We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at The Royal Bridlington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #61 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Stay at The Royal Bridlington”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have just stayed at The Royal in Bridlington on the 2 night b + b groupon deal, at first i was a little apprehensive due to a few un easy comments that i had read before. Our stay was excellent, our room the food and staff were lovely, we found Tim and Fiona lovely people and we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: ask staff if they have the kind of room you require for your stay, they do try to accomodate all nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your commnets. Glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    49
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
27
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our first visit to Bridlington so the first at The Royal. Bridlington is a nice town with lots of good shops and things to do and see. The hotel location is good, just ten minute walk to the town centre and harbour. Parking is either on the front of the hotel or in the quiet street outside. The hotel looked good and fresh. Booking in was quick and easy and the interior was extremely well decorated and very clean. Our room was bright, well decorated and welcoming. It had all the amenities and in fact little things that made the stay like home. The bathroom was again well decorated and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the windows sparkled!
The evening meal was ordered earlier in the day and a rest in the bar with other guests was good before the evening meal was taken. This was another great experience. Restaurant staff – so nice and the food was magnificent and plenty of it. The choice was excellent too. Breakfast was just as good with plenty of variety and again lots of it. We decided to eat “in” again the second night and another great food experience. So easy, order and the food appears from the hatch – freshly cooked.
Our experience at The Royal was brilliant – it was so clean, fresh and welcoming. Fiona, Tim and the staff obviously work hard to keep up the very good reputation. It was a first class stay and the feel was that of a cosy, well run guest house not like the large hotel chains. Well worth five stars and an experience we will have again. No complaints whatsoever. Well done The Royal.

Room Tip: We had room 6 but I am sure all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Really lovely stay well worth the money we paid through groupon.
The breakfast was one of the nicest we have ever had with loads to choose from.
The hotel is lovely and clean and the hosts were very welcoming and on hand if needed.

And being on tele was a bonus (ha ha)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks for your comments. Glad you enoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

hotel more a guest house, spotless room but small.We upgraded to the room with 4 poster bed but very small small bathroom with no sink as the sink in bedroom which was a bit faffy.Didnt see Fiona once we had booked in, we wanted to cancel our table for evening meal as we were not hungry but she wasnt happy and to stop any fuss we ended up having the meal which wasnt worth the 18pounds each that we paid! Breckfast was ok ,the fresh fruit was nice but cooked breakfast was very greasy. Think the hotel run more like a business with more interaction needed with the guests

Room Tip: we went with groupon voucher so think they keep the small rooms for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hargreaves_angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you found the accommodation to be spotless.

The Royal Bridlington is a 4 star guest accommodation and indeed is a business.

When you made your reservation you were informed that the room was small and you also booked for dinner at 6pm. On arrival around 4.30pm you said that you had only just eaten & were not really hungry. Staff were roted, food was ordered for your meal. We are not a large restaurant, we only cook for what is ordered and with little notice it was unreasonable to expect that we could just accept your request to cancel. When this was explained, you did say no problem we will have dinner.

The menu we produce for £18 per head inc VAT & service (ie £15 ex vat) is three course with coffee/tea & mints or homemade fudge and choice for every course. We, and many of our guests, feel that it is great value and we use fresh local produce wherever possible. We are sorry that you did not consider this to be the case.

You also mention that your breakfast was very greasy. The only item on a Full English breakfast that is fried is the egg, which is done in vegetable oil. All other items are cooked in our Rationale Oven without any ‘grease’ – just simply grilled.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Me & my boyfriend went for 2 nights over Easter weekend earlier this year on the Groupon offer, & can confirm it as a 4* guest house.

The hotel had a oldy worldy feel & charm to it in a good way. The room we had although it was small with no bathroom of its own, we had access to our very own locked bathroom just down the hall. Both the room & bathroom were pristine clean.

As I mentioned, the room we stayed in was small-ish but it was nice because it actually made it quite cosy & snug, we were very happy with it! The only fault was that the walls were quite thin & we were next door to a snorer, my boyfriend noticed this on our second night.

The breakfast was amazing! All cooked full English breakfast, and you could order anything from it to your choice. Also, not to mention yogurts, cereals, fruit, pastries etc too! There was 1 lady who worked in the breakfast room (probably the head waitress & also a maid too) & she was the friendliest, most pleasant woman ever.

The hotel location was ok, about 15 minute nice walk to the centre along the sea front. Overall, I would recommend this as a good place to stay in Brid!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and The Royal Bridlington and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from the royal bridlington and have to say me and my partner were really pleased. We purchased the groupon voucher for 2 night stay b n b as it was great value for money. We read the reviews before we went and must admit we were a little apresensive but was nothing to worry about. All in all was well run and quiet just what we liked. Location was also great not far sea front and loads of places to eat etc.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X-tina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hi

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

It is rather sad to say that many reviewers do not have the decency to mention any of their 'issues' during their stay and instead they like to spam review sites such as this as 'silent assassins' . Before the internet revolution and many tv series about hotels and guest houses, guests used to verbally communicate, and any 'issues' could be resolved there and then. They used to come away for a nice break, but now many like to play 'hotel inspector' and come trying to find fault. This now unfortunately leads to others reading unfair & exaggerated reviews and its a shame you came away feeling uncertain.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Bridlington.

Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I stayed in May on a groupon deal at the Royal. The rooms were very clean and the sheets and the towels could not have been whiter. Our stay however was marred by all the negative story's in the back of the welcome pack in the hotel. It made us feel most uncomfortable, I am sure many guest houses have bad experiences, but there is no need to broadcast them for everyone to read.

Another complaint would be the breakfast, I had the full English the first morning, the baked beans were cheap tasting and unpleasant and the tomato ketchup tasted like vinegar. My husband had a tomato which also tasted of vinegar. The next morning I had poached eggs on toast which was a far safer option. Also the 2nd morning the proprietors were running late so we were locked out of the dining room and not allowed in until they were good and ready. Not very welcoming at all.

Although it was a clean place, I felt the proprietor's uptight Basil Fawlty style attitude most unwelcoming and I would not stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for posting the comments.

You mentioned that you had some 'complaints' although you never mentioned any of these to any member of staff or ourselves during their stay.

Had you done so and afforded us the opportunity to do something about them, then we may well have been able to offer them different products. Our tomatoes are fresh from the green grocer and simply sliced and grilled- so how one can taste of vinegar is a complete mystery!

We are sorry if we were a couple of minutes late opening for breakfast on the second morning. The restaurant like all others does not open until the kitchen and restaurant are fully prepared for service, breakfast however is served for a full hour until 9.15am. The reason for this is firstly it is impossible to try and seat and attend to guests and set up for breakfast at the same time and also there is a health and safety issue. Very occasionally things happen – it may be a guest who demands immediate attention or a kitchen, restaurant or staff issue, and unfortunately we can only be in one place at once. We have never opened more than a couple of minutes late and really can not understand why this was such a huge issue.

Your also mention our welcome folder – no one made you read it. We do receive many positive comments about the funny stories and many of our regulars keep asking us for the next edition. At the end of the day, it is impossible to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#72 of 118 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#47 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seacourt Hotel
The Seacourt Hotel
#62 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swallow Hotel
The Swallow Hotel
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Property: The Royal Bridlington
Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing