We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expanse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Monarch Hotel(Bridlington)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamborough Manor(Flamborough)
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flaneburg Hotel(Flamborough)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (626)
    Filter reviews
    626 results
    Traveller rating
    278
    223
    81
    31
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    278
    223
    81
    31
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsmarine barsea viewcounting housedirectors boxthe secret gardenself cateringsea frontpay and displaysilver servicerestaurant staffnorth baylovely hotelfunction rooman upgradelounge areaflamborough headwalk in shower
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    396 - 401 of 626 reviews
    Reviewed 20 August 2014

    We stayed for three nights in the Directors Box (self catering apartment). Absolutely beautiful views down the promenade and the sea, very spacious, comfortable bed but very dated and could do with a deep clean and in the sun room all the windows need replacing and the door onto the balcony needs attention as we found it awkward to open and close. Staff very helpful especially Elliott. We would use this hotel again but maybe another apartment (unless the faults in the Directors Box were rectified) or possibly one of the suites.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank TigerHull_uk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2014

    That this hotel is highly rated is evidenced by the fact it was almost fully booked about a week before we went. As previous reviewers have said - it is indeed a perfect location, right on the seafront and thankfully mid-way between a gloriously lovely Sewerby and the hustle and bustle of Bridlington itself. We stayed in one of the superior rooms - which I would highly recommend. It was a good size with a king size bed and all you need in the well-equipped bathroom. It could not be described as 'dated' or 'tired' as a couple of the standard rooms have been by other reviews. A bit more expensive though
    I have always wanted a rating code for hotels called a 'z' code which indicates how quiet your night is likely to be and if it is actually possible to get any sleep, since presumably that is why we book into hotels. 'zzzzz' means totally silent - and a good night's sleep guaranteed. The first night at the Expanse maybe got 4 z's. Good double-glazing and no traffic noise even though we were over the road. I had asked for the quietest room. Saturday night however, and this probably applies to most hotels of this size and calibre anywhere - is wedding night !!! Our room was directly above the room where the disco was being held and above the terrace where the smokers can go. Inevitably, the noise level is pretty high (after all its a wedding !!) and by the time the smokers hit the terrace they have had a few drinks and have no idea that anyone is trying to sleep directly above them. I kept calm and at about 11.00 called the reception to ask what time the revellers might be leaving, (at this stage I had the TV on full volume to drown the inevitable bass thump of the music and was probably making more noise than the wedding party) The very polite night receptionist was extremely sorry and it was likely to be about 12.30am. This might have been OK but, again this applies to most hotels, the following 2-3 hours were filled with endless doors banging as either wedding guests or other guests returned for the night. I swear someone almost next door came in and out at least a dozen times in two hours ! Hotel bedroom doors are on a strange hinge that self-close - and they cannot do this without a last minute bang as the spring finally releases. The anticipation is worse than the event as you hear the door open - and then lie there waiting for the final closure !! No 'z's'.
    I should add that most of the hotel guests we saw here at breakfast were definitely mostly over 70 - so maybe this does not bother them.
    So - beware if booking in on a Saturday. Ask how close you will be to the party room and definitely take ear plugs.
    Oh and another thing. There is a Mr Grumpy in the Breakfast Room, do not, at your peril, arrive close on to 9.30 when they stop serving. Apart from him all the staff at the Expanse are truly excellent. Mr Grumpy was probably having a bad day - and just didn't like the look of us - as he was clearly very popular with all the guests, most of whom return several times a year.

    Room Tip: Avoid being anywhere near the Function Room on a Saturday night.
    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank John H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2014

    Stopped at the hotel for two nights and it is excellent, the evening meals were lovely along with a good choice for breakfast, our room had a seaview and the beds were comfortable , we will definitely return to the Expanse again, and also not forgetting the friendly staff

    Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Jimmy19482014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 August 2014

    Really like this hotel.The food in bar is very good also the breakfast.my friends and I have returned for 13 years on the same weekend and we have the same rooms.Beautiful sea views but some of the rooms are dated.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and balcony
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank 43viv
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 August 2014

    We stayed the one night Sunday. We had booked a suite for elderly parents as we were busy all day and could not spend time with them. The suite was spacious and well equipped. We booked a standard double which was at the rear of the hotel, it was clean and a reasonable size the room was a little tired. The breakfast was amazing all you could want from cereals, fruit. yoghurt to full English. The staff were friendly and helpful. We feel it was a little over priced for the facilities available although it is a seafront hotel in easy waling distance to the town.

    Room Tip: Sea view or suite
    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank rtf1943
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews