnishings, and lighting akin to a more superior hotel. The Restaurant was excellent too, very good food, happy attentive young staff, wine service totally professional.
Period lounges very pleasant. The hotel was only let down by a tiny lift (mercifully of the non-speaking variety) and tired passages, creaking floorboards above, presumably next for the updating process.
We would certainly stay again. Some other comments about this hotel would suggest either "professional complainers" or they have not stayed.

S & C, Leeds

Room Tip: Go for a Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are always happy to receive compliments about our hotel and are pleased that you liked the Club Rear Double Room (Room 17) in which you stayed. As you have highlighted, the lift is small, however, it is a replacement from the original lift and as such, has the relevant restrictions applied to it. The “tired passages” are part of the next part of redecoration, which is currently focused on the First Floor (where I believe you stayed).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
371 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
432 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 118 in Bridlington
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing