We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #87 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Would just like to thank Tim and and his staff for a great Easter golfing weekend. Breakfast is more than adequate and sets you up for the day. Tim is always willing to help, the rooms are clean and the staff are great. Will definitely be back next year.....Mandy will be arranging it as usual so keep our room free lol :)

Jed and Peter

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traversclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Traversclan

Many thanks for your comments regarding your golf groups trip with Yorkshire Coast Golf at The Royal Bridlington. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Best wishes

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

we were meant to be stopping at a local caravan park but due to an error we had to find alternative accommodation at 10pm with an 8 year old. after knocking at their door we were very kindly offered a room for our 2 nights. the bathroom had one of the best baths in and had everything you needed. the bed was slightly soft but made up for it by having dreamy pillows! the breakfast was amazing and all the staff were extremely helpful. even the little touches in the room were good including the story behind the couple who run it.
would definitely stay here again without a doubt. thanks for saving our weekend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank moggey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello moggey35

Glad we were able to help out and that your stay in Bridlington turned out well in the end.

Look forward to welcoming youback again soon.

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Thought I would stay here whilst in the area on business a few weeks ago to be by the seaside rather than staying in Leeds or Hull where I would normally go when up here. Can't say it was an experience to repeat. Distinctly average british seaside hotel/guesthouse with below average food. Only stayed for breakfast which was so poor I didn't eat it. Mentioned to the girl on duty about the food being cold but she just kind of shrugged. On checking in despite an initial warm welcome whenever I asked a simple question such as "what time is breakfast" "is there wifi" etc felt like I was causing a major inconvenience. I think unless you are a regular bathing them in compliments they really aren't very interested.Not sure why you would want to be a regular to be honest this place just left me cold!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lydiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello lydiale

We have tried to contact you numberous times, but we have had no reply.

We have no record of you staying at our guest house.

Perhaps you have posted your review in the wrong location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and tidy with a very good choice of breakfast.

The room I was in no.6 was clean and tidy with a clean bathroom

The shower was just gravity fed and not a power shower.

The hosts, well the female seemed a little grumpy and the welcoming wasn't particularly friendly.

Car parking was poor but that was down to the people that couldn't park properly.

The owners wouldn't open the bar at 10:10pm for a drink they just simply ignored us, which wasn't pleasing.

I would say this place is very clean and tidy with a great breakfast but the hosts need to smile and acknowledge the customers.

Location is good parking is so/so but in all it's very good and better than other guest houses I have stayed at.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swampy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your comments.

When you arrived at our guest house, we were already busy at the desk checking in some of your party. Group arrivals are always difficult as guests tend to pile in all together. You arrived and launched your golf clubs into our hall. My wife said, ‘I’m sorry, we don’t allow golf club in the building..’ You interrupted grumpily and your partner said ’just let her continue’ we then went on to explain that we have separate secure storage and the reason why we don’t allow clubs in the rooms. We then continue to check in your colleagues. After we had checked you in we assisted with your golf club storage.

You then ask if you could leave your car parked half on the forecourt and completely blocking a public foot path. We said didn’t think that would be a good idea as blocking a public right of way is an offence and we suggested that you parked your car behind one of ours. You then ignored our suggestion and continue to move your car around the forecourt and street. Later on you decided to take our advice and then indeed you did park as we suggested. Car parking is not an issue unless you make it one. Shaftesbury Road is free parking and as we suggested, we can always park in front of our forecourt too.

Regarding our bar….we are always willing to get residents drinks. We just don’t staff the bar as it is not economically viable to do so and that is why there is a bell on the counter with instructions to ring for service. Indeed some of your group were in the bar before you all vacated to go out into town. You did not ring the bell or ask for a drink, so how you can say ‘we would not open the bar’ is so untrue!

Acknowledging customers – ummmm ok, so there is no mention in your comments about the conversations you had with us on your second day ….perhaps your partner may be able to remind you about the one about the wrist watch and the one when she got you to acknowledge that you are always grumpy. My wife congratulated her and said’ well at least you have got him to admit it.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed over a long weekend, the majority over Friday and Saturday (some Thursday and Sunday also).
After reading some of the reviews before it was booked there was some trepidation. Needn't have worried though. The ever smiling Tim, who gave as good as he got (with a group of 18 there are bound to be some personalities) and Fiona, who (both) accommodated our requests. An early breakfast was asked for and declined (we had an early tee off at South Cliff) but were told if we pre-booked the night before, the dining room door would open at 8.15am and our breakfasts would be on our table by 8.16am. Didn't believe it and prepared to nab some fruit before shooting off. All 18 of us were eating a hearty, tasty, wholesome breakfast within 5 minutes. Superb. One guest, who stayed on the Sunday night as well, after a bit of a mix up (by me) was relocated to another (clean) room.
I would not hesitate booking again should we ever be golfing in the area again. All golfers had no complaints and all words said were good.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello dutchcaps

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased your group enjoyed their golf break with yorkshirecoastgolf at The Royal Bridlington.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Went to the royal with a group of 15 on a golf trip, august bank holiday weekend,
I would just like to thank Tim and his wife for a great weekend, lovely hotel the rooms were very clean and no complaints from any one.
The breakfast was excellent loads of choice.
Thank you very much for sorting all the golf out,
Thanks again Tim from all at the the brown cow golf society Horwich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlbrady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello Arlbrady63

Thank you for taking to the time to post your review. We are pleased your golf society enjoyed their golf break with yorkshirecoast golf at The Royal Bridlington.

We look forward towe welcoming you back again soon.

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned home after spending 9 day at the Royal. As usual the food was very good
and the bed was a bit to comfy, Didnt want to get out of it. Both Tim and Fiona always give you a warm welcome. All the staff are wonderful and Fiona knows all the best places to visit. You really should try the evening meals they are to die for. The bar is well stocked and sometimes cheaper than the pub. Will always go back its like going home but with nothing to do but relax and have a nice time'

Room Tip: All rooms bar one have bath and shower. You wont get this anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hello benjie2011

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always pleased to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes

Tim & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#68 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadfield Hotel
Broadfield Hotel
#78 of 117 in Bridlington
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#61 of 117 in Bridlington
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £91 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing