We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maintained their Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #62 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maintained their Standard”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was our second visit to the Royal Hotel and once again it was a resounding success. The owners had made a point of noting our requirements from the last visit and ensured that they were met this time without having to remind them. The standards of cleanliness, comfort, and quality of the food remained excellent and without exception the owners and staff were friendly and efficient and, again, made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    49
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
26
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just had an extremely pleasant long weekend at the Royal. Very comfortable and clean room, exellent food and friendly staff. Dinner is served promptly at 6pm which suited us as we had evening functions starting at 7:30 pm. This was our second visit and we have booked again for next year. I cannot understand some of the earlier negative reviews: I found Tim and Fiona very pleasant and attentive - maybe some people have a problem with a sense of humour......

The hotel is located 2 minutes from the seafront promenade and ten minutes from the Spa Centre. Car Parking outside the hotel, or on-street nearby is not a problem.

Room Tip: If you particularly want a large room, pay a little extra and book a family room. Room 11 on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in September 2012 or before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

two gripes advertised lounge not available to guests(door said private & locked)bar area only open if you had evening meal or if it was man again door locked!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catinboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your review.

The bar is always available for our guests regardless of whether you have dined with us or not, you just simply need to ask for a drink. It is pointless keeping all the lights on and the music playing if no one is in there.

The lounge at the front of the building is our one private area. The guest lounge area is situated at the rear of the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Bridlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

There are some quite bad reviews for this guesthouse on this site but it just goes to show that you have to treat such things with caution. We found the Royal very clean and comfortable. The room we had wasn't huge but it was well-equipped and more than adequate for the amount of time we spent in it. Tim and Fiona were welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts were superb. Anywhere that offers the range of fresh fruit they do gets my vote! Dinner is served at 6.00 so if you want to eat later you have to go elsewhere but there are plenty of places within a 10-minute walk. The bar is only open if there are guests who want a drink but that's not unusual in family-run places and there are many other watering holes in easy reach. One review mentioned lots of "house rules". There are notes around, like "no smoking in the bedrooms", "children out of the bar area by 9.00" and "no takeaways in the bedrooms", but they're all reasonable and what you'd expect. The fact that they're there at all could be said to reflect rather more on the iffy behaviour of some of the guests than it does on the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thanks for your review. We are please you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

to be honest I was a bit concerned after I had read some of the reviews ! But I had no need to be because we loved the hotel. My husband and I have been with my elderly parents and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were excellent and the food was delicious. We gladly paid a £1 per night for my Dad's scooter to be stored and charged up and we thought it was an excellent idea.
I have recommended the hotel to my friends and we will hopefully be returning

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiskeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We are please you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

we have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the Royal. our room had the bonus of view of the sea even though we didn't ask for it. the room although a little small was plenty big enough and very clean. the bed was very soft which i know a lot of people prefer - i don't!! however despite this i slept surprisingly well. i love a shower in the morning and found the one in our bathroom very disappointing - it was over the bath so not easy for me to get into. it wasnt an electric one and the temperature and water flow were adjusted from the bath taps, the water was just a trickle and it got cooler if left on too long

we booked for bed breakfast and evening meal and it was well worth it - the food was very tasty and piping hot. there was plenty of choice at breakfast, particularly the selection of fresh fruit. we were a little surprised when we got down to breakfast at 8.15am to find the dining room was locked - not something i have come across in other places where i have stayed

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ienjoymyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review.
One of the first things we did when we took over was to replace all the beds with new Mattisons hotel beds – the same ones as used by many of the larger hotel chains.
There were also no showers at all, so rightly or wrongly, in an attempt to increase customer satisfaction we changed all the bath taps to mixer taps to provide rinsing showers. Unfortunately when there is high demand on water at peek times, there can be a few issues with variations in temperature and pressure. When eventually we need to refurbish the bathrooms we will of course look for a better solution.
Breakfast is served from 8.15 to 9.15am. Both kitchen and restaurant need to be fully prepared before guests enter and that way the buffet table is prepared, the kitchen are ready and staff have the time to show you to your table and to attend to you needs.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Had a lovely stay as always. We never go anywere else. Meals are always good and the breakfast is to die for. Rooms are good and warm also there is a safe in rooms which is free, You wont get that in anyother hotel. Staff are good at there job and always make you feel welcome. I have read some of the coments on tripadvisor and can only say some people need to get a live. Always feel like we are comeing home when we stay there but with somebody else doing all the work. Nothing is to much trouble for Tim or Fiona and Kim and everyone else. Thanks as always.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#72 of 118 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#47 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seacourt Hotel
The Seacourt Hotel
#63 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swallow Hotel
The Swallow Hotel
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Property: The Royal Bridlington
Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing