We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disabled traveller solo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #78 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2014

well where do i start with such a 1st class hotel,
I booked this holiday on line and being disabled and not able to walk very far I was concerned about parking and put this in my booking,Within a very short time they had replyed regarding parking saying with it being a bank holiday parking maybe difficult and that i could park on frontage if space or park blocking parked cars when i arrived i had no problem parking also they advised my room was upstairs and was this a problem slow but sure thats me.
ON walking in I had a warm welcome from Tim giving me advice and keys to room.
The room was well presented clean and fresh double bed writing table two armchairs ,refreshment table coffee tea and the chocolate mmmmmm and a television above, The bathroom was tiled with bath /shower toilet and sink all of a good standard,
Ilike a cool room and this was just right for me heating was controlled by me with a wall heater.
The bed was soft as was the pillows and i had a good nights sleep as i normally have a harder base at home.
The room had breakfast in room deal for people that leave before breakfast is served and this was delivered at 8-30pm to my room with milk in flask and cool bag and ice pack with yougart crosants,butter,jams,crunchy nuts,orange juice and apple and banana.
next morning i had breakfast down stairs for a small charge of which i had a full english breakfast toast and a starters bar to die for.
I really enjoyed my few days here i really could not fault anything staff and service was 2nd to none nothing was too much trouble and will look forward to many more visits to The Royal Bridlington

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogleyboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had booked for 6 nights but only stayed for one - service was not with a smile and owners were not interested in the fact that we did not feel welcome or accommodated. Website states private garden/guest lounge and bar however on arrival we were shown nothing of the kind. Not sure why they offer a family room when families are clearly not welcome; owners should advertise as a golfers/couples only accommodation in order to prevent spoiling and upsetting more unsuspecting visitors to your establishment, appalling attitude towards myself and family!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Sarah G
Thank you for your comments – lets look at the facts…

You booked our guest house in December via a booking agency without reading all the details properly. This is evident due to the booking comments which you added requesting a double room on the ground floor – which we do not have and indeed on that agency site we do not advertise ground floor rooms. ‘double room on ground floor as guest in this room not able to manage stairs due to age & poor mobility’ We emailed you to tell you this and offered you a twin on the ground floor and a family room as booked for three adults elsewhere.

You then requested and booked dinner for 5 of you for all 6 nights and told us that your party was not five adults, but 3 adults and 2 children. Again it is clearly advertised on that booking agency that we do not have facilities for children under 12. We emailed you again and informed you of this and also confirmed the price for dinner and the time and we pointed out again that we do not normally accommodate children and therefore we do not offer ‘child food’ or child rates.

Despite all our emails, you still wanted to go ahead.

On arrival, despite having stayed here before, your mother was trying to get up the steps to reception, so we showed her to the ground floor room (which incidentally we had managed to upgrade to a larger family ground floor room for you) When she was sat down, we handed you the dinner menu and asked what they would like. You then informed us that you were not going to have dinner that evening and you may have on an adhoc basis! . As you were the only group requiring dinner that evening this actually meant that the preparation done that morning and the food that had been ordered for the next few days was all wasted and the staff who were roted to cook and serve your meals had to be cancelled. Obviously this really is not very considerate and indeed a contract was in place for dinner all 6 evenings. Later it all became evident why – you had arranged to meet more family in town and forgotten or not even thought about cancelling your written booking.

On leaving the ground floor room your father was asked if he needed a hand with the luggage, but he declined saying that he was fine and it would just take a few trips. Next we returned to reception to get the keys for the other room and directions were given to the room.

Several hours later, you came to reception and demanded a room with a shower ‘ as you had requested’ because your Mother was unable to get into the bath and used to having a shower every day. Again, this had never been mentioned in any of the email communications or on the booking itself. At no time did you mention or request details of bathroom facilities. On the booking agency website it clearly states our rooms have baths. We do in fact have one room with a step in shower and we said we would look into other bookings to see if we could possibly move them – but it certainly was not possible that evening as all our rooms on the ground floor were already full. We asked you to pop back to reception later to check on this – you did not.

Next, your family decided they wanted to sit in the lounge. Naturally as we do not normally accept children and due to licensing laws, children are of course not allowed in our bar. We do not state we have a separate lounge on the booking agency, but to try and accommodate your request we said that you were welcome to sit in the conservatory and your party made themselves comfortable there. No drinks were requested.

The next day, during breakfast preparation, you came to reception and wanted to confirm breakfast was included…..again, clearly on the booking agency site you used, it does states that yes, breakfast is included. You then said that you and your family would be departing after breakfast.

We note that you have chosen not to mention how much you enjoyed our lovely cooked to order breakfast and wonderful selection on the buffet table and our lovely friendly and efficient waitresses.

After breakfast you came to reception to check out and then refused to pay for the stay you had booked. Debt recovery is now in progress, so no doubt our paths shall cross again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just returned from a golfing break at The Royal. Having read some of the reviews I was a little concerned over what awaited us - but no need to worry at all. My room was of a modest size but spotlessly clean and a comfy bed. The breakfast was excellent, and we also took up the option of an evening meal which was also first class. There is a small car park available, and if you cannot get a space there is plenty of free parking on the streets. Golf tee times were efficiently set up for us, and the courses were challenging and in great condition.

Overall - a thoroughly pleasant experience, one we would be happy to repeat.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SteveandPam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the royal Bridlington on 1st august we went with a family including a 8 week old baby , the hotel is very clean location good breakfeast excellent . We chose this hotel because it had a bar , the bar was never open you had to ring the bell foe service when they served you they would then go away the baby wasn't allowed in even though there was no one else in the bar they have a conservatory where we could have sat with the baby but wasn't allowed , wasn't allowed to take the pram in the hotel . When I asked the owner have they been busy her answer was we don't like to open the bar we usually open it in winter for there quilt making friends , so any way the point is parents of the baby had to wait until we had finished our breakfeast until they could go for there's , money not well spent

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen123960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Yes we told you that before you insisted on coming!

Thank you for your comments Gwen, but you omitted to say that part of your family group booked in first of all by booking agency at short notice then you rang to book in another room with a baby. It is clearly advertised on the booking agency you used that we do not accept children under 12. When you rang we also made it clear to you that we do not accept normally accept children. We take a great deal of golf groups and many of our customers come because we are not full of children. You then pleaded and as your last minute agency bookings were outside free cancellation terms and, as you wanted all your family to be together, so we agreed and reiterated that we did not have facilities for children or babies – you still wanted to come.

As we have said so many, many times before, we do not staff our bar unless we have functions where there is high demand. Instead there is a bell on the bar to call for service. The bar is open from 5pm. Most of our guests are here to be at the seaside and are out and about in the town or at the theatre and therefore our bar is seldom used during summer months. We cannot staff a bar which is hardly used.

Already knowing that we do not normally take children and babies you then wanted to take the baby in the bar! Of course this was declined for the reasons above and licensing laws. As you say – ‘you chose us because we had a bar’ - perhaps you should have clarified the licensing laws regarding children and our no children policy during the phone conversation too before your visit.

As for bringing a pram into the guesthouse – we simply do not have room in the main building for you to park it at the bottom of the staircase. In fact, due to fire and a safety we even store all the golf clubs in another secure building too.

Of course, we are upset that you have chosen to penalise us for not being child friendly when we told you in advance that we are not child friendly! In hindsight, we are sorry that we bent our rules to accommodate you & your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a small Hotel. The room was small but adequate with en suite. Everything was spotless.
There were plenty beverages and a range of biscuits provided along with kettle and extras such as cotton buds and cotton wool balls in the bathroom . Plenty of shelving in the bathroom for cosmetics. Great hair dryer and plenty of mirrors and good lighting.My room was extremely hot as it faced west and had the full sun but on normal warm days was very pleasant.There was a file containing much info re local attractions eating places etc
There is a bar however my colleagues pint was well down and it was not very inviting so we went elsewhere .Cant comment on full English breakfast as didn't sample .i opted for continental as it didn't open till 830. It was fair but all starchy and sugary but fruit available too.Bathroom- like new
Quilt cover etc softest ever.Bed v comfy. TV lots channels. I did complain that the fruit and juice weren't good and the owners provided better.

Room Tip: If you like cool rooms don't chose one facing west.Keep DG windows closed early morning as seagu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sn5lw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you had mentioned that you were hot, then of course we could have provided you with a fan. These are also mentioned in our guest information folder.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First class service, breakfasts are too die for. No one should leave here hungry. Cereals and full English included in the price. Rooms are very clean. Cleaned daily. First class staff, cannot fault anything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Manager at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Polly1753
Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A great visit. Fiona & Tim run a great hotel. Very, very clean, well organised, very pleasant staff and very good food throughout our four day stay which included three fantastic days of quilting with Jan Hassard. Fiona organises many events like this and my friend Pam and I shall definitely return. Thanks ... So relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssieCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Sarah

Many thanks for your lovely comments about our patchwork and quilting retreats. We are please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again to one of our very many workshops and retreats we organise here at The Royal Bridlington.

Best wishes

Fiona & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#25 of 117 in Bridlington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#72 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadfield Hotel
Broadfield Hotel
#77 of 117 in Bridlington
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Revelstoke Hotel
Revelstoke Hotel
#29 of 117 in Bridlington
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £60 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing