We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel very good but food average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel very good but food average”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed for one night during a coach trip to Chester and Coronation Street.
Have to say that room was very good and spotlessly clean as was rest of hotel.
Evening Meal was probably the norm when catering for a coach party with very small portions choice of 3 starters, main course and sweet. The waitresses worked hard and smiled despite being short staffed. May be a wider food choice a la carte.
After meal the "bar" area was very quiet so we ventured to pub next door and wished we'd had the carvery there which looked excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Car Park and heard no traffic noise in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie_Miller_GM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Roy,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and thank-you for your kind comments, I am sorry the food was not to your satisfaction and your comments have been noted.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    229
    149
    67
    75
See reviews for
124
243
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Was like eating in a school canteen. The wooden floor was dirty and badly marked. Food presentation poor. Pork served with ready made frozen chips.All condiment were saches. An all round poor evening. If your driving down the A580 ..drive past this place

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie_Miller_GM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Harry,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent Groupon experience with us, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food or the ambience in our Hub area, I understand that our modern décor and style of presentation does not appeal to everyone. Once again I am sorry we did not met your expectations.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haydock hotels

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Okay if travelling
Rooms are very clean
Stayed in the same Hotel at Bournemouth and it again was reasonable
Booking through the Hotel is more than website for Hotel bookings which seems bizarre
Wet room is a good idea but not designed very well

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie_Miller_GM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ken,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will look into your comments regarding the rates.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Let me start by saying my wife and I had a good 2 night stay at this hotel and we have no major complaint. We had a reasonable sleep on both nights. The room was clean and we liked the walk in shower. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was goodk. Good value for money.

As I say we have no major complaints but we did find certain things that in our opinion could have made our stay much better. I list them as follows:

1. The TV signal was very poor and some channels were not available at all. In our room we could not get BBC2 and we could not get Channel 4. The picture quality for the rest (few channels) was very poor. I have noticed that this has been mentioned before on other reviews so it does not just relate to the room we were in. In this day and age I am sure better picture quality and more free view channels could be made available (like in other similar hotels).

2. WiFi in our room (and probably most rooms) was none existent. They do provide an Ethernet cable to connect to laptops in the rooms but this does not help those with IPad's or Smartphones. WiFi is good in the public area downstairs. I am sure they could provide good WiFi to all rooms like other similar hotels do.

3. The beds are very small. It would be better if they provided king size beds like the Premier Inn Hotel chain do. Although we had a reasonable sleep we did find the double bed small and hard.

4. In our room there was a thick radiator next to the bed, on my wife's side. It's very close. She got up to go to the toilet one night and as she got out of bed she collided with the edge of the radiator, leaving a nasty bruise on her thigh. It would be better if the radiator was on another wall or if the bed was further away from it.

5. Breakfast was good but as it's often the case some food on hot plates gets cold very quickly. Although most of the food on the hot plates was hot some was cold or just tepid (bacon, hash brown and eggs in my wife's experience this morning). Personally I enjoyed my breakfast very much and the staff cooked my scrambled egg to order (not available on the hot plates I'm glad to say)

6. As stated we liked the walk in shower. However, we would have liked a shelf or something in the shower area to place our wash items (shampoo, conditioner, soap etc). We had to pick things up from the floor to have our shower. Could be a problem for the elderly or someone with a bad back.

Having said the above my wife and I would happily stay at this hotel again. My comments are more for future guest information and not a complaint in any way. It's a good place to stay in our opinion and you could not ask for more helpful staff. I will say however the drink at the hotel are very expensive. There is a nice pub across the road (Lymewood Farm) with less expensive drinks and nice food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. Lots of noise from traffic. Also if you need internet in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie_Miller_GM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ray,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I appreciate you taking the time to give a constructive overview of your stay.
In relation to the TV system we are currently investigating a new system and the new TVs we are purchasing come with built in free-view and therefore more channels are available.
At the moment we don't have Wi-Fi in our bedrooms however it is something we are considering for the future.
The remainder of your comments regarding the room layout and fixtures and fittings I will pass on to our owners. I hope your wife has recovered and once again thank-you for your feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on business.

Good value hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is good value (£7): good choice from cereal through to a full English.

On the main highway to Liverpool so if you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back rather than the front of the hotel (odd numbers).

Will happily stay here again if I'm in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WoolyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie_Miller_GM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in May for one night on a coach trip. Rooms were spotlessly clean, although we had room on the road side & was very noisy. We had booked a twin room, beds were actually a double bed & a pull out sofa bed
Evening meal was very small portions, all on our table joked about going to pub next door for supper.
One lady on the table complained her sweet was cold & the response was a shrug of the shoulders by the male member of staff. A female staff member was also very abrupt at the evening meal.
Breakfast was much better, much hotter food & different staff who were very friendly.
No air con in rooms & with windows open you can't even hear the tv from the road noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are noisy from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie_Miller_GM, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Brenda,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am sorry to read that not everything was to your satisfaction. I will address your comments with my team and I hope should you choose to stay with us again in the future you will enjoy a greatly improved experience.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here after a day at haydock races, room looked very basic, no extras.
Didn't like the wet room, bathroom floor wet through after having a shower, room temperature hard to control, was very cold when first entered. Breakfast included was very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladyholmes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
1.1 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton-Le-Willows
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock

Property: Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
Address: Piele Road 4 Galway Crescent, Haydock WA11 0GR, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Haydock)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Haydock Hotel Haydock
Haydock Ramada
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing