We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bridlington break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Schofield

The Schofield
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Schofield
Ranked #71 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bridlington break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stopped in this hotel during a weekend away with friends. We had a lovely time and found the owner to be very friendly, however the hotel is very dated and in need of lots of work. The room was very small but was adequate. The shower in the en-suite was really bad, water came out of just a few of the holes in the shower head so it was nothing more than a trickle and the door to the bathroom would not shut. Breakfast was really nice and service excellent. All in all we had a good weekend but will try Scarborough next as Bridlington was fairly quiet on the entertainment front. Don't forget to bring ear plugs due to the extra LOUD seagulls that squawked from morning til night...lol

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnedane126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Tiny rooms. If you want the toilet during the night and are not en-suite then take your key to avoid being locked out of your room. The mattresses have plastic covers. The hot water was cold by half-past 10 on the excuse that everyone leaves by 10.00 (on a Sunday). This is like going back to the 1950s. If Bridlington is is to survive as any sort of holiday resort then it needs to join the 21st century.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAB186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

i found the schofield a well run, clean and comfortable guest house. great value. the owners were very friendly and helpful. very handy for everything the town had to offer, with great rail links to the surrounding area.
a nice touch, i booked in for 4 nights, 5 days in a single room as a solo traveler. as the schofield wasn't full during my stay, sue upgraded me to a double at no extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

very comfortable bed, shower not great, but bearable, close to all amenities, pubs close by were friendly, watch out for narrow to car park, must pull your door mirrors in, owner very friendly and helpful, good breakfasts, meals in afforementioned pubs good and affordable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glencoe Hotel
Glencoe Hotel
#106 of 121 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rowntree Holiday Flats
#19 of 26 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marshall Lodge Guest house
Marshall Lodge Guest house
#60 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Days Guest House
Happy Days Guest House
#56 of 121 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Mayville Guest House
#80 of 121 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schofield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schofield

Property: The Schofield
Address: 47-49 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Schofield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing