We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay of 2013, and definately not the last.”

Balmoral Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balmoral Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from Sunday 17th Feb to Wednesday 20th Feb on a bed and breakfast basis.

On this visit we secured our usual seaward facing spacious room which was excellent.

The Balmoral Hotel is an ideal base camp being positioned fairly centrally and a few minutes walk from the town centre.

Meal wise you are not left wanting. The breakfast is everything you need from cereals and fruit juice right through to the full fry up with fried bread if you dare.

For further information on walks and places to eat around Bridlington, please see my other reviews. The only addition that I would make to those is to check out the Marine Bar (adjoining the Expanse Hotel). Recently refurbished serving good food and beer and is in the Good Beer guide 2013.

If you have any questions about this review or Bridlington in general, please ask.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank streeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

Late booking day before New Year's Eve. Accommodated myself and partner and mum and dad. Booking easy, checked in very quick with a lovely man who showed us to lift and explained where rooms were. Lovely clean room, bedding smelled beautiful and clean. New Year's Eve dinner started with sherry in the function room followed by plated buffet with as much beautifully cooked meats as you needed. Also sandwich buffet at 11.30 just before New Year countdown. Entertainment in lounge was good with no queuing to get a seat (could have done with some party poppers or something to make new year go with more of a bang). Breakfast Half hour later next day with superb service n tasty choices as much as you wanted. New Year's Day menu 5 courses beautifully cooked, got traditional Scottish home made steak pie dinner for New Year's Day, but other options. Entertainment could have been better, lovely young singer singing songs from musicals but for last night people were saying needed someone more upbeat, and after 5 course meal we really needed to move and dance!! Overall excellent value for money, would recommend for location, service, good food and value for money.




  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridlingtonforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I spent Christmas at The Balmoral Hotel, Bridlington from 23rd to 27th December. We spent Christmas there two years ago. Although the carpets might have a stain or two the staff cannot do enough for one. The bedlinen and towels were clean. We were greeted in our room with a card telling us of the itinery for our stay together with a box of chocs. O.k. we only had a small piece of soap in the bathroom and I did miss having shampoo or bath gel. Did wonder whether the management might consider putting dispensers on the wall. Each evening we had pre-dinner sherry and a glass of Lambruisco with our five course meal. No choice of soup but they were up market ones, not boring mushroom or tomato. Choice of starter, main course and sweet followed by cheese and biscuits,
tea/coffee, baileys and chocs. Good portions of everything and served by pleasant staff. We only had cheese and biscuits one night as we felt we didn't need it on others.
My husband had a slight mishap on Christmas Eve but while we were waiting for Paramedics the chef brought us sandwiches for lunch, which was "on the house". Good family run friendly hotel. Well worth the money we paid and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in room 1, but although it is at the back it is a quiet room and you can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel was a hotel of contradictions, the meals were very good, but the cleanliness of the hotel left a lot to be desired, the bathroom was only cleaned once during our 5 day stay and bizarrely, there was a perfectly good hair dryer on the bathroom wall, a nice bath but no shower attachment or anything else with which to wash and rinse your hair. The bar was very often left unattended and we had to wait quite a while to get served. Breakfasts were very good but sometimes they were served, not all that hot. The decor in the bedrooms was really nice, wallpaper for a change and the bed linen was very clean, towels were sometimes so worn out that they ripped as soon as you touched them. The recepition was left unmanned for most of the day so if you needed any help or information it was very hard to get hold of a member of staff, there was someone there for part of the night but once again difficult to get hold of On one occasion the girl running the bar was the only member of staff in the hotel so it was left to her to do everything. This is not a hotel that I plan to revisit anytime soon.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a part seaview so it's really a question of luck but rooms above the entrance ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

went there again after 3 previous visits given a great room looking over the sea food fantastic as usual the entertaiment great and the staff a pleasure well worth a visit u wont be dissapointed went on my own but coach party in which added to atmoshere

Room Tip: ask for room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights 5th 6th and 7th August.

Managed to secure a seaward facing room at the front of the hotel on a B&B basis. Many of the others in the hotel were there as part of a coach trip and were on a breakfast and evening meal basis.

Large fried breakfasts each morning ensured that hunger pangs were kept at bay. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Each order is taken individually by the waitress and delivered within a reasonably quick time slot from the kitchen.

I haven't eaten an evening meal in the restaurant for many years, but Michael who runs the hotel is an excellent chef so the evening meals will be good.

All in all another comfortable stay and I will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just had a week's holiday at this hotel, it was a very enjoyable stay, food was very good and evening meal was good value 5, course's for £12.00 well worth it. Really near to all aminities not far from harbour.Will be going back percy1964.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank percy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#75 of 117 in Bridlington
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#17 of 117 in Bridlington
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#71 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 3-6 Fort Terrace, Bridlington YO15 2PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Balmoral' Hotel is situated in Bridlington, East Yorkshire, 25 yards from Bridlington town centre, 25 yards from the seafront, next door to the Leisure World. All bedrooms are heated with en-suite, equipped with hair dryers, colour TV's, tea and coffee making facilities. Our Restaurant offers Silver Service and we're renowned for the quality of our food. We also have a bar, lounge and a seperate TV lounge and offer entertainment 6 nights a week. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing