We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful location”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay at this hotel. We arrived a little early which was no problem as the room was ready for us. Our room (no.16) was very clean and we had a side view of the sea. As mentioned the room was clean and well stocked with tea/coffee items and all other items as advertised. The bathroom was also nicely arranged with razor point and hairdryer sensibly placed (not like some places i've been). Breakfast was a plenty, along side the usual full english a buffet table with fresh fruit, cereals etc. I must finally mention the marine bar and the excellent condition of the cask beers.Overall nice place in a quiet spot of town. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is hard to believe that the room that 16, the room you have enjoyed is the same room decribed as "tired and rundown" on 7th October !
We hope that you will return to an Expanse welcome in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    187
    72
    31
    11
See reviews for
114
243
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you want to stay in Bridlington and want a hotel with rooms overlooking the sea then sadly this is the one for you. I say sadly because the Expanse is about the only choice, the hotel is dated and tired however they charge well over the odds more expensive than my recent stay at the Grinkle Park hotel!
The bedrooms are small and the restaurant just about passes muster, plain food with little imagination.
Like many places these days one never see's the management and consequently the staff never try too hard and there is always a feeling that they are putting up with you.
A family run hotel it says, about time this family passed the hotel on to others who have the finance and knowledge to make this hotel a place to be proud of!

Room Tip: Obviously overlooking the sea but all rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Different people have different views. Whilst you find the Expanse "tired", the management "absent" and that the staff "never try too hard".The posting"great stay" made the day before yours, completely contradicts yours. Your advice on retirement should be treated with the same disbelief. As a family we have invested several millions of pounds and several lifetimes in the Expanse. You are free not to like it, but you don't have to lump it, there are plenty of guest houses you could use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had a lovely break at this hotel, the location is great -on the sea front, all the staff were pleasant and helpful, the food was of excellent quality and good choice too. Our room was spotless and spacious. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Expanse and hope that we will be able to welcome you to the Expanse in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights at the end of August. It was a last minute trip due to my father been in hospital and we needed somewhere to stay. We also wanted to try and have a bit of relax time too.

On arrival we were booked in straight away and the staff were friendly. On making our way to the 4th floor we were surprised how dated this place is. It really is looking tired.

On arrival room it was better decor than the corridors but again quite dated. Nice size TV though. Shower was the worst I have ever been in. It took about 15 minutes to warm up. Informed them on leaving and was told its a long way to travel to the 4th floor for the hot water? Bathroom was clean.

Other problem we had was that the room was really warm. I didn't expect air con but when asked 2 days on the trot for a fan. Told there was none. How can a massive hotel like this not have any fans? It made it uncomfortable.

We didn't go in the restaurant but looked clean and tidy. I think the hotel seems to attract the older clientele. We went downstairs next door which I will put a separate review on for.

All the room service finished at 8pm so couldn't get a sandwich after that.

Conclusion. I feel this is a honest review. Probably would stay again as it is convenient to our needs with family living in Bridlington but would try and get a better price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayp1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your useful report, the day was exceptionally hot and we only have a few fans (sadly they are not often needed) which must have been in use when you asked. We hope to welcome you again to the Expanse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Came to the expance for a weekend away with my partner and toddler . had a fantastic time the room was a lovely standerd . comfy beds loverly bright bathroom with bath and shower and fluffy towels . my daughters cot looked comfy . the reception staff were great as I left my charger at home she was kind enough to find me one . breakfast was fantastic lots of choice . very fast service and loverly staff the sausages were yummy . great location . shirt walk to town all in all we had a great weekend thanks expance we will be returning p.s lift is a bit small especially if you have prams but they do have a store cupboard for them which was great thanks again .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonihall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend with us. Our staff are our particular strength. We hope to welcome you back to the Expanse in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We visited the Expanse for a 50th birthday party. We were a small family group of seven, celebrating with our elderly father - as children we had visited the hotel often which added to the overall sense of occasion. We stayed overnight on a Saturday and had a meal in the restaurant. Upon our arrival, the head receptionist was totally indifferent to our party, she did not welcome us, she didn’t smile and was not at all friendly; we were clearly a great inconvenience to her and this behaviour continued throughout our stay. Everything seemed to be too much trouble; there were big sighs and the actual rolling of eyes on one occasion when we purchased some postcards. Sadly the night porter mirrored this behaviour and was less than friendly when serving late drinks at the bar. The staff serving in the restaurant were the only good thing about our stay. They were very friendly and professional. They made our evening in the restaurant a real celebration and couldn’t do enough for us. We wrote to complain shortly afterwards, as we didn't want to spoil the weekend for our father by complaining at the time, but the response from the hotel manager left us with the distinct impression that he had not even spoken to the head receptionist about her behaviour towards our party and worse, that he may have felt that we had fabricated the events reported. Our last communication with the hotel was ignored. Go for a meal as the restaurant staff are lovely, and the food is simple but well cooked and nicely presented. The head receptionist on the other hand was impolite and surly and we were deeply offended and upset by her behaviour, which was completely unwarranted.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the rooms at the back of the hotel are nicely decorated but this is to make up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
When I replied to you I offered our apologies that you felt that your celebration had been marred and also observed that the our Head Receptionist was normally commended for her helpfulness and friendliness.
You, and your sister, seem to take my response as a personal insult, I can only speak as I find. I am not prepared to enter into protracted correspondence when the other party is obdurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We only stayed for 1 night & I had requested a sea view room which we got on the top floor. The room was a good size but the décor & carpet had seen better days & the bathroom although clean was old fashioned & needed an upgrade. The lift was the smallest I had ever seen & was claustrophobic but as we were on the 4th floor had to use. We didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast which was part self service & part waitress service. Service was slow and despite writing preferences down we got tea instead of coffee & brown toast instead of mixed. Hot food was good when it arrived. The gem was the Marine bar next door which belonged to the hotel but was completely separate - nice food & décor & it was packed on the Saturday night. All in all I've stayed in much nicer hotels for less money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are pleased that you liked the Marine Bar, it is the Expanse's "pub". It was refurbished last year. Each year we spend about £200,000 on improving the hotel and its bedrooms by redecoration, refurbishment and upgrading, such as the lift that you found oppressive. We spent a lot of money to make our lift useable by the disabled, however the net result is that it is far smaller than it used to be.
I hope that you will stay with us again sometime, hopefully for more than one night, and see the changes, we have been altering and improving for 70+ years, and will continue to evole the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
206 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
348 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#49 of 118 in Bridlington
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 118 in Bridlington
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing