We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"told you I would be back"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"told you I would be back"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Had room 35 great view over the bay. Decided to try out the Marine Bar which was ideal as the football was been shown they have improved there daily menu which is served all day. The pub is very well established just out of town attached to the hotel "I said I would come back" and I will be back again such a lovely hotel with tradional values. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback and coming back to the hotel and Marine Bar. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    187
    72
    31
    11
See reviews for
114
243
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on and off for many years and returned to stay here again last October for 1 night because we came to see John Barrowman in concert at The Spa. We booked a Double Room £35 each including breakfast. The Room that was located at the back of the hotel 3rd floor Room 27. What a nice surprise. The room was warm, fresh, clean and traditional. There was ample space which we didn't expect. Large comfy double bed, wardrobe. coffee making facilities, comfy chair, and equiped tiled bathroom with bath/shower. We were very pleased with the room. Although the room was located at the back of the hotel our view overlooked resident housing. There are seaview rooms but my sister had been disappointed with her room on a recent visit as the windows rattled, it was noisy and water dripped from the windows and the room was cold so this put us off booking a seaview room. The breakfast was very good with a good choice - fruit juice. cereal, fruit, toast all help yourself buffett and then a served cooked breakfast of which we chose the traditional English breakfast - eggs abd bacon with the trimmings. The bonus at breakfast is that we sat in the front of the restaurant overlooking the seafront. We very much enjoyed our overnight stay and will return again when next visiting Bridlington. This hotel is ideal for a seafront hotel and not too far to walk into the centre of Bridlington, to the harbour or over to the south side where The Spa is located. We arrived in Bridlington by car and parked on the nearby road but there is parking outside the hotel. The hotel did offer an evening meal in the hotel but we decided to have fish and chips near the harbour instead. Great hotel with good choice of rooms and restaurant offering varied menu.

Room Tip: We didn't use the lift as it took too long to wait for so walked to the 3rd floor which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whackend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Room 27. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed for two nights with breakfast and dinner.

The room was comfortable, the staff were friendly yet professional and the food was good.

Its a relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. OK it perhaps could do with a refresh in some parts but overall we really enjoyed our stay and will go again.

We had a day walking up the wonderful coastline from Bridlington to Filey, and then caught the bus back. It took six hours to walk and was well worth it. Reception printed off the bus timetable for us, with pleasure, and have promised to join us on the next walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank yo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again in the near future. As you will see from other reviews, refurbishment is an ongoing process, that never ends! We hope to join you on your next walk in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is in a great spot and very quiet, we didn't hear a sound all night. The room we had was very clean and spacious although it was a bit cold when we arrived but we found a fan heater in the wardrobe which soon warmed up the room. The bathroom was huge with a massive bath and a powerful shower. There were plenty of toiletries and towels provided.
The only fault we found was the bedding as there was only sheets and a blanket on the bed, we would have preferred a duvet.
The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. There is a good buffet choice for cereals, fruit and juices.
Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janineandy1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Whilst we still use sheets and blankets in some rooms, we have converted largely to douvets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

It is so nice to find a decent hotel which offers free wifi! It's a pity that at the Exapanse you keep having to login again every half hour, and also that the wifi doesn't reach every room, so if you are on an upper floor then you need to take your laptop or whatever down to the lounge. I have stayed frequently as it is near to a good old folks' home - both share the great sea views and pretty walks along the sea front and cliff tops to Sewerby and Flamborough. The food is good - well done to the chef for keeping it coming over the years - although for my taste the menu could be even more adventurous. The bedcovers in some of the rooms are very heavy and not so warm - which is not great if you are staying in mid-winter. Soft underquilts and light duvets would be an improvement.

Room Tip: Sea view and lower floors if you want wifi access, or if it's mid-winter and you want to keep wa...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank MarionBurkimsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have used our wifi services, and can confirm that we are currently looking at ways in which to improve where the access can be gained. We are glad that you have enjoyed the food, and hope that we can contine to provide you with the standard of food that you have come to expect.
Duvets are something which we are looking at extending, and are available on request.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hucknall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

the room was very comfortable and very clean,the staff were very friendly and helpfull, the food was excellent!!! the marine bar has recently been refurbished and is now very modern and has a good food menu also a good variety of hand pulled beers, the timothy taylor landlord is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrahucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your positive review about the hotel and the Marine Bar, Please let us know when you return so that we can ensure that there is a steady flow of Timothy Taylors waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

although we live in Bridlington, my good friend got married here and booked rooms for everyone so we felt he had to stay :)
the wedding was wonderful, lovely settings, lovely food and a superb wedding venue (might have to drop hints to my husband about renewing our vows!!) anyway back to the hotel...... the room was a lovely double room, we didnt hear any noise from the party still ongoing downstairs, the veiw of the sea was incredible, when you live by the sea you take it for granted, so it opened our eyes to what we were missing!
the breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superstarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your positive review - it is always nice to hear from local residents who have either used our facilities, or have stayed with us. We hope that we will be able to accomodate your renewal of vows, when required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#50 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing