We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria House Bridlington
Ranked #38 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A great B and B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here recently on my surprise tour of N Yorks. A good location to visit the attractions and not to much noise. Everything you would want from a B and B and the staff where pleasant and dealt with any concerns. The room was standard with everything required whilst away from home. The food wchoice was good throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    18
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
28
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel is very handily situated, only 5 mins walk from the railway station, which was great for us.
Having read the reviews, we were sure that the VHH would be a winner, but it was actually a bit odd. When we arrived, Jane was kind enough, but didn't really seem all that bothered and couldn't recommend anywhere in particular for dinner. She said that they were all OK, but in actually fact, most were closed, as it was Sunday evening.
Our family room was a strange mix of contempory bedding, dated 1970s furniture and flakey paintwork. Cleanliness wasn't great, neither in our room (particularly the bathroom) or in the communal areas (particularly the toilets).
There were a number of old people, many of them seemingly staying quite a long time ; we counted six mobility scooters lined up in the corridors and TV lounge. I have e absolutely nothing against the older generation, don't get me wrong, it was just a bit of a strange set up.
Our breakfast, which was very nice and freshly cooked, was probably the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHCooper, Owner at Victoria House Bridlington, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your comments,
I find it very bemusing to say the least, the room you stayed in is a very large family room with 2 full size singles and a king size bed, all new this summer, as is the bedding which was purchased in the last three months.
The bedroom was recently decorated and new curtains and a complete new bathroom installed so where did you see flaky paint and the bathroom not clean?

The only place there is flaky paint must have been in the communal toilet on the landing which is out of use at the moment and signed as such ! , why would you need to use an out of use toilet when you have an en suite ?
As for not being bothered , I recommend several places to eat and the one you chose to eat at I said had recently opened and we had not eaten there yet so could not say whether or not it was good.
I telephoned the taxi company to see how much a taxi would be to Flamborough and also checked bus timetables and recommended somewhere to eat when up there, when you returned I asked how your day had gone, I fail to see how all this is not being bothered?

There is no way there was 6 mobility scooters in the hallway. we only have 2 ground floor rooms a twin and a family. There was a family of 3 people in 1 room and a single lady in the other between them they had 2 scooters and a wheelchair – there is physically no way 6 scooters can fit in that area.

I can confirm that myself and staff asked you if everything was ok and with the room - and you said you were happy so If you were so displeased by the room and cleanliness to the point of writing this review - why did you not report this to us during your stay?

Thank you for the comments about the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Hello, my name is timmy and I was one of the students from old stratford primary school! I really enjoyed the visit, and I'm sure I'll go again! I felt very welcomed and the staff and food was great!!! If u do remember me- I was one of the 3 people in the corner table( and I was the one in the corner ) I remember watching the footie on TV. I miss Victoria house, and the sea! Thank you sooooo much, BEST HOTEL EVER!!!


From Timmy. Aged 11, from old Stratford:)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimmyWarzybok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked this B & B as it was close to the Register Office in Bridlington and we were going to a family wedding. We asked if we could arrive early to change into our wedding outfits and there was no problem at all. When I found my outfit was slightly creased from the journey and asked for an iron, Jane took my trousers and pressed them herself. After a restful night in a pleasant room, we went down for break fast where my husband order a full 'Yorkshire Breakfast' and I ordered scrambled egg on toast. It turned out to be the best cooked breakfast my husband had tasted and mine was piping hot. Lovely cup of tea too. Thanks to the proprieters, we only stayed one night but enjoyed it and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4 which was a family room. The railway track is at the bottom of the garden but quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We booked in here for one night ( 2 adults and 2 young kids ). The owners are very friendly and can't do enough for you. The room was fantastic, a double room for the adults and a separate room with bunk beds and a single bed for the kids. The bathroom was excellent. Breakfast was fantastic. If you want a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome and a relaxed value for money stay then you won't go far wrong staying at Victoria House. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunMadden1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel whilst working away and was really pleased we chose to stay there. Hotel was clean & tidy, my room was a good size with digtal tv & free wifi which was great. Paul and his wife really went out of their way for us and made us feel really welcome. Real home from home, thanks Paul for making our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

when we arrived we got a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble the food was excellent and the hosts were on hand for any questions we had about the local area. the landlord even helped us set up our mobile phones:~).
the cleanliness was exceptional plenty of storage and the bedding felt new.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul69Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#7 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longcroft Lodge
Longcroft Lodge
#73 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#13 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wellington Guest House Bridlington
0.1 mi away
The Chimes Guest House
The Chimes Guest House
#23 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Bridlington

Property: Victoria House Bridlington
Address: 25-27 Victoria Road, Bridlington YO15 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria House Bridlington 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established family run Licensed Guest House offering a wide range of rooms from Single to Family rooms sleeping 5. Integrated children room in family rooms, all rooms en-suite, free WiFi, free parking. Wheel chair access and ground floor rooms. Meeting rooms and conference facilities available. Large groups accommodated for golfing, rugby, football with discounts available. Close to the seaside with a fully working harbour, Town Centre and public transport within a few minutes walking distance. Everyone welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing