We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Fifth wonderful visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Bridlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #65 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Fifth wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just returned home from our fifth visit to The Royal at Brid, which is by far our favourite hotel throughout the last forty years of visiting the town.
We have had a different room each time and all have been spotless and welcoming, the food at both breakfast and evening is absolutely lovely and our hosts and their staff could not be more helpful. On this visit we were delighted to see that the dining room has been redecorated and updated making it very light and welcoming.
We can't wait to go again.
Well done Fiona and Tim

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are pleased you like our newly refurbished dining room and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    48
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
26
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Rude, sarcastic, unhelpful, completely unprofessional and even send one word email replies!! I think the owners have serious delusions of grandeur issues here definitely. What I would say us that if they don't want customers booking discounted rooms then don't advertise on there! Simple!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank prideofcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. The voucher does state to telephone to make your reservations. You sent an email enquiring about availability and you received the following reply –

"Hello

Reservations are very busy and changing very quickly. Its best to ring with several dates in mind. Weekends are very very limited. No availability XXXXXX.

Kind regards"

You then sent another email asking for availability on another date and yes we did reply with just one word – "Yes."

Over 750 groupons have been sold and in anticipation of this we specified that bookings using the groupon system were to be made directly via the telephone and we can only apologise if this has caused issues and delays in booking. Its far simpler and quicker to have a conversation than to try and type individual, long and wordy emails and also the other problem is that availability with this level of reservations being made changes very quickly.

Despite saying we could accommodate you on your second choice dates some two weeks ago, your reservation has still not been made.

We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to The Royal Bridlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

our room here was lovely, very large for an eaves room, light and airy with great big
windows and sea view. our champagne/strawberries/flowers on arrival were good quality.
Theres a thorough and detailed info pack thats great for 1st time visitors to Brid. Breakfast was great, loads of choice and well executed.
But.
Info pack has page after page of info about the owners, including a bit about their working day. sorry, but to me it smacked of look how busy and brilliant we are at looking after you, look what favours we're doing for you. it has' funny stories' each of which reads like a list of 'don't you dare do this as well' I want escapism when i go away and everything should happen like magic, i don't want to feel like i can't approach if i have an issue in case i waste their precious time.
Its not a hotel, its an up market B&B, but not a friendly face in sight, not what i expect at my beloved north yorks coast. And the e.mail reply to my questionaire read like a head master telling off a naughty child. Very patronising, obviously the owners know better what we want than we do, and i was mistaken to assume i was allowed an opinion different to theirs.

Room Tip: the higher the better. good sea views from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Nothing to complain about, except that our double room was small! The Hotel was spotlessly clean every attention to detail carefully scrutinised. Breakfast was a feast (for a vegetarian) my partner's cooked brekkie looked a bit bland, but there was so much choice,all fresh and beautifully served by the 'dear' dining room waitress. Okay...the coffee could have been better and it would have been great to have had a blackout blind in the room...but overall quite a pleasant stay. Well-done to the owners and staff for maintaining high standards in these financially difficult times.

Room Tip: If you use a Groupon voucher be prepared for a small room, if the weather is fine then 'no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenangel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are please you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This small hotel is a credit to its owners and staff. We greatly enjoyed our one night stay, which was an incredibly great value Groupon offer - quite justifiably described by the owner as a "loss leader". I believe the hotel is very good value at normal rates, and we are very likely to go back, particularly as we were given a discount voucher against future stays..
We had a good welcome, car parking was easy, the house has a pleasing appearance - having some very nice 1930s features - and is well-kept and immaculate inside and out. It is practically on the South Esplanade and our room had sea views. The streets around are nice streets with mainly good family homes.
The breakfast was above the norm, and there was an unusually good selection of fresh fruit and berries. The staff were all pleasant and work hard to make it a pleasant stay.
I had not visited Bridlington for many years, and was pleasantly surprised. Whilst there are some signs of the difficulties of most British seaside resorts, there has been a great deal of excellent development in the town, to the promenades, harbour areas, gardens and public toilets, and pedestrianised shopping streets. There are also good funfairs, noisy and brash of course and not to my personal taste, but clearly super for children and younger teenagers.
The town was very quiet in the evening, and I suspect having limited attractions for those seeking night life. You will be able to find some of the very best fresh seafood.
The beaches are wide and clean. All in all, great for family holidays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityhopper7_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed yor stay at The Royal Bridlington and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I purchased a voucher for my husband, and I to stay in the hotel, for one night, and checked the small print, which stated a surcharge of £10 for a family room. I also rang before purchasing the voucher, as I always do, to check this was correct, as we would be bringing our 7 year old daughter.

On ringing today I found out that our small daughter who eats very little, would be charged £30 rather than the stated surcharge of £10 to use the room. The woman who spoke to me said that it was because she would be using the bedding, having a shower and eating breakfast.

I have stayed in several hotels, and have never been charged such a high surcharge, and this is made worse by the voucher stating a family room would be £10 more.

She referred to my daughter as 'it', which I found quite upsetting. I said I wanted to talk to Groupon and said goodbye. Her husband then rang me back, telling me the same thing again. I told him that he was making me feel uncomfortable, but he continued, and said that Groupon should not have put the surcharge as being £10. I have looked back at other comments and see a reply to another customer saying this deal is for couples, and not in the other customers case, for a woman and her daughters getting a cheap stay.

I could not possibly stay at this hotel with the people running it having such a negative attitude towards customers, and not offering what it says on the voucher. It was referred to as a marketing exercise, and I don't want to be a part of something which the owners clearly resent.

Room Tip: Don't take your family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jazz077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Many thanks for your comments on the Groupon Voucher system. We will certainly take these on board.

The Voucher that was purchased was indeed purchased as a ‘Romantic Getaway for two people’ and indeed on the voucher it does say to ‘upgrade to a family room for £10’. However, the £10 is an under occupancy supplement for the upgrade to the larger room which Groupon had denoted as a ‘family room’ with no mention of the addition of a third person for the £10 supplement.

Our standard tariff states that a one-night stay for a child would be £30. As this was not an anticipated request at the time of setting up the voucher system we, and Groupon who have vast experience in wording of similar vouchers, omitted from mentioning this item on the voucher. The remainder of the items on the additional prices on the voucher, including the £10 upgrade to the larger (family) room, are pulled from our tariff schedule.

In trying to explain the under occupancy surcharge my wife did try to explain that an extra person would incur an extra charge as ‘it’ would use an additional bed, take a shower and eat some food. The lady took this completely out of context and accused us of calling her daughter ‘it’ which of course was not the case.

We can only apologise for ringing the lady back to try to assist further. However, as my wife explained on two occasions, she was full of cold and with her sinuses blocked was unable to hear exactly what was being said and suggested to the lady that she passed the phone over to myself. As my wife was passing the phone over, the phone went dead. I assumed that we must have accidentally ended the call and therefore returned the call. As it turned out the lady must have, during passing the phone over, said that she wanted to say goodbye. I apologised for calling her back and tried to explain about the under occupancy situation.

Obviously this lady had a total misunderstanding of the terms of the Groupon voucher and we can only apologise once more for the wording that Groupon chose to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I recently spent 10 days at The Royal on 2 Quilting breaks that Fion and Tim run during the winter months. They also do dancing and golf special breaks if Quilting is not your thing!
I had experience of 2 different rooms both of which were spotlessly clean and equipted with a kettle, coffee, tea, mugs (yeah!) biscuits and beautiful soft towels.
The food of which there was enough to feed an army was excellent and there was plenty of choice (more than I've ever had in a small hotel to date). We were given morning coffee and afternoon tea as well as main meals, with homemade biscuits and cake.
I can't recommend The Royal, Fiona and Tim and their courteous, friendly staff highly enough if you're ever on the East coast - I have already booked my next stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank psychoticpat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Manager at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your Patchwork & Quilting courses. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Bridlington in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#68 of 121 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burlington Quays
Burlington Quays
#40 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Property: The Royal Bridlington
Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing