We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad lack of staff”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sad lack of staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I decided to go in for coffee and sandwiches. There was no one at reception. We rang the bell a few times to no avail. The chef eventually put his head out of the kitchens to say he didn't know where the receptionist had gone. He wasn't in the least interested in helping us. After at about 20 mins there was still no sign of the receptionist so we left. Customer service in this establishment leaves a lot to be desired.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I am very surprised that you gave the hotel a damaging score of 1, when you were neither a gust nor customer of the hotel.
We are sorry that you had to wait. Our Reception is manned 24 hours.
When you called the Receptionist had been called away urgently to help a gust. She returned in less than 10 minutes (cctv), although it may have seemed longer to you.
You were clearly exasperated otherwise you would not have taken a post card, without paying for it, and written an anonymous note on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    196
    72
    31
    12
See reviews for
118
253
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visit family twice a year and usually stay at the Expanse. It is stuck in the 70's which has always been part of it's charm. However unasked for 6.30 automated alarm calls both days was a bit too much. Nothing done after first complaint. Breakfast is great but that hasn't changed anywhere. Dinner is dreadful a menu from 40 years ago at today's prices. Most of the wines on the list weren't available. If I wasn't with my wife's elderly relatives I would have complained like hell.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I am very sorry about your unwanted alarm calls, we have had a problem with the telephone system, which is now rectified. "Stuck in the 70's" ? No. Our welcome has remained, but the building, bedrooms & public rooms has changed massively since i started in the 70's. This Winter we have re-modeled 8 bathrooms and still more bedrooms. As for dinner, we have 3 dinner menus, table d'hote (traditional), Option 2 Dine (modern) and A' la Carte. You could have eaten from any of these 3, we aim to offer a choice for all our guests, even those who enjoy a "menu from the 70's".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a coach tour. Beautiful bedroom with sea view and balcony. Excellent food with great choice of menu. Friendly helpful staff. Thank you to the chef for helping me with getting me on the internet. Lots of lounges to relax in. A very relaxing holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Expanse and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'm not prone to complaining for the sake of it but we were sadly very disappointed with our one night at this hotel. The first sign that our room (an executive double with sea view) was going to be a let down was the hole in the door, it was as if it had been punched in and then filled with a lock, bizarre! The room itself wasn't a bad size, maybe just a tad small for an executive double. The decor was not our taste at all, very busy and quite old fashioned, would have looked bigger and fresher if it had been done out in nice neutral colours. The small balcony was very tired looking and grubby, there was a small table and two chairs but a disgusting dirty ashtray, I can't think of any excuse for not cleaning this. The bed was a good size and comfortable enough but unfortunately the pillows were old, flat and smelled bad, which ruined my sleep. At first glance we thought the bathroom was very nice, looked very modern and was a decent size. Unfortunately, after a closer inspection we found broken wobbly floor tiles and stray hairs in the toilet and bath. Also, when we used the shower it leaked onto the floor which was annoying. We were looking forward to breakfast but again, pretty disappointed. The bacon was undercooked, the fried bread inedible and the black pudding unbelievably thin (like a wafer!). The coffee was nice and the service okay but that's it for positives I'm afraid.

I'd read that there was restricted parking before we got there so it wasn't a surprise, I just want to echo what other people have said about it being a shame the hotel can't come up with a solution as it was pretty annoying having to get up and go out in the rain at 8am to put another ticket on the pay & display over the road. We were also pretty annoyed to be charged £11.20 for two small glasses of (cheap) wine at the bar...shocking.

Overall it's fair to say we expected a lot more for our £120/night. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Br00nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
"shocking", it certainly is, the price you paid is for two 250ml (third of a bottle each) glasses, if you consider those small I too am shocked. The "hole in the door" is 2" in diameter, it is a key hole, not "punched in", its metal surround was missing. Room 30 was refurbished 4 years ago, and is one of the most popular in the hotel, there is no pattern on the wall coverings whatever, I must assume that by "neutral" you mean painted plaster. Bathroom, I can find a single hairline crack only, not "brocken wobbly floor tiles". Parking, there are 12 free open parking spaces at the hotel plus 4 chargeable garages. We have bought the adjacent detached house and now have permission to create a larger carpark.The street to the rear is unrestricted and free. The meter that you used can permit parking from a chargeable afternoon, through the free night and into the following day. Had you read the sign you would have seen that. I am sorry that you find the hotel "charmless", we each have our opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We did not realize it was a holiday weekend in the UK so had an issue finding a place to book 3 rooms. The hotel was very accommodating right from the start. I requested a room for my Mother with a shower (not a tub/shower combo) and also enquired about parking. They took care of all of this and corresponded with me promptly. Staff made the check in very easy. We had one room which was smaller but had been recently remodeled (very nice). One single room for my Mom with shower - small but very comfortable and a chair by the window where she could watch the sea. One bigger room which had not yet been remodeled. All in all it was a very positive experience. It is a little bit of a walk up into town but you can go all the way on the promenade so a great walk. The hotel had nice areas for inside seating (if you had to stay indoors). The Marine Pub was an added bonus - good food and close by.
The morning breakfast (which was included) was very good.

Room Tip: Any room on the sea front would have a great view. Watch our for the doors to the stairs or being c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyDArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are pleased that you had a positive experience and hope that you enjoyed your trip to the UK and Bridlington. We hope that if you return to the UK you will pay us a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed midweek on bed and breakfast basis, the hotel bedroom was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The public rooms are pleasant and bright. The cooked breakfast was excellent, the staff are polite, friendly and efficient. The adjoining Marine bar is a real ale pub with evening entertainmen - a nice place to relax and have a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. This Winter we refurbished/remodelled 8 bathrooms, and refurbished still more rooms. Don't be shy to ask for a "refurbished room", if we have one available then you are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Once again my partner and I have just spent a long wonderful weekend at the Expanse Hotel, Bridlington. Nothing is too much trouble for them, lovely friendly staff all through the hotel, making you feel very well looked after. The food is superb and if nothing on the menu is to your liking the chef will try to accommodate your requests. We had a lovely light and airy room and although we hadn't booked a sea view we got one!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is not the cheapest hotel by far but it is excellent value for money for what you get.

Room Tip: Book a sea view the location is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annjan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed you long weekend at the Expanse. Thank you for your posative comments about the staff, we are fortunate to have them. We hope to welcome you back to the Expanse in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
371 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#21 of 118 in Bridlington
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing