We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #67 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Hunts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Must say thank you to the staff and owners of The Royal Bridlington. We stayed in The Royal Lodge after booking on Last minute. We initially booked a twin room but where upgraded to The Lodge at NO extra cost. Everything was fabulous. Clean. Well stocked (apart from the tv remote batteries that didnt work but we didnt go to watch tv) and incredibly nice. Went to the Spa for the night and returned exhausted and slept like logs. The beds are really comfortable and I wanted to ask what pillows they use as I have never slept so well. :-) I dont think we will need to eat again today as the breakfast was huge and very tasty. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. This is definately on our list of places to revisit. I have told all of our friends what a brilliant stay we had and will be visiting again as a larger group. The biography (that has some short stories of previous visits) that was in the room was really funny when you see what they have to put up with from 'us punters'. WELL DONE THE ROYAL BRIDLINGTON. We loved our stay. We will be back :-)

Room Tip: If you are going as a family or a group of 5 friends The Royal Lodge is awesome and has so much room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast.
We are also pleased you enjoyed reading our guest info folder and the funny stories too.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    49
    25
    12
    16
See reviews for
27
98
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed two nights at The Royal, one of our companions was disabled and we found the staff were very patient, pleasant and helpful.
We had the evening meal on our first night and the menu had a good selection of meals at a reasonable price. The second night we were at the theatre and had to eat elsewhere otherwise we would have eaten at the hotel again.
The rooms, although not large, were well equipped and clean.
The hotel is seconds away from the sea front and only a five minute walk to the harbour shops and entertainment

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Hi
Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We have four ground floor rooms, although not adapted they provide level access for guests who are less mobile.

We serve dinner at 6pm specifically so that you can go to any of the shows. You would have had plenty time to eat in prior to going to the theatre.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes

Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I booked for a 2 night stay using groupon , we were offered an upgrade for £10 a night for a larger room which we paid for on arrival.
We were very surprised and disappointed when shown to a room at the back of the hotel which had 3 separate single beds! Considering when I booked over the phone I said we were celebrating our wedding anniversary .
The rooms were clean, the champagne and strawberries were nice, but the room a huge disappointment and so hilarious that we actually paid £20 for an upgrade!
We didn't bother to complain as had read the previous reviews on here.
We would never return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunloverfromrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for your comments.
Really there was no reason for you to be surprised or disappointed. Firstly the offer as printed is for a twin or double room or a larger upgrade room. You never made any particular requests for a certain bed type although you had every oppotunity to. The confirmation was sent to you on booking and this clearly displayed tripple room. You then had an opportunity again to clarify/change this - you did not. Sadly we are not mind readers - even if it was your anniversary that does not mean you want a double bed!
We are disappointed that you have chosen to penalise us for your errors and lack of communication.
Kind regards
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We visited the Royal using a Groupon deal. On arrival at the hotel we were told we had been upgraded and asked to pay the extra. However we had not requested this and when we queried it we were dealt with very politely. The paperwork that we had reflected what we had agreed on booking and we were given the upgrade at no extra charge. The upgrade consisted of a room with a four poster (not something we care for), and the room was tiny - probably the smallest we have ever stayed in - however the room was well laid out with loads of storage space, and was spotlessly clean. The deal also included champagne, flowers and strawberries - fresh, cool and delicious! Breakfast was really delicious as well with excellent choices - one of the nicest hotel breakfasts we have enjoyed. There was a plentiful selection of fresh fruit, and the cooked breakfast was served piping hot and very tasty. Apart from the normal choices there was smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Delicious!
After reading some of the previous reviews we were not sure what to expect, but apart from the very tiny bedroom (and we didn't spend long in there anyway) we were very pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness and friendliness of every one. We would certainly be very happy to return. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry for the confusion on arrival - a member of staff had made an error which we correct as quickly as we could.
Our building dates from 1907 and is not purpose built so all our rooms are different. Every room has been specially designed and planned to make full and best use of the space available. All rooms have the same facilities and all are above the size requirements set out by the AA for a four star guest accommodation.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy overall with everything. The hotel was really clean, lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. I would definatly recommend this hotel and we will be comming back for a short break again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Ho
Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had a 2 night stopover on our way to Harwich for a cruise and had a great stay. We didn't pay the Groupon price or got strawberries and champagne etc, but it was still great value from this hard working couple and their staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return vist.
Kind regards
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goole
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I purchased a two night B&B stay for £89 through Groupon, the deal also included champagne, strawberries and flowers which represented outstanding value for money. Fiona was very helpful and friendly when confirming the booking over the phone. I was very happy to take up the option of an upgraded room as this was only an extra £10 a night. On arrival we were checked in by Fiona at reception and Tim showed us to our room where our champagne was on ice, as welcomes go it does not get better than this. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was very nice, tea and toast were always in plentiful supply, and the waitresses were very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed comfy. Nice find, look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halifaxGoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Hello
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
582 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#59 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Broadfield Hotel
Broadfield Hotel
#70 of 117 in Bridlington
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#22 of 117 in Bridlington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Property: The Royal Bridlington
Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing