We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Myself, my mum and my 2 sons were booked in for Sunday lunch. Both my mum and various members of my family are regular visitors to the Expanse and stay regularly. Firstly the service was great and the staff were very helpful. The food was lovely and all plates were cleared. Its great because you can choose from just a single course up to 3 courses which suited all 4 of us.

The quality of food was fantastic as was the variety and choice. My mum is very bad on her feet an unable to walk any great distance and we asked a couple of members of staff that my mum knew if there was anywhere in the town where we could hire a wheelchair from. After a few enquiries we were told because of the time of year the hotel was fairly quiet and allowed us to hire a wheelchair directly from them, even though we weren't stopping there.

We would like to thank Chelsea and Stephen for all there kindness which made our holiday complete.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your meal and that our staff were helpful and understanding towards your mum. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    187
    72
    31
    11
See reviews for
114
243
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I planned to meet for the weekend in Bridlington, as they live in Hartlepool and we live in Staffordshire it seemed a good location to meet. I was a little dubious about staying at the Expanse after reading some poor review about the staff and quality of the rooms. However, our friends had already booked at the Expanse so we decided to go along with them.
Was it as good or as bad as the reviews that I had read?
well, let's start with the reception: the receptionist on arrival was perfectly amiable and very helpful. The restaurant: we only had the included breakfast here and on the first morning we all had the full English which I must say was excellent. there was plenty of tea, coffee and toast delivered to the table. My wife thought that the bacon could have done with a little more cooking but, you will never please everyone. The staff were very polite, happy and helpful.
The Rooms: Dirty? Tired? in need of a refurb? Not a chance! Our room was fantastic with a balcony and sea view. Everything was clean and tidy and the maids were in every day. The bathroom was modern and spotless. Our friends room was equally as nice but no sea view.
Downstairs there were a couple of day rooms which were quiet, comfortable and warm should you wish to use them. The Marine bar is on the ground floor and although it is open to the public was fantastic. Serving real ale was a huge bonus for me as I don't do lager. The food in the bar was very nice and reasonably priced. The staff here were also cheerful and pleasant.
So Mr manager what do you need to do? Take no notice of the moaners you will get them everywhere and they will never be happy. Keep running your hotel the way it is it's great and so are your staff. Would we stay there again? You bet! Oh! The free wi fi was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teggauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It can be so much more effort to write a positive review, than to put off until there is something to complain about. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and also the Marine Bar. It is usually the staff, not the fixtures, that make a hotel. Pleased to hear that we have achieved this. We hope to see you all in the future, don't forget that you will always get the best rate if you book direct with us rather than through another site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Expanse was the chosen venue for a family event and as such, a number of us selected to stay there for sheer convenience and the compelling location. I found certain staff members to be lovely - warm, hard-working and caring. Kudos to Chelsea. Others were almost the opposite. A member of the reception staff did not even speak when spoken to!
The rooms varied a lot. Number 3 was lovely but mine 14A was shabby. Unclean, tired and no way worth the amount I paid! Quite why we paid such fluctuating amounts is also questionable. The hair dryer had no nozzle (someone managed to locate one but seemed aggrieved to have to do so), the shower curtain was hanging off, there was hair (not mine!) on the tiles...
I travel a lot and have stayed in places far better and far worse. Proportionately priced. This was off the scale of disproportion. V disappointed.
I must however commend the event planning as the evening was exactly as my Grandmother wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickygorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Location Location wherever you travel throughout the world you pay extra for a beautiful view. What better panorama than Bridlington Bay with miles of sandy beaches and a sea that changes colour every day.
Your friends had a side view therefore the room was cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The 1st thing I always do is appraise the cleanliness of a hotel room, and this did past muster no problem. The bathroom was spotless. The fixtures / furnishings are probably passed their mid point through life but functional and adequate, I wasn't paying for or expecting a new hotel room. The decoration in the corridors was recent and modern, some work ongoing, its obvious they are investing. Bed was good, a sold nights sleep. The service and friendliness of the restaurant staff was very good, and the food and menu choice was good. Its an interesting place for people watching, with all sorts of guests coming and going, including to functions held their. Good location and Bridlington was a pleasant surprise, much nicer than places like Skegness.

Quaint english charm,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are very pleased that the Expanse fully met your expectations and especially that you found English charm, as well as friendly service. The Expanse is perfect for people watching, we attract a wide spectrum of guests, whilst the view of the sea and beach are unbeatable. We are an independent hotel, so we are constantly refurbishing but this takes time and rooms to vary, once we have "finished" it is time to start again ! We hope to welcome you back to the Expanse and to Bridlington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West calder
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Spent 2 nights on business at this hotel, the evening meals and breakfasts were excellent, the staff very friendly. I was in room 25 which had a side view of the sea but was a bit run down, needed refurbishment. The room was cleaned and linen changed, quiet and a good nights sleep was had. One downside was it was difficult to park as the parking restrictions on the prom started at 8-00 am.

Room Tip: If you are fussy ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Every one of our rooms is different, most of our guests like that, but it also means that we are often asked for a specific room. Room 36 is similar to Room 25 but we think that you would prefer it. Refurbishment is ongoing throughout the hotel, however it takes some years, at the end of which it is time to start again ! . Thank you for your helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. At first wasnt sure if the room was 70,s chic or just tired outdated decor. The latter. Tired carpet with stains and the carpet went through into the bathroom with vintage urine spots! The TV wasnt last seen since 1992 but it was great to watch tv like its the 90's. The hotel to be fair is in a great location but our room on the first floor was just worn out. The bath had pubes, the bedside cabinets had worn past the varnish and the wardrobe had fish and chips smell...

They have a function room so expect loud music until late.

We used the bed spreads as floor coverings as the carpet fibres were more pubic than cotton.

Better value staying in a B&B I think.. I wont stay here again but the lounge is comfy and cosy for an afternoon tea.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Gingerkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness at all times. There were no “pubes”.
It is a pity that you felt in necessary such an over exaggerated review because
of an argument with a member of staff. If you had brought your complaint
to us it could have been resolved at the time.
The function room is self-contained and soundproofed, your assertion that it
would be noisy, without any evidence whatever, is typical of this review. In the
same way that you chose to ignore the sign on the corridor saying it was in the
process of refurbishment whilst photographing the old carpet..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My mother and I stayed here in July for 3nights. The staff were fantastic and so helpful. From the moment we booked in the receptionist was extremely helpful, our cases were taken to our rooms (a rare treat these days) by such a lovely porter come handyman the food and service was great and disabled facilities for mum were excellent especially the lift.
I would like to thank the team at the Expanse for the care and consideration we were shown, hopefully mum will be up to another trip in time to come.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed you stay so much. Yours is the sort of experience we aim to give all our guests. We hope to welcome you again to the Expanse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
206 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
348 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#49 of 118 in Bridlington
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 118 in Bridlington
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing