We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaview” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Beeston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seaview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Another trip to Brid and the Expanse. Lots of the rooms have and are being refurbished. It is a comfortable hotel and doesnt pretend to be anything else. We always go for a room with a seaview. What can be nicer than to see and hear the sea at all times of your stay. The Dining room staff are superb ! Very friendly and helpful ! Thank you Chelsea and Steve !

Room Tip: Seaview is worth it. If elderly or infirm ask for a lower floor as the lift is tiny . Have a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    185
    72
    31
    11
See reviews for
112
240
36
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was visiting Bridlington (from Birmingham) for the first time in 30 years with my Mum and sister. Unfortunately my son was unwell so my wife couldn't join me. I booked a double room. When I arrived I found I hadn't been allocated a sea view room so asked to be moved which was actioned without delay. The room was recently refurbished, with a very comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. The only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast which was very much all you could ask for in a "Full English" - my only negative was that the fried bread was too oily!! I paid £98 for the room for two people to include breakfast. As I say, my wife couldn't accompany me so I did ask if there was a possible reduction and I was give £10 off for breakfast, I couldn't have expected any more really. So all in all, a very pleasant visit, we all enjoyed ourselves and I wouldn't hesitate staying at the Expanse again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Having stayed in a back corner room(very spacious) the previous time, we opted to spend the extra and go for a sea view room this time. Don't bother. Room is tiny, and you can't swing a cat. Having paid half that for five star hotels in Europe, it certainly wasn't worth it. Could have had the same ocean view from the breakfast room the next morning. Breakfast was a good and tasty choice, with friendly staff though. Should move the breakfast staff to the reception desk, as the orange fake tanned reception staff very rude and uninterested in helping guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a back corner room, walk out front if you want to see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank budgetfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My title is taken from a previous reviewer - which is exactly right - I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of my room and the friendliness of the staff (particularly the restaurant staff). I was just using the hotel as a one night base, having completed the C2C 'Way of the Roses' cycle ride - so I wasn't expecting 5 star - and the outside appearance of the hotel certainly doesn't support that thought either - it is tired and in need of renovation - but the interior was better - and our room was absolutely fine - far better than expected. This hotel is perfectly fine if you are just looking for some short stay accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HondaSP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights b&b,taking advantage of the Sunday Special Offer for one of the nights and really enjoyed our stay,particularly as we had an excellent sea view room on the second floor and the breakfast was the best we have had for a very long time.
We had our evening meal in the Marine Bar which is part of the hotel, and the food was very good and home made. There is a good selection of beers in this CAMRA pub.
This hotel has been modernised and is clean, but retains it's old world charm and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
One note I would make for the management is the outside terrace area on the first floor is a great area to sit and enjoy the view out to sea, but it is not inviting as the tiled floor and the whole area needs a power washer on it and the frames around the glass need painting.
Visitors drop tab ends and cig packets on the floor,but maybe that's because it's dirty in the first place.This area is a usp for the hotel and should be made to look the part.
Having said that, we had a great time and will definitely book another stay.

Room Tip: Balconies are available on request with some sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandadcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

booked in for one night, Monday to Tuesday.
Room spot on room 36 cracking view laid there in bed @ 5 am looking out as dawn broke.
Breakfast was good plenty of choice. Staff really helpful and will definitely be back later in the year

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gambia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night and could not fault the hotel in any way. Our room was very good twin beds lovely bathroom. No view as such but we did not go for the view. The bar area and dining room are excellent lovely furnishings and fabulous views out to sea. Breakfast was super loads of fruit and cereals, yogurts etc and cooked meal was one of the best I have had in along time. We would definately book this hotel again. All the staff were friendly and helpful .
Looking forward to another visit later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
8.9 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#35 of 121 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing