We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Groupon purchase. A MISTAKE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #79 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The Royal Bridlington.

Booked for two night stay.

Paid 'Upgrade' of £20.00 cash on arrival.

Stayed 'ONE Night'

Attic room (upgrade) AWWWful bed. More tired than us. Sea view, obscurred by filthy window.
No heating in bathroom. No Sink in bathroom. So advantagious an upgrade, our sink was in the main room and a fold out table located in wardrobe.
Breakfast Excellent. Service Dire.

Do/Don't signs prolific.

Just awful.

I am currently in touch with Groupon to get refund.

First, (hopefully last) bad Groupon Experience we have had.

Does,nt help the Groupon Experience

Thats it.


anthiny b dodsley & jacqueline s dodsley

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 201anthonyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Mr Dodsley
Many thanks for expressing your opinions on our Guest House so publicly.
We have already discussed all the points you raised with you personally prior to you posting on here.
We are sorry that you didn’t find much to your liking and we think we can safely say that we shall not be expecting you to return and redeem you £20 voucher which was part of the marketing experience deal.
Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Well we have just also got back from the royal and we really enjoyed it, apart from the weather which was freezing nobody can do anything about , room 15 beautiful cosy warm and spotless beds were so comfy didnt want to get out thank you

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAZZA8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hello BAZZA8469

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful break at this Hotel and we enjoyed every minute of it, The staff the food and the rooms were excellent we couldn't fault anything about it.We will certainly be going back to this Hotel and also reccomend it to friends and family

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hi mickmak

Thanks for posing the lovely comments about your recent stay. So pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the near future.

Best wishes

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We just came back from a two night stay at this hotel and loved it. It's location is nigh on perfect, close but not too close to town and perhaps a 20 second walk to the sea font.
The room was spotlessly clean, all white bedding which looked crisp and fresh. It had everything you could need, including ensure, tv and hair dryer!
Breakfast was just brilliant. The room was airy, bright and fresh and there were cereals and juices galore to choose from. We chose to go straight for the full English which was cooked to perfection. Plenty of options for the full English and many other choices too. Great! :-)
The staff were friendly, courteous and polite at all times. There was never any upsell and they were always happy to help. We will definitely be going back sometime soon, loved it to bits. I should add that it was very quiet too, we appreciated that.

Ade n Lou

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hello Ade and Lou

Thanks for your lovely comments. really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have just come home from a two night stay at the Royal. It was a voucher deal and experiences in the past have made me not expect much. Not the case this time. First ample free parking. Informative check in and code for complementary wifi (don't get that very often). Our room (7) on the first floor was I think newly decorated and the white bedding made me most careful. The champagne in this deal was of a high standard. At this stage we did not see any other guests and found it very quiet over night. Upon entering the dining room for breakfast it became obvious the Royal was very busy.
Excellent spread of fresh fruit on the buffet and my full English excellent. The dining room also looked to have been refurbished. It was a repeat of the same great experience the second night and our breakfast of kippers and scrambled eggs/smoked salmon freshly cooked.
I have nothing but praise for this establishment and I would not hesitate to recommend it or stay here myself again.
Forgot great location very close to the front.
In my passed experience of voucher deals the establishment has pushed other items that require extra payment. This was not the point here. Nice to see.

Room Tip: 7 good sized twin room at back of hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEJ_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hello JEJ_9

Thank you for your comprehensive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 nights - 3 day golfing trip which Tim (the owner) arranged. I found him very helpful and went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. Don't get me wrong I was sharing with my father in-law so didn't need much in the way of home comforts but I can say that the room was clean and had everything we needed including an extra heater to use if we got cold as we were not actually in the main hotel but behind. The en-suite had both bath and shower and the towels were changed each day. The breakfasts were lovely and set us up for the day which we appreciated. We would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traversclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Hi Jeremy
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your Yorkshire Coast golf break which we organised for you.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the fantastic golf we have around the local area and we look forward to organising your next trip.
best wishes

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Yes, straight into my top ten and for all the wrong reasons! Perhaps we should have had an inkling of what was to come following my wife's telephone conversations with the owner prior to our visit. We were advised that the room we were allocated (Room 3) was small and that the bathroom was "across the corridor" (in the 21st century?!) . Wrong on both counts! The room was tiny and there was not enough room to pass each other round the double bed. There was 20" between the bed and the washbasin and there was a WC in what appeared to be a cupboard behind a folding door in the corner of the room. The bathroom was actually 12m down the corridor with a mixer tap shower head above the bath, a WC and a basin; more on that in a moment. We had asked before our trip if we could upgrade to a superior room (at a cost) but we were told the hotel was full. Strangely the "vacancies" sign remained on display outside during our stay.
Our visit started badly. Pulling in to the parking spaces amongst badly parked cars so that we could at least unload the bags, we were greeted by the lady owner who pointed out in elaborate sign language, two small notices stuck to the wall telling people not to park in front of the access gate. As the notices were too small to read until you got out of the car, a dialogue might have helped.
Getting to our room we started to unpack only to find that the window blind was jammed but to be fair this was sorted very quickly by the owner. The Royal is rated as 4 star Guest Accomodation rather than the equivalent 2 Star hotel rating and so the facilities offered are not as comprehensive as a hotel. They do offer an evening meal from a very uninspired and limited menu at an early sitting and they also have a bar but I did not see anyone eating or drinking there on either night of our stay. After a quiet night in a comfortable bed, I went to the bathroom along the corridor for a shower before going down to breakfast. Having got the water flowing at the correct temperature, I stepped in and was covered in shampoo and shower gel when the water suddenly stopped. I waited for 10 mins but in the end, gave up, scraped what I could off and towelled the rest down. Going down to breakfast in a less than joyful mood, I told the owner politely what had happened, to be greeted by "well, it hasn't happened before" (see previous reviews!!!)
The full English Breakfast was extremely good and there was plenty of choice of juices and fruit. Food was served efficiently by polite staff and was piping hot.
After another restful, quiet night, I managed to get a hot shower and went down to breakfast. This time I tried the scrambled egg and smoked salmom (a nice touch) but I should have stuck to the Full English. My plate was swimming in liquid and I had to use a napkin to blot the plate so that I could eat the meal.
When we checked out, no mention was made of the problem with the shower.
There are some good points. The room, although very small was clean and nicely decorated. The restaurant was clean, tidy and again nicely decorated. The food, by and large, was very good and the serving staff polite and efficient, the WiFi was spot on and the location is great but there were far too many negatives. The Guest information in the room folder seem to consist mainly of a diatribe against guests who cause problems and a diary of the struggles to achieve the 4 star status. The reception area, stairs and landing really look tired and dated and are at odds with the more upbeat decor in the rooms and restaurant. We may have been on a Groupon deal and the Champagne, strawberries and flowers were a nice touch but apart from that we really did feel like second class citizens.

Room Tip: Generally a quiet location but ask what size the rooms are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryMan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hello

thank you for your comments.

You originally booked your marketing experience for alternative dates in a standard twin, then at short notice asked to change dates as you wanted to fit in with another marketing experiences you had purchased. As we explained to you on the phone the only room we have left for your new dates was the one with a private bathroom. The room was accurately described to you on the phone and you had the option to accept or decline - no-one forced you to accept this. Again on your confirmation the room was described again.

All our rooms sizes and facilities are well in excess of the requirements for a four star guest accommodation.

For your information yes our vacancies sign did remain showing whilst your were here as our self catering property was available.

On arrival you did block the disabled/ emergency access gate ignoring both the clearly displayed sign on the gate and the two other clearly displayed signs on the walls. In an effort to alleviate you having to switch off your engine and get out of your car on that freezing cold day, only having to be asked to return to and move it immediately by wife did point out these signs to you as she was passing by. We are truly sorry that this obviously offended you.

By choosing to be rated a four star guest accommodation rather than a 2 star hotel does not mean that our facilities are less comprehensive than a hotel - in fact it is the reverse! and our guest information folder does explain this and the differences.

During your stay we only had guests on the same marketing experience as yourselves and therefore no-one had booked in on DBB and therefore dinner was not available and that is why you did not see anyone having dinner or using the bar.

Regarding your problem with no water in the rinsing shower - as we discussed with you at the time, no one has ever reported that problem before from that bathroom.

As our mixer taps supply just a rinsing shower and are mains fed then sometimes if everyone chooses to use them to try and shower rather than just rinse hair as intended then sometimes there are temperature issues at peek times. As we told you at the time we changed all the taps to mixer taps to provide a rinsing shower head to improve facilities as there were no showers whatsoever when we purchased the hotel and installing a power fed shower in each room was not an option as we had no matching tiles left by the previous owner for each of our 18 bathrooms and therefore every bathroom would need electrics and totally re-tiling. As they had only just been done this was totally impractical and certainly not within budget.

As and when we need to refurbish bathrooms then this is certainly something that will be built into budgets, but other than remove all the shower hoses and return to just baths there is nothing that we can do a this stage.

We are pleased you enjoyed your full English breakfast but really cant understand your comment about scrambled egg being 'swimming' in liquid. As all food is cooked to order and not prepared in advance we are mystified and even if this was the case then why did you not ask for it to be recooked - we would have only been too pleased to do so?

We can only think you must be getting confused with someone else 's guest information book as we do not state any difficulties attaining four start status and in fact the Royal always has been.

Our hall, stairs and landings are the one area out of the whole building which has not yet been renovated and redecorated so hence the different style of decor (as mentioned in other replies too) - but hey -'Rome was not built in a day' and it is our home and not a boutique hotel charging boutique prices. Of course when money and time are available then this is one of the areas we shall be tackling next.

When you checked out you rushed past reception and did not afford anyone the courtesy of having any conversation with you.

And finally - we really cant understand why you felt like second class citizens especially when ironically everyone else who stayed during your stay was on exactly the same marketing experience as yourselves.

We are sorry that you you were disappointed with your marketing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#71 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seacourt Hotel
The Seacourt Hotel
#56 of 117 in Bridlington
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £63 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing