We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find: Nowhere else needed!”
Review of Sunflower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Lodge
Ranked #6 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I wanted to go to Bridlington to try and escape what I could of the royal wedding and found this little gem on Google. At just a couple of minutes, and in sight of, the North beach, promenade and sea, it seemed a good choice. The shops are only about 10 minutes walk down the road (depending how fast you walk that is, I'm a large person so take it at my leisure most of the time).

When I arrived, Isla made me very welcome and we started chatting like we had known each other for years. After signing the fire book, she showed me to the single en-suite I was staying in. The room was very spacious, well decorated and had adequate furniture for my needs. The en-suite shower room was also very nicely decorated and spacious with the provision of towels and complimentary toiletries (including shampoo and shower gel).

The dining room is, as is the rest of the house, nicely decorated and spacious with luxuriously comfortable seating in addition to the dining furniture. Isla gave me a menu list to make my selections for breakfast on arrival, and the list is very generous. I chose to go for the full English, toast and tea. The breakfast was fantastically tasty and very filling indeed. Isla asked me if I wanted more tea or toast and made sure that I had had enough.

After my wee jaunt on the Sunday, I spent an hour or so sat outside with Isla and John in the sun drinking tea. They are a very pleasant couple and extremely friendly and accomodating; there is no way I will go anywhere else in Brid' now (not unless I can find a full body shower for the same price...........but I doubt that - hahaha).

Room Tip: Book well in advance as it is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

This B&B is a little gem, we have had some bad experiences with B&B's in Bridlington as we do expect a high standard when travelling. We have family nearby and this place will be our no.1 choice in the future.

Well what can I say:
Great hosts - we felt very welcome.
Clean rooms decorated to a high standard and not at all chintzy or outdated.
AMAZING cooked breakfast - highlight of the stay.

We could not ask for more really for a place to lay our heads when visiting family.

Room Tip: Just call and speak to the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I've stayed here quite a few times, and will always use this B&B when visiting Bridlington. It's only 5 mins walk to the beach, and 10min walk to the town centre.
The rooms are always immaculate, with tea making facilities, tv, comfy bed(s), etc.
The owners John and Isla will do their very best to make you feel really welcome, and nothing is too mch trouble. There's a large choice for breakfast, and you can pre-order everything the night before. All rooms have recently been redecorated, and to a lovely finish. Parking is available on the road outside, and the proprieters usually have a parking permit to exempt the parking restrictions. This B&B has a real homy feel and is great for couples, families, pensioners - just about anyone really. Fridge in room to store your cool items. One family room also has a PS2.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon&Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed for one night (many in Bridlington dont accept one night stays). We arrived early but that wasn't a problem for Isla. She was very friendly and checked us in quickly and made us feel welcome.

The room was spotless, very clean and tidy. We were right at the top in room 7 which had an en-suite which again was very clean.

Breakfast was lovely. Table all set ready. Both owners were very very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet, clean place to stay that overs good value and very nice owners.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezzerchick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Our first visit to the Sunflower, and we were very happy with what we found. The rooms are very clean and have every thing you could want. I would recomend this hotel for your visit.
No complaints of any kind, you even get a free car parking pass.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilkoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The hospitality, accommodation and food at the Sunflower Lodge are all exceptional. The room we stayed in was of a high standard with many extras demonstrating a genuine sense of customer care. As well as a variety of tea, coffee and biscuits, fresh daily milk was provided in a small room fridge. The bed linen and towels were of a good quality and the room had a flat screen TV and internet access. The breakfast was beautifully prepared and the service was both friendly and helpful representing extremely good value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel. The owners make you feel very welcome and it is clear that they want to provide an excellent service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife & I chose the Sunflower Lodge after another guest house in the area we selected was full, and they recommended it. What great advice it was, as we could not imagine our original choice being any better. The Sunflower was cheaper too. Our room was a good size and very clean. It was a family room with a double + another single bed, but we were only charged at the double room rate. There were lots of extras you do not normally get at such a reasonable rate (£54 per night), such as our own mini fridge in the room which included fresh milk for the plentiful tea & coffee sachets supplied. The breakfasts were excellent, with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, croissants and fruit, a full English breakfast, or lighter cooked options. It all helped to make it a great weekend break.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazL2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
615 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 117 in Bridlington
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ransdale Hotel
Ransdale Hotel
#36 of 117 in Bridlington
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#10 of 117 in Bridlington
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashford Guest House
Ashford Guest House
#4 of 117 in Bridlington
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Address: 24 Flamborough Road | Sunflower Lodge, Bridlington YO15 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 all en-suite rooms comprising of, 1 Single Room (2nd Floor). 1 Luxury Room with king size bed, with large en-suite & two comfy chairs, large TV with DVD player. 1 double with king size bed with garden view with two comfy chairs. 2 double/twin rooms both with comfy chairs & two doubles, one is on the 1st floor & the other is on the 3rd floor with "LOTS OF STAIRS" not suitable for the elderly. We serve a full breakfast menu that you fill a breakfast slip in the night before with what time you would like your breakfast & your choice. The reason we do a breakfast slip is because our menu is just not a full English there are many more options for you to choose from. Breakfast is served from 8am to 9.15 for those who would like a lie in in the morning. Parking is on street & we provide you with a FREE permint for your stay, so anywhere on the main road or any of the side streets where it says "Permit holders only" Checkin is from 2pm till 6pm unless otherwise arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunflower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing