We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balmoral House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Balmoral House
Ranked #68 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Leicestershire
1 review
“Brilliant hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2008

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Balmoral and would recommend it to anyone staying in Bridlington. The guest house itself was spotless, cosy and comfortable. The breakfasts set you up for a fun packed day in and around Bridlington. They have a lovely walled garden area, fantastic for sitting out with a glass of wine before the 3 course evening meal which was delicious with great puddings. Not so good for your waistline! The bar was fully stocked with every drink imaginable. And the new hosts, Jim and Jane were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived as strangers but left feeling like we were friends. We will defiantly be going back to see Jane and Jim…… many times! Thank you for a wonderful break. It was just what we needed!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank random_flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

clean and comfatable and a well presented hearty breakfast. Our hosts was such good fun and after a long day and a walk out in the evening it was lovely to go to the cosy bar and have bottle of wine and a good chat and with such nice people with a good sense of humour! would recommend this to couples and familys. thanks for your hospitality.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cook4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

Just had a great few days stay at this hotel, it was clean and comfortable and hosts Jim and Jane were very welcoming with nothing too much trouble for them. The huge breakfast sets you up for the day. Its close to the harbour, beach and shops and a must for avid birdwatchers like us.

  • Liked — Comfortable, very clean and friendly.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elvis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Have just spent a long weekend here, the hotel was very warm and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The best of all was the 5 course meal in the evening excellent food and good portions the breakfast was also a good selection. I would definately com again.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — very small lift,only takes 2 people
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank june anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

I have just spent a very pleasant few days in this hotel and dare i say i was very impressed.

This hotel is under new management and i must say the new owners Janey and Jim were a welcome relief from some i have stayed at.

They offer a very warm welcome to a very clean and comfortable establishment. If your on a diet though not so good lol, you won't starve and the breakfast will certainly set you up for the day, and different diets needs are catered for.

You are on the doorstep to the town centre and the sea is just around the corner.

Well worth a visit and i shall be returning there in the not to distant future as i felt comfortable welcome and at home.

  • Liked — the warm welcome and clean and comfortable accomodation
  • Disliked — nothing not to like
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank untamed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2007

The room was small, smelly and a waste of money. There are plenty of nicer places in sunny Brid - dont spoil a nice trip by staying here!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — being there
  • Tips/Secrets — book elsewhere
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
5 Thank pippa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoral01, Proprietor at The Balmoral House, responded to this review, 16 July 2007
I am disappointed to read such a poor review and when checking our bookings to check the room you stayed in I find that we were closed during the week of 8th January 2007 and nobody was staying here! How you came to stay at this hotel on the 8th January 2007 is beyond me, in fact we did not have anyone from sheffield stay with us during January at all! However, if you would like to make contact with me directly and send to me a copy of the invoice you paid on your departure, I will happily reimburse the full amount to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2006

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at this hotel. The room we had was small but comfortable. The bar has a very wide selection for a small hotel, and the food, well what can I say? We have been to many quality restaurants all over Britain and I can only say that the food presented here matched the best. I would recomend anyone who wants a quiet break to stay at this hotel.
They have their own web site that you can look at---.

Helpful?
7 Thank George&Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Marshall Lodge Guest house
Marshall Lodge Guest house
#60 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aidansdale Hotel
Aidansdale Hotel
#44 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Happy Days Guest House
Happy Days Guest House
#56 of 121 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Guest House
Ashford Guest House
#5 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Lodge
Sunflower Lodge
#6 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral House

Property: The Balmoral House
Address: 21 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Balmoral House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star comfortable guest house with family, twin, double and single rooms available.All rooms are en-suite and split over 2 floors.A full breakfast is included in the price and special diets are catered for. We are just 300yds from the harbor and close to all shops and amenities.The bus station is just 2 minutes walk away.We also have a lovely residents lounge.A warm welcome awaits at Balmoral Guest House, Bridlington. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing