We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #67 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Went to the royal with a group of 15 on a golf trip, august bank holiday weekend,
I would just like to thank Tim and his wife for a great weekend, lovely hotel the rooms were very clean and no complaints from any one.
The breakfast was excellent loads of choice.
Thank you very much for sorting all the golf out,
Thanks again Tim from all at the the brown cow golf society Horwich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlbrady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello Arlbrady63

Thank you for taking to the time to post your review. We are pleased your golf society enjoyed their golf break with yorkshirecoast golf at The Royal Bridlington.

We look forward towe welcoming you back again soon.

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Bridlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned home after spending 9 day at the Royal. As usual the food was very good
and the bed was a bit to comfy, Didnt want to get out of it. Both Tim and Fiona always give you a warm welcome. All the staff are wonderful and Fiona knows all the best places to visit. You really should try the evening meals they are to die for. The bar is well stocked and sometimes cheaper than the pub. Will always go back its like going home but with nothing to do but relax and have a nice time'

Room Tip: All rooms bar one have bath and shower. You wont get this anywhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello benjie2011

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always pleased to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

They bailed us out after a failed booking at Three Tuns in Filey and for that we think brill. When I booked actually on route because of the difficulties they accepted our booking direct. Very good. Did state room was small but I don't think I appreciated how small. Though advertised as a double with modern four poster, room to move round is anticipated. Both of us moving around was difficult. In addition I really did not like that no wash basin in "bathroom" but in main room. No privacy. I think personally the £78 per night was expensive given above. Really the room should have been single. The male management/owner (not sure which), was pleasant and helpful though apart from admission and leaving did not see. Breakfast was good and comprehensive, and efficient service but it would be nice to have a smile and a little conversation. I would stay again, (doubt if they would let me given input), but definitely a different room.

Room Tip: Not the littel four poster
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hello Janice S

Thank you for your comments.

As you mention, you did book last minute, in fact on the day of arrival and on your journey here. The only room we had left for the weekend was described to you over the phone prior. No further questions were asked on your part, you were happy to book and relieved that someone could help you out as you had been let down by another establishment.

We are not a modern purpose built accommodation. All rooms are different, but all rooms are well above the specifications for a four star guest house as laid out by the AA. And all rooms have been specifically designed with purpose built furniture to give all facilities and as much space as possible. Yes, it would be lovely if we could just expand some walls, but in reality this is not possible. Again if the wash basin could have been located in the bathroom in this room, it would have been.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and we are sorry that our waiting staff were not able to chat during service over this very busy weekend.

Regarding value, the one thing many people forget to take into account is 20% VAT. (Some smaller properties are below the threshold and therefore do not charge vat, so this is an unfair playing field) This actually means the price was only £62.40 per night! Outstanding value we think.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we are however disappointed that, in the main, your comments are about things we can do nothing about.

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

You could go a long way to beat this hotel.
Scrupulously clean rooms and the service is very good. My Wife and I have now stayed here 5 or six times over the last few years and the quality has remained very good.
We specially like the evening meals which are very very good. The breakfasts too are just what we need with lots of choices.
The hotel is nicely placed just back from the south promenade, so the town centre is not far to walk to. There is a small car park for about 5 or 6 cars but there is plenty of on-street parking if this car park is occupied.
The owners are friendly and welcoming, and the staff are pleasant too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello HarryW
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay and its lovely when couples like yourselves return year after year.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best wishes
Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our stay at the Royal Hotel was between 13/07/13 and 16/07/13, we actually booked until 20/07/13.
I have always been able to leave positive reviews in the past and this my first negative one - I am not an habitual complainer! I was staying with two elderly relatives (both in their 80's) in 3 separate rooms. We had stopped at this Hotel before. We had 3 justifiable complaints regarding food i.e. ice spots in hot puddings, a frozen solid mousse, and burnt inedible toast. At 3.00am on the Monday morning we were all woken by a drunken foul mouthed guest who banged on the bedroom doors for about 10 mins. The following morning I reported this to the owners who really were not interested; they said that they have a lot of golfers stop at the Hotel and sometimes they came back very drunk! I replied to the owner that I thought her answer was cavalier and inappropriate.The female owner pointed out that we had complained about the food and upset their trainee waitress. She then told me to leave the hotel. This put me in a difficult position with two very elderly companions.
I immediately found the trainee waitress and apologised if I had upset her. The waitress said that I hadn't upset her and did not know what the owner was talking about.
It took me one additional day to find alternative accommodation and we finished the last few days of our holiday there.
The Royal was really like Fawlty Towers except Basil is a woman! This is the worst customer service I have ever received at any Hotel in the UK. The Hospitality Industry is ill served by this type of Guest Accommodation.
The owners should really consider retirement!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello Carolyn A
When you and your Mother stayed last year we did note and sympathise with your mother about your attitude towards her throughout your stay. This year as you brought along another relative your anguish had to be redirected and this time it was towards us and our staff.

Yes, our chef did serve one dessert which was not quite warm enough. You received an apology and were offered an alternative. You declined.

The Frozen mouse which you refer to was a freezer cake! - its meant to be frozen.

Burnt toast ? The toast you returned was coloured, not burnt and its really a personal preference. If you like toast lightly done then you should make this clear on ordering.

None of our staff were keen to serve your table due to your snide remarks and condescending attitude towards them and indeed you were overheard making derogatory comments about a new, young member of staff. Other very satisfied guests had heard your comments too and made it very clear to us that they did not wish to be associated with your obvious vendetta.

When you complained about one isolated incident of a little noise when some guests returned from a night out we did again apologise and state that there is really not a great deal we can do to control this. You stated that our answer was 'Disgusting' and then went on to do what you do best - just like your car number plates says. You said that you would not be back and we agreed, you are certainly not welcome back here.

As we had already discussed our next course of action prior to this encounter, we suggested that perhaps you would be better off leaving our guest house and staying somewhere else.

We are pleased to say that you did, but not before staying another night and leaving an unpaid bill, however this was the least of our worries and we were just glad to see you leave.

We did appreciate the sincere apology from your relatives regarding your behaviour and of course they are more than welcome to return.

Life is far too short and we all work far too hard to suffer a full week of this disgraceful and uncalled for behaviour which was affecting all our staff and guests alike.

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the Royal hotel after finishing our cycle tour. The rooms were clean and everything you required was provided. Breakfast was very good with hot croissants, and some lovely summer fruits. Waitresses were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwm2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello wwm2310

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Bridlington after completing The Way of The Roses cycle route and we are glad everything was to your satisfaction.

We are however puzzled by your overall score of three in light of your comments.

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Have just come back from a relaxing holiday spent here, this is the place to go you will get a warm friendly greeting from the owners and staff alike. We had ground floor accommodation which suited us well as my hubby is disabled and they do cater for them. As regards food all fresh cooked, so many choices for breakfast and the three course evening meals were very substantial in fact some days a little too much, four choices for each course and no repetition in the whole of the fortnight. A good well stocked bar and a nice conservatory to sit in we shall certainly go back there. Do give it a try if you want a quiet relaxing holiday a warm welcome awaits you.

Room Tip: All rooms are en suite very clean no children under the age of 12 so a quiet hotel, if disabled let...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Manager at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi Kathleen H
Many thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have four ground floor rooms which offer level access from our forecourt to the room and into the main building via the conservatory. It is however essential that anyone requiring one of these actually books direct via the telephone so we can be certain that the accommodation is suitable for that persons needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
588 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 117 in Bridlington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#60 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadfield Hotel
Broadfield Hotel
#78 of 117 in Bridlington
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seacourt Hotel
The Seacourt Hotel
#58 of 117 in Bridlington
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing