We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good bits, some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #87 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was a Groupon offer, so it was very good value for money, and the room was a standard sized double with strawberries and champagne in the room as per the deal, so all was good in that respect. The owner did seem keen to offer an upgrade to a bigger room for extra money, and seemed dissapointed when not taken. The room that we had was fine, clean and tidy, and the en suite had both a bath and shower, and there was no shortage of hot water for either. The room was heated by a small electric heater on the wall, but this was more than capable of keeping the room warm, and bearing in mind it was January, it should be able to do so all year round. The only down side was a strange underlying smell in the room which was a bit fishy...yes I know its Bridlington, but it wasn't in a fresh fish smell.
The breakfast was the best thing of all with loads available, including cereals, juice, fresh fruit, berries, and the usual options of all sorts of fry up types of things...which were all non greasy, and just generally top quality. There is also an option of kippers and salmon.Breakfast had a one hour window of 0815 to 0915. There appeared to only be 3 rooms in for breakfast, but there was plenty of space should it be busier.
The hotel itself is ideally placed just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and only about 30 metres away from having a sea view as it is just off the main esplanade road.
Just one whinge, on the way out of the hotel and weighed down with bags etc, I opened the outer door to pack the car, with my other half still inside, but a member of staff obviously didn't see this, and slammed the door behind me with a comment, obviously not meant to be heard, of 'I'll shut the door then!' Very sarcastic, and got a shock when she turned around to find my partner stood there. Just thought I would mention it, as we were leaving and didn't bother taking it further, but really, if that's all it takes to wind up up into a mood, then you shouldn't be involved in the service industry. It was only the outer door of the porch open for two seconds, and it was 12 degrees above zero. Sour taste just at the end. Pity as the waitresses at breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Manager at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hello

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfasts.

We do politely ask all guests to keep our front door closed and not let anyone in who you do not know. This is for two reasons - firstly and most importantly for security (we do not have a receptionist at the front desk to be able to monitor who is coming & going) and secondly yes it does help keep the heat in. We are sorry that when our staff member closed the door upset you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a really clean well run place to stay. Warm welcome fab breakfast all you need. Including cotton bud tissues cotton wool balls flat screen tv free wifi Rooms have been updated recentley and is more like hotel standard with all you need including chairs to relax in. Maybe at a little compact but that's to get everything in would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartypicoshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hello
Many thanks for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a lovely Christmas break we had. The Royal is a 4* guest house and deserves everyone of its stars. The proprietors Tim & Fiona were so friendly and you couldn't have asked for a more welcoming establishment. The rooms were cleaned daily and the hospitality tray filled up each day too, The food was excellent, always a choice of starters, mains and deserts. The food was always piping hot and only fresh ingredients and vegetables were used. We had entertainment every night from quizzes and bingo to a live rat pack style singer called Frank Martin. There were even tickets to the pantomime Beauty and the Beast at the Spa. We will definitely go back there and would like to say a very special thank you to Tim, Fiona and all their staff for being so friendly and making our Christmas so special. We hope you all have a very good 2013. xx ps Tim, we liked your variety of Christmas Headgear

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattytedderbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hello
Many thanks for your lovely review. We really enjoyed hosting the Christmas package too and are working on the plans for the next one already. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Groupon offer , room was lovely would have preferred a bath but as we were only there 2 nights no problem. Flowers , strawberries and champagne as promised !! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in , hotel was spotless. All the staff were friendly and breakfast was a good choice and plentiful. Would definitely return . Thankyou

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pltSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hi
Many thanks for your comments. All our rooms except one have bath with rinsing shower. We re pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We visited the royal using the groupon voucher deal. The hotel staff were warm and welcoming. The room we stayed in was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The deal include champagne and flowers which were both fabulous standard. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. Nice quiet location, with a pleasant stroll to the town centre. Couldn't fault the hotel at all and the deal we received was well worth it. Overall we had a fantastic stay and will no doubt stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannible41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the marketing experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our visit to The Royal Bridlington was pleasurable, the location is great at the top of the road is the beach. This hotel is friendly and the breakfast room is new spacious and breakfast was hearty. The room we had was slightly small but clean and pleasant. We managed to glimse the sea from our window and could do with a net curtain to add extra privacy. Off road parking is adequate but we decided to leave our car in its parking space, as so not to loose it, and decided to walking into the town. Discovered a fabulous chinese restuarant in the town first class food and service, well worth a visit. We will definately be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of room you are being selected I didn't notice a lift in this hotel and if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Bridlington soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

stayed here last weekend its the third time we have been back always a friendly welcome when we arrive the rooms are well looked after the breakfast is very good i have stopped in quiet a few small hotel through work and this is one of the best breakfast ive had defanatly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hi Mark

Many thanks for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#68 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadfield Hotel
Broadfield Hotel
#78 of 117 in Bridlington
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £91 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing