We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class stay with first class service.”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first class stay with first class service.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here for a long weekend,we all had single rooms which were bigger than expected,they could easily pass for a double and the en-suites were more than big enough.The service at breakfast and the food itself was worth the trip alone,plenty to choose from and piping hot.All the staff couldnt do enough for us and always with a smile.Without doubt worth another stay,(hope our rooms will be available!!!).

Room Tip: sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    74
    36
    19
    12
See reviews for
40
86
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have recently returned from a family holiday at The Monarch (2 adults, 2 children & 2 OAP's). The hotel certanly lived up to it's reputation as the best that Bridlington has to offer. One room had a seaview and a balcony whilst our family room was actually two adjoining rooms at the side, all were clean and comfortable and reasonably quiet. Breakfast was at a reserved table and was nice, plenty of choice and waiter service. All staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a good holiday. on day three of our stay the only lift in the hotel broke down (apparently 1st time in 7 years) and as our daughter has mobility problems and is totally dependent on her wheelchair this could have been a problem however Richard and Corry on reception came up with a plan that satisfied our requirements, we could have moved to a different hotel for the time the lift was broken however all the staff agreed that they would carry our daughter and her equipment up and down the stairs when we required, this ensured our party was not split up. Lift fixed after 48 hours. Well done to all concerned. All the staff appeared to treat the hotel as if it was their own family hotel and not part of a chain and took pride in ensuring that all thir guests were satisfied, even the grumpiest guests were given a friendly smile. There was entertainment provided on three nights. The hotel is ideally located on the seafront with excellent access to the beach and promanade, Bridlington harbour and town centre are a few minutes walk away and the spa theatre is just across the road. We are certainly looking forward to going back in 12 months.
Thank you everybody at the Monarch for a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: There are onlyt two rooms with a balcony ask to be given one of these the view is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CeeBee1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we stopped at this hotel for one night , we arrived at 5pm on a friday teatime,first impressions ,,,,,, dated ,,, we went up to our bedroom on the 3rd floor on a lift that was like something from the olden days didnt feel safe ,,,,. our room was a seaview, if you could see the sea as the windows were filthy,,,bedroom ok very dated and needed a facelift,,,,bathroom very dated and felt like we were in a nursing home,,, flat screen tv ok if you had good eye sight as so small . we had a drink in the bar area ,was ok but only us two in on a friday night,,,,,, dinning room very dated.we didnt eat here so cant say what the food was like . but was offered a breakfast next morning for the price of £7 each , were you can walk up the road to all the cafes and get a large full english, tea,and toast for £3.50 each,please be aware if you are going to stop here and want a lie in you have no chance if you have a front room as they are doing a lot of work on the beach just across the road and start drilling and banging at 7.30 in a morning and this was a saturday so dont know what time in the week they start,,, the beds were nice and clean and quite comfy , but the pillows were quite small , we are in our early 50is and have stopped in a few hotels we were let down with this one as it caters for a lot of oap coach trips, and hadnt a lot going for us

Room Tip: if you like a seaview ok but be aware of building work on the beach every morning early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just got home from 7days of fun at the monarch we booked family room 8, which was a room within a room and was ideal for us, Staff were brilliant so helpful and really couldn't do enough for us it was my parents birthdays whilst there they arranged for flowers and balloons for us and even gave them cards from all the staff such a nice touch Breakfast was very nice and we didn't leave the table hungry, Entertainment in the evenings was a mix one night pipping band another night singer, magician plus he threw in a couple of jokes ideal for all the family

Room Tip: Rm 4 is a twin with balcony sea view Rm 8 family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed at the monarch for 2 nights as part of our hol covering Scarborough, filey and York. we decided to stay in england this year as the weather is so good.we did it by train instead of having to take the car. due to train times i emailed the Monarch to see if we could have our room earlier, thuis was all sorted and we were in by 12pm, which was great. the room and en suite were clean and spacious. we had a lovely sea view. an iron and ironing board were provided along with a fan. breakfast was nice and an allocated table was provided during our stay, so no queuing. the hotel is in a good location on the sea front within easy access to everything. the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. was very happy with our stay

Room Tip: front rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a lovely stay with fantastic sea views, the room was very nice, well proportioned and was very bright and cheery. The only thing I think could have made my stay perfect would be WIFI, I was given the pass code but it just wouldn't load on neither my phone or my partners. Smart phones need wifi really as it zaps the battery otherwise.
I will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunkiedoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull - Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

just returned from the monarch what a surprise not what you would think . it was very nice maybe a little dated but wow it was a lovely place we stayed two nights and had a loverly time the staff were so attentive they couldnt do enough and the breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice will certainly go again

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EB-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#22 of 117 in Bridlington
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#16 of 117 in Bridlington
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 117 in Bridlington
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 28 South Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing