We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing break”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Reviewed 31 July 2014

just returned from the monarch what a surprise not what you would think . it was very nice maybe a little dated but wow it was a lovely place we stayed two nights and had a loverly time the staff were so attentive they couldnt do enough and the breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice will certainly go again

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank EB-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

For once I found myself on the coast for a business meeting where I needed accommodation close to the meeting.
The company I use to book my hotel said the nearest recommended hotel was 20 miles away. So I decided to take a leap into the unknown and arranged a stay at the monarch.
The hotel was clean, friendly and efficiently run. They even accommodated an early breakfast for myself due to an early meeting.
In the evening I found they was some light entertainment in the form of a singer/comedian/magician who was actually pretty good. Although saying that the barman was pretty funny in his own right.
I would stay here again, if not for the entertainment, but a nice break from the usual business type hotels.
Good work guys keep it up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bingonasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Myself and my partner have just got back from a 2 day excursion on a National Holiday break to Bridlington. On arrival at the Monarch Hotel our check in time was 2.30pm our coach arrived at approx 1pm...Our luggage were taken by staff to our rooms and we were able to go explore the town till our rooms were ready. I asked if it would be possible for a sea view but wed already been allocated a room that wasnt a sea view (should have rang ahead and asked) on arriving back to check in to our rooms, the manager (Steve) had a last minute cancellation of a sea view room and very kindly swapped rooms for me. The staff were very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble for them....Our sea view room was situated on the 5th floor, was very bright and clean, with a beautiful view of the beach and the sea, the hotel is a bit dated but for what i paid i definitely couldnt complain about that. Our evening meal and breakfast were included as part of our trip, our evening meal was a choice of starter, main meal and pudding and had choice for everyone, vegetarian and vegan option also, breakfast was a choice of a cooked breakfast or kippers, as much toast as you could eat and a selection of cereals, jams, coffee, tea and orange juice, again something for everyone. The bar is open all the time, there wasnt any entertainment on as national holidays hadnt booked any, but that wasnt the hotels doing.....Bridlington itself has a lovely little fishing harbour, a fantastic beach, funfair, amusements etc....and would also be great if you were holidaying with children, and the boiling hot weather for was a bonus for us that made our break most enjoyable. I will definitely be staying at the Monarch Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and ask for a sea view if possible, the view from the front of hotel is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the monarch with my mum on a weekend coach trip and found the staff were all helpful and friendly and the hotel was comfortable. We enjoyed the food which we chose at each meal time instead of having to order at breakfast for evening dinner when you are not always sure what you want. The service was quick and tea and coffee was served at the table. We both asked for single rooms and mum was given a spacious double. My single was a good size with shower that worked well, though I have to say the bed squeaked like it had a nest of mice in it so I pity the people who slept in the room below as I can never keep still.

The only down side was that for my mum who cannot walk too far without a rest it was a way for her to walk to main area as the land train is not operating at that part of Bridlington at the moment due to building works and there isn't a bus that takes you to the main beach. However once you get there the land train is running all the way up to Sewerby Hall and as a bonus if you use the train you get a discount into the grounds and 10% off at the café if you show your train ticket.

We had a singer/magician come comedian on the Saturday night who was fine for the older age group who wanted songs and memories from their younger days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seeyounextyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were greeted very warmly and efficiently.Our room was spacious ,comfortable ,with a lovely balcony. Sadly it was lacking all the touches one would expect from an establishment charging their rates!! Breakfast was nice,served efficiently and pleasantly. The location is excellent fof the Spa and harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank denoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay at our Hotel.

I’m pleased you received a warm and efficient welcome by our team and that the room was comfortable. Steve and his team at The Monarch work hard to provide good service and hospitality.

As you mentioned the hotel boasts a great location, especially for both the Spa and Harbour.

Disappointed you felt our product was overpriced as we work hard to ensure we offer both competitive and honest prices for our rooms.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we trust you had an enjoyable time in Bridlington.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just had a week at Monarch with a coach trip. The hotel is a short walk from the town and harbour. Our room was clean and compact, it could do with redecorating, the sea view was interesting. The food was fairly standard. The restaurant staff were very good always cheerful, polite and efficient. The hotel manager and our tour manager were excellent always on hand to help anyone. The public rooms were clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, all rooms were twin bedded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I’m pleased you had an enjoyable stay and were well looked after by our team.

Thank you for your feedback which is always gratefully received and should you decide to stay with us again please be advised we also have singles, doubles, and family rooms in addition to twins, subject to availability.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is well situated facing the sea, a short walk from the town and harbour.We had a beautifully clean room with a very comfy bed. All the public areas were very clean and airy. The food was always good, hot and plenty of it with very quick, friendly service. Cheerful banter in the dining room from the head waiter made mealtimes a pleasure. The suggestion of a visit to the old town made our visit, the craft and art galleries/shops on the High Street are well worth a visit and compliment the traditional sea front attractions.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter, excellent sea view rooms at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Monarch.

Steve and his team work hard to offer good, efficient service and hospitality and will be pleased to read your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel on your next visit to Bridlington.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
615 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
15.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
9.4 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 28 South Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing