We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly,good banter,great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fishician

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Fishician
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly,good banter,great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Great fish and chips . Because its so busy the fish is generally cooked to order so very fresh. Place is clean and seems well run.
Yes you can wait at times but I suppose that's because it's so popular .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake1jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good little Fish and Chip shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Been to a few fish and chip shops in the area, and it probably ranks as one of the best. Very clean, and always served quickly and politely

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSJ-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Proper chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

It;s only a 2 min drive from our house so it's in a good location from my point of view, never had a bad experience here, food is always good, they even do kebabs here, I've not had one so I can't tell you what there like, but all the 'English chippy' stuff is top!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent chips.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place has possibly the best chips in Newton. The Chip Barms are fantastic though a bit pricey I'd still pay the little bit extra.

The problem is the area it gets busy with drivers, school kids etc. Not the chip shops fault but you may wait a long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value chipper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent fish and chips, very good prices and everytime I have been there they have cooked the fish fresh.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fishician also viewed

Newton-Le-Willows, Merseyside
Newton-Le-Willows, Merseyside
 
Newton-Le-Willows, Merseyside
 
Newton-Le-Willows, Merseyside
Newton-Le-Willows, Merseyside
 

Been to The Fishician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing