We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Break”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed at the Expanse hotel whilst on a golfing break in Bridlington, I had a single room with sea views that had everything i needed.

the food was very good and varied, the staff were very efficiencent, chatty and humorous- handy when there were 25 golfers wanting equal attention.

The adjoining pub called The Mariners bar was a fun place to spend the evening with a lot of varied events and wonderful selection of cask ales and the usual pumps of lagers and ciders.

Good value for money and will stay again if every 'Up North'

Room Tip: The sea view is an added bonus
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHighburyBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your review about your Golfing Break. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip "up north" and we hope to welcome you and your fellow golfers back, hopefully in the near future to the hotel and the Marine Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Expanse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

My pals and I travelled to Bridlington recently for a weeks golf around the North Yorkshire coast and whilst golf is more important that the hotel, we decided a resomably price alternative... The Expanse Hotel! Well even though the golf was not great, mine especially, the welcome we recieved every evening was fantastic, the staff could not do enough for us.
The food was especially enjoyable and the rooms, well due to the staffs wonderful entertainment, we never saw much of the bedrooms, but they were all you could have wanted and more.
So if you are planning a golf trip away I would not hesitate to recommend this warm and friendly family run hotel. In fact we are considering going again very soon. Thanks guys for making it one hell of a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, the views are breathtaking
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartJones1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review - we are glad that you felt welcome during your Golfing Trip with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed at the weekend in a small dingy’double’ room for which I was charged £110 - not the £36 advertised across the internet. It was a small dreary and oppressive room with a view of the back of the bar. I was told it was a double so I brought my husband along and was charged a further £27 for his breakfast of tea and toast.

The hall carpet is held together with black tape and there were hairs all over the bathroom floor - none of them ours. The shower head leaked all night and the only pleasant part was seeing the hotel recede in the rear view mirror. The room looked nothing like the photos you see advertised it wad dingy and I felt grubby just being in it.

Please don’t ruin your holiday by staying there.

Room Tip: The best holiday in Bridlington starts with your decision Not to stay at the Exspanse
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Please get your facts right. When asked by Reception about your stay, you stated only that your bed “must be a three quarter bed”, which it is not, it is a 4’6” double. As an Poetry Festival performer I am sure that you are not shy. So why post the highly negative review ? Because you wrongly thought you were overcharged ? The rate of £36 per person does not exist, you booked a standard room, not a sea-view room. You booked single in a double at the special rate of £83, your husband then joined you and there were two at £55 each. You did not question this, two full English breakfasts were included in it, it seems that your husband choose not to have full breakfast, so why claim that a charge of £27 was made for tea and toast ? Why did you not raise any complaint with Reception ? We always act on guest comments both positive and negative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and were always available to help. The was excellent with a great choice.A great base for our golf tour.

Room Tip: rooms 1-5 on ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel during your Golfing Break. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

If you have to go to Bridlington i would highly recommend the expance hotel, the rooms are of a good size with all you need for your stay. The food was very good with a good choice on the menu. The marine bar is attached to the hotel and is a good place to while away an evening with some good real ale. During our stay which was 16 of us on a golfing trip the man i roomed with snored realy bad and we asked about the availablility of a single room, this was given to me and there was no charge to me which i thought was superb service, this service was evident in my dealings with the staff, many thanks

Room Tip: A sea view is nice
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markstomlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your positve review about your Golfing Break. We were happy to help with your move to another room (as a result of your snoring companion), and that you enjoyed all of the hotel and Marine Bar's facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Could be a hotel from the 70's! i found the hotel very expensive considering the tiredness of the decor and facilities available. However the staff were great, the breakfast fantastic and the Marine Bar a haven for real ale lovers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzycut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We are sorry that you felt that the hotel could be from the 70's - maybe you meant the 30's as the hotel is Art Deco in line with when it was originally built, We are sorry if you found this old fashioned - we think it is in keeping with its authenticity and keeping its original features. We do also have some more modern features within the hotel and the self catering apartments.
We are glad that you enjoyed the Marine Bar and the real experience, and that other than the decor, you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Warm cordial hospitality from all the staff with excellent views of the sea and Bridlington Bay. All the food was good but the fish cookery of plaice and Red Snapper was as good as you wil find anywhere north of Wheelers in St. James. The staff know that their clientele are elderly and ailing often and cater to that need. I hear there is going to be television intalled which is totally unnecessary in the public areas. Here was a welcome absence of mobile phones and all the rest of the unnecessary paraphernalia you find in some places.

Room Tip: Facing the sea and middle floor
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perryscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your positive response about your trip to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
233 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 117 in Bridlington
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#70 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 117 in Bridlington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing