We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, functional and clean and a certain english charm”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service, functional and clean and a certain english charm”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The 1st thing I always do is appraise the cleanliness of a hotel room, and this did past muster no problem. The bathroom was spotless. The fixtures / furnishings are probably passed their mid point through life but functional and adequate, I wasn't paying for or expecting a new hotel room. The decoration in the corridors was recent and modern, some work ongoing, its obvious they are investing. Bed was good, a sold nights sleep. The service and friendliness of the restaurant staff was very good, and the food and menu choice was good. Its an interesting place for people watching, with all sorts of guests coming and going, including to functions held their. Good location and Bridlington was a pleasant surprise, much nicer than places like Skegness.

Quaint english charm,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are very pleased that the Expanse fully met your expectations and especially that you found English charm, as well as friendly service. The Expanse is perfect for people watching, we attract a wide spectrum of guests, whilst the view of the sea and beach are unbeatable. We are an independent hotel, so we are constantly refurbishing but this takes time and rooms to vary, once we have "finished" it is time to start again ! We hope to welcome you back to the Expanse and to Bridlington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    196
    72
    31
    12
See reviews for
118
253
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West calder
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Spent 2 nights on business at this hotel, the evening meals and breakfasts were excellent, the staff very friendly. I was in room 25 which had a side view of the sea but was a bit run down, needed refurbishment. The room was cleaned and linen changed, quiet and a good nights sleep was had. One downside was it was difficult to park as the parking restrictions on the prom started at 8-00 am.

Room Tip: If you are fussy ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Every one of our rooms is different, most of our guests like that, but it also means that we are often asked for a specific room. Room 36 is similar to Room 25 but we think that you would prefer it. Refurbishment is ongoing throughout the hotel, however it takes some years, at the end of which it is time to start again ! . Thank you for your helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. At first wasnt sure if the room was 70,s chic or just tired outdated decor. The latter. Tired carpet with stains and the carpet went through into the bathroom with vintage urine spots! The TV wasnt last seen since 1992 but it was great to watch tv like its the 90's. The hotel to be fair is in a great location but our room on the first floor was just worn out. The bath had pubes, the bedside cabinets had worn past the varnish and the wardrobe had fish and chips smell...

They have a function room so expect loud music until late.

We used the bed spreads as floor coverings as the carpet fibres were more pubic than cotton.

Better value staying in a B&B I think.. I wont stay here again but the lounge is comfy and cosy for an afternoon tea.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Gingerkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness at all times. There were no “pubes”.
It is a pity that you felt in necessary such an over exaggerated review because
of an argument with a member of staff. If you had brought your complaint
to us it could have been resolved at the time.
The function room is self-contained and soundproofed, your assertion that it
would be noisy, without any evidence whatever, is typical of this review. In the
same way that you chose to ignore the sign on the corridor saying it was in the
process of refurbishment whilst photographing the old carpet..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My mother and I stayed here in July for 3nights. The staff were fantastic and so helpful. From the moment we booked in the receptionist was extremely helpful, our cases were taken to our rooms (a rare treat these days) by such a lovely porter come handyman the food and service was great and disabled facilities for mum were excellent especially the lift.
I would like to thank the team at the Expanse for the care and consideration we were shown, hopefully mum will be up to another trip in time to come.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed you stay so much. Yours is the sort of experience we aim to give all our guests. We hope to welcome you again to the Expanse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay at this hotel. We arrived a little early which was no problem as the room was ready for us. Our room (no.16) was very clean and we had a side view of the sea. As mentioned the room was clean and well stocked with tea/coffee items and all other items as advertised. The bathroom was also nicely arranged with razor point and hairdryer sensibly placed (not like some places i've been). Breakfast was a plenty, along side the usual full english a buffet table with fresh fruit, cereals etc. I must finally mention the marine bar and the excellent condition of the cask beers.Overall nice place in a quiet spot of town. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is hard to believe that the room that 16, the room you have enjoyed is the same room decribed as "tired and rundown" on 7th October !
We hope that you will return to an Expanse welcome in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you want to stay in Bridlington and want a hotel with rooms overlooking the sea then sadly this is the one for you. I say sadly because the Expanse is about the only choice, the hotel is dated and tired however they charge well over the odds more expensive than my recent stay at the Grinkle Park hotel!
The bedrooms are small and the restaurant just about passes muster, plain food with little imagination.
Like many places these days one never see's the management and consequently the staff never try too hard and there is always a feeling that they are putting up with you.
A family run hotel it says, about time this family passed the hotel on to others who have the finance and knowledge to make this hotel a place to be proud of!

Room Tip: Obviously overlooking the sea but all rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Different people have different views. Whilst you find the Expanse "tired", the management "absent" and that the staff "never try too hard".The posting"great stay" made the day before yours, completely contradicts yours. Your advice on retirement should be treated with the same disbelief. As a family we have invested several millions of pounds and several lifetimes in the Expanse. You are free not to like it, but you don't have to lump it, there are plenty of guest houses you could use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had a lovely break at this hotel, the location is great -on the sea front, all the staff were pleasant and helpful, the food was of excellent quality and good choice too. Our room was spotless and spacious. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Expanse and hope that we will be able to welcome you to the Expanse in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
371 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
432 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 118 in Bridlington
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing